| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 06:51:24
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Subject says it all.
-Liz, roll 3 dice and take 2 lowest.
-Phantamagoria, roll 1 more die on LD tests and discard the lowest.
-Do they really roll 4 dice?
-in the following batches, what are the final results? [1,2,5,6] [3,3,6,6]
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 07:00:39
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
I'd say [7] (2+5) and [9] (3+6) following the functions as written
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 11:44:47
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
I would say that this would work similar to the Runes of Witnessing (roll 3d6 for psychic tests and take 2 lowest) vs Shadow in the Warp (roll 3d6 and take 2 highest for psychic tests) with Eldar and Tyranids in 40K.
The resolution with that one is that the abilities cancel each other out and the Farseer would roll 2D6 for psychic tests as normal while within Shadow in the Warp range.
I would use a similar ruling here and say that Cold Blooded and Phantasmagoria would cancel eachother out so the Lizardmen would be rolling 2D6 for LD tests like everyone else.
Just my opinion though.
|
Chaos Space Marines - Iron Warriors & Night Lords 7900pts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 12:54:46
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Confident Marauder Chieftain
|
I can see both points above as good ways to resolve this, and just to throw another interpretaion into the mix, could it be argued that you roll two batches of dice? 3 for the lizardmens cold blooded rule, taking the two lowest and then roll a further one dice for Phantasmagoria and then discarding the lowest out of this new batch of three? I'm honestly not sure what I would do if this came up in one of my games, short of rolling for it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 13:40:35
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, because you are told in both instances to roll an additional dice, and then what to do with the dice rolls as a whole
You roll 4D6, remove the highest (CB) and lowest (Phantasmagoria) and are left with two dice as your result.
So in your examples 7 and 9 are the final results
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 14:24:41
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Confident Marauder Chieftain
|
When you explain it like that it makes perfect sense! Kudos to you nosferatu!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 15:07:40
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Yep I agree with nos interpretation on this too
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 16:26:40
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
Now that Nosferatu has explained it so well, I agree with his interpretation.
|
Chaos Space Marines - Iron Warriors & Night Lords 7900pts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 17:12:06
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:No, because you are told in both instances to roll an additional dice, and then what to do with the dice rolls as a whole
Not quite. Lizardman specifically says roll THREE dice. Phantas says roll 1 more. Which is why I brought this up. If you adhere RAW of Lizardman, it is three dice. Not +1 dice. Phan RAW is +1 additional.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 21:14:07
Subject: Re:Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
Q: When a unit with the Cold Blooded special rule is required to
add or subtract additional dice for a Leadership test, how does it
work? (p41)
A: Take the test on however many dice it would normally be
taken plus the extra dice from the Cold Blooded special rule
and remove the highest. For example if a normal unit would
take the test on 3D6 and add them together a Cold Blooded
unit would roll 4D6, take away the highest and then add the
remaining 3 dice together.
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 22:33:16
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
But that's not what phan is doing. It's adding one AND forcing you to subtract the lowest. That FAQ only addresses half of that. There are other spells that make you test on +1, though I'm not sure offhand if they also say discard.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 22:59:42
Subject: Re:Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
Yes it is. The first part says to take the test on however many dice it would normally be taken, which is 3 due to the spell. It then says to roll an extra dice due to Cold Blooded and drop the highest. The spell still says to drop the lowest; nothing in Cold Blooded changes that with the FAQ reading. 2d6+d6 (spell)+d6 (cold blooded)= 4d6. Drop highest and lowest.
Both parts are satisfied. Anyone else can have fun arguing from here out; I have a 6 day old daughter to deal with and am not going to argue semantics or anything else.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 23:05:19
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 00:03:19
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
My point is:
Q: When a unit with the Cold Blooded special rule is required to
add or subtract additional dice for a Leadership test, how does it
work? (p41)
Is not what Phantasm is. It's only part of it. At no point are you ever discarding the lowest die which is what the spell tells you to do. Half of the spell effects you're completely ignoring. Good luck on the kid, but, you know, what's the point of saying, "I'm not going to argue, here's my argument?"
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 03:57:23
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Stubborn Temple Guard
|
Duke:
I am genuinely confused as to what condition you see is not being resolved.
-One additional die is being rolled over the standard number of dice for the Leadership test.
-The lowest number rolled is discarded.
-Due to Cold Blooded special rule, you now total the lowest two of the three dice remaining.
4 dice must be rolled (3 for CB, +1 for spell). I don't see any other interpretation. Cold Blooded rules are met, spell rules are met.
How would you do it that would not violate the Cold Blooded rule?
|
27th Member of D.O.O.M.F.A.R.T.
Resident Battletech Guru. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 04:37:15
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I didn't see the 2nd part of what he said. Probably cuz I had it open when he was editing. I don't know. I was just thinking he said it was 3 dice. And the FAQ doesn't include the subtracting the die (obviously).
I think it would be, 4D6 and basically the middle dice. Though I'm not sure if there was any order of operations I was missing.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 12:22:04
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Stubborn Temple Guard
|
It's cool. It happens.
|
27th Member of D.O.O.M.F.A.R.T.
Resident Battletech Guru. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 03:29:22
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh
|
-Lizards tell you to roll three, remove the highest
-Phantasmagoria tells you to roll an extra die, remove the lowest
-Roll 3+1 dice
-Remove the high (lizard) and the low (Phan).
-Simple, no?
|
Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.
Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.
Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 09:39:01
Subject: Woc Phantasmagoria on Lizardmen
|
 |
Skillful Swordsman
|
1. Yes, 4d6.
2a. Phantasmagoria takes effect after Coldblooded*: Discard lowest (1). Take two lowest (or discard highest): 7.
2b. Phantasmagoria takes effect after Coldblooded*: Discard lowest (3). Take two lowest (or discard highest): 9.
* Not that it matters here.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/11 09:40:49
 I am White/Green |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|