Switch Theme:

Eldar Psychic Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in eu
Executing Exarch






Just a couple of questions...
Are there any 6th ed rules concerning Eldrads staff - I've checked the BRB faq and the eldar faq and not seen anything.

1)Eldrads staff - In the eldar codex it says this can be used to cast a third power, even if he's already cast it once.
He's mastery level 3. The rules state 1 witchfire power per turn.

I'd play this as 'I've got three warp charge, but I can cast one power twice"

However, what happens if you cast a warp charge two power and then a warp charge one power? You've used all three warp charges, but the staff power states a third power..., even if he already cast it once.
And as he also generates 4 powers, does this mean if you get four warp charge 1 powers, then you can cast them all?

2)
This is copied from the eldar FAQ.
Q: The Farseer Psychic Powers rules state that they do not require the
Eldar Psyker to have line of sight to the target. Does this mean that they
can be used by an Eldar psyker embarked on a Transport? (p28)
A: No.

I think I may have read this incorrectly originally. How do we define 'Farseer Psychic Powers'?

I think the phrase 'Farseer Psychic Powers' specifically refers to the Eldar codex powers. 'Farseer Psychic powers rules state that they do not require the farseer to have line of sight to the target' I believe is specifically referencing non-los powers like fortune from the codex which use that specific wording.

The only other written reference to 'Farseer Pyschic Powers' that I can find is further down the same FAQ, which is the beneath.
Q: Do Dark Eldar allies count as Eldar for the Farseer psychic
powers Fortune and Guide? (p28)
A: No.

I don't feel that the brb divination and telepathy disciplines could be called 'farseer psychic powers'as they are available to anyone pretty much. This would mean we can cast the same as everyone else while in a vehicle (although still no witch fire as we have no fire points)
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Am I right or have I been awake too long?

 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Excuse the brevity of this post, writing on a mobile;

1) Without any clear FAQ on the issue, HIWPI is Eldrad is Mastery 3, and if he's not in combat may cast a duplicate (non-witchfire) power but still needs to supply the Warp Charge for it. 4 powers just gives more chance to roll which powers you are after.

2) Farseer powers are the ones in the Codex (it's phrased this way to exclude Warlock powers). Whilst I agree it's a poorly worded / phrased FAQ, we're stuck with it for now. Using Divi or Tele powers from the Rulebook are not affected by this FAQ and use the standard rules for embarked powers.
   
Made in eu
Executing Exarch






Thanks

It means flying up (lol - six inches is more sort of meandering...) with eldrad in a serpant and leaping out and casting psychic shriek twice is on

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/06 09:30:20


 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Isn't Shriek a PSA? (Don't have my Rulebook with me)
The staff gives you an allowance to break one rule of psychic powers (casting the same power twice) but not the others (no shooting more than one PSA per turn).
   
Made in eu
Executing Exarch






I can't find anything on exactly what rules the staff is allowed to break.

PSA's are limited to one per turn, but all the staff states is 'this may be one he's already cast'.

The phrase codex supercedes the brb is daft when my codex is about a billion years old...

I can't believe I'm already saying 'this needs faq'ing' so soon after the last lot...

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/02/06 10:05:56


 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You can recast the same power, but nothign gives you permission to cast another psychic shooting attack, aka Withfire in 6th ed.
   
Made in eu
Executing Exarch






The line in the eldar codex thats giving me grief is 'can cast a third power - this may be one he's already used'

Codex is supposed to override the BRB.

So RAW would be...
If I used shriek, that would give me permission to cast it again as it's one I've already used. But it also would mean I had to cast three powers in a turn as the codes states 'third power'. Which is a really weird set of terms...
It also (when written) included the ability to use eldritch storm and mind war twice - these are both psychic shooting attacks. So RAI could be argued as well.
I still think there are holes in it as written though (old codex/new rulebook issues)

'can cast a third power - this may be one he's already used' is stupidly general.

Thanks to you both







This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2013/02/06 11:25:15


 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It can be one he has already cast - which is more specific than the general rule only allowing you to cast one power

Where is the line saying that power can be another PSA / witchfire power?

An assault vehicle states you can assault the turn you disembark; does a unit arriving from reserves in a Landraider get to assault? No, because you still have another restrriction in place that hasnt been lifted.
   
Made in eu
Executing Exarch






Hang on, so we can't even cast Mind War and Eldritch Storm in the same turn, let alone twice?

 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






They are both listed as PSA in the FAQ, so without other exceptions can't both be used in the same turn.
I would suggest discussing this with your opponent before the game, as they may read the "may cast same power twice" the same way you are as an allowance of 2 PSA. It's not HIWPI but...
   
Made in eu
Executing Exarch






It's not going to be an issue I was looking into trying to cast psychic shriek twice because I didn't think I could cast anything else due to being embarked on a vehicle at the start of the turn. (no blessings or maledictions either)
I'd rather do it once and keep my squad alive with powers instead.

I still think the codex gives permission (with completely outdated rules)- I also think it would be a bit unfair to psychic shriek twice as that is clearly not what the codex intended.
Eldritch storm + Mind war (IMO)should be able to be cast in the same phase as neither of those is
A)That powerful
B) Much use.

I think the wording needs 're-codexing'

Thanks to you both again

 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It really doesnt give permission, as the only thing it allow you to do is to cast a power twice. You still havent removed the other, separate restriction on casting more than one PSA when you are a non-MC psyker.
   
Made in eu
Executing Exarch






That would be the line - 'this may be one he's already used.' So technically, it gives permission to cast anything twice.
But by the same point, it also gives permission for

Casting a warp charge two power and then a warp charge one power. You've used all three warp charges, but the staff power states a third power, even if he already cast it once.
Eldrad generates 4 powers, so if you cast 3 of them with your warp charge, then you can cast the fourth as 'this may be one he's already used'

Which are both complete rubbish.
It was written a long time ago, for a rule set far away. And also doesn't work well with 6th.
Lets leave this one. I'm not arguing for it anymore, I'm more just generally trying to show how badly that rule interacts with 6th ed.



This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/02/06 12:02:20


 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Psykers have 2 restrictions when it comes to Witchfires. Tey cannot cast the same power twice, and they cannot fire a weapon twice.
Eldrad's staff overrides the first restriction but not the second.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in eu
Executing Exarch






Thanks - thats an excellent summary

In the meatime, I'm confused again

How does the beneath Eldrad conundrum even work?
His staff allows a third power to be cast
He is mastery level three.

So do I cast 3 – one of them twice (but not in hth) like 4th
Or do I cast 3 – all different, but may be cast in hth as in 6th.

It's not permission to cast a 4th power as it states '3rd power' in the staff entry, but does this give permission to cast a warp charge 2 power, then a warp charge 1 power, then one of them again? (which is more rules clash from the codex - I don't believe this works at all, but it's where trying to follow his rules has led me. I just know thats not right though.)

I'd really like to know how is everyone else playing it?

HIWPI -
Eldrad is mastery level 3.
3 Warp charge = anything up to 3 powers warp charge 1 powers to cast.
1 can be cast twice (apart from witchfire)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/07 08:07:44


 Blacksails wrote:

Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He is mastery level 3; he MAY cast 3 powers, not ALWAYS CAN cast 3 powers, and has 3 warp charges to spend when casting

So if you have 4 witchfires (somehow), even though normally he CAN cast 3, he can only cast 1 - as there is another restriction saying he can only cast 1 witchfire, and his rule does NOT contradict this. It flat does not contradict this.

If you cast a warp 2 and a warp 1, while he normally CAN cast 3 powers, he no longer has any warp charge - so cannot cast any more

You are reading this rule far too liberally, and forgetting that you need specific permission to override the restrictions in the book. You can only cast if you have an available warp charge or 2 - being allowed to cast 3 powers does not say anything like "even if you dont have any warp charges left", which is what would be needed.

Similarly he would need ecplicit permission to cast 2 witchfires - which he does not

In 4th, 5th and 6th he can ONLY Cast one PSA / witchfire, and can only cast up to a value of "3" warp charges while doing so, and ONE may be a duplicate - but htis allowance does not override any other restrictions in place.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

PredaKhaine wrote:
Thanks - thats an excellent summary

In the meatime, I'm confused again

How does the beneath Eldrad conundrum even work?
His staff allows a third power to be cast
He is mastery level three.

So do I cast 3 – one of them twice (but not in hth) like 4th
Or do I cast 3 – all different, but may be cast in hth as in 6th.

It's not permission to cast a 4th power as it states '3rd power' in the staff entry, but does this give permission to cast a warp charge 2 power, then a warp charge 1 power, then one of them again? (which is more rules clash from the codex - I don't believe this works at all, but it's where trying to follow his rules has led me. I just know thats not right though.)

I'd really like to know how is everyone else playing it?

HIWPI -
Eldrad is mastery level 3.
3 Warp charge = anything up to 3 powers warp charge 1 powers to cast.
1 can be cast twice (apart from witchfire)
If I cast 2 different powers in a turn and no more, then he ignores saves in cc.



The way I play it, is Mastery level 3, but can only double up a power if not in assault. So for example of in assault he can cast Doom, Guide, and Fortune. If not in assault he could cast guide, fortune, fortune.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: