Switch Theme:

Malifaux Doppleganger Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi,

I have a quick question. I was reading the Doppleganger abilities. They have the option to copy 1 talent from another model.

Looking in the rulebook talents can include actions (as per page 12 Talents are divided into four catagories: Abilities, Actions, Triggers and Weapons.)

Does this mean that Doppleganger can copy Zoraida's Voddoo spell and then create a wicked doll? I am unsure on the exact wording that lets Zoraida create wicked dolls so am unsure whether this is possible.

Many Thanks
Chris
   
Made in us
Old Sourpuss






Lakewood, Ohio

The Doppelganger can't because the Mimic Talent (0) action that the Doppelganger has specifically says (red for emphasis):

(0) Mimic: Target a model within 8” and LoS and choose 1 effect. This lasts until the End Closing Phase. Effects that reference a model by name cannot be Mimicked.


So the ability to summon a wicked doll is on the wicked doll's card saying that it can be summoned by the Create Voodoo Doll action. So Zoraida can summon wicked dolls herself, and since it's not the Voodoo Doll totem, you can summon as many as you want (though you're probably better served by getting them from elsewhere). The problem is that the Doppelganger can't summon the Wicked Doll because it is named specifically in the ability (I don't have the Wicked Doll's card on me, but I believe it "replaces" the name Voodoo Doll with Wicked Doll.

In anyways, here is official word from Ratty, one of the rules marshals (His and Keltheos's words are law on Rules Discussion).
http://www.wyrd-games.net/showthread.php?26585-Doppelganger-and-Zoraida

DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for your quick reply.

I was unsure as whether the reference models by name was only referring to the owning model e.g Myranda's Shapechange or any model which I now understand it is.

   
Made in us
Old Sourpuss






Lakewood, Ohio

I thought so as well originally, but as I dug in to this, Ratty's response and interpretation is law

DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics 
   
 
Forum Index » Other Fantasy Miniatures Games
Go to: