| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 11:20:56
Subject: Smash+Daemon Weapon, Do you gain the bonus attacks for Smash?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
The best State-Texas
|
Quick question,
I run a Daemon Prince with the Black Mace a lot, and I'm not sure if I get the bonus attacks from the Daemon weapon in my Smash Attacks, and if they would be halved if I do.
My first thought is, that I do, and the process would work like this Charge(Attacks would be 3 at this point) Add the +1 attack for charging, then roll the Daemon Weapon to see how many bonus attacks I get. So, in essence it would be 4+D6 from the Daemon weapon, if I got the charge.
Is this right?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 11:54:50
Subject: Smash+Daemon Weapon, Do you gain the bonus attacks for Smash?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
This is almost precisely the same scenario as crushing claws in the Tyranid codex, and GW ruled that works fine, so I think you're in the clear.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Actually I guess I was just transposing the rulebook FAQ ruling onto crushing claws...I don't see the actual ruling now that I'm checking.
But I still do agree with your basic reasoning compared to the rulebook FAQ anyway.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 12:05:11
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 12:16:21
Subject: Smash+Daemon Weapon, Do you gain the bonus attacks for Smash?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Use the normal rules for multiple modifiers (and mathematics, for that matter): divide first, round up if necessary, then add your bonus attacks.
So yes, a DP with a Daemon Weapon would get 4+D6 (kinda; he still has a minimum of 4) attacks on the charge.
Given the number of points you're paying for the ability, I don't think it's overpowered at all.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 12:30:00
Subject: Smash+Daemon Weapon, Do you gain the bonus attacks for Smash?
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
I completely agree that this approach is legal. Terrifying, but legal! lol
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 12:16:49
Subject: Smash+Daemon Weapon, Do you gain the bonus attacks for Smash?
|
 |
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun
|
i forget where but i remember reading something about MC's Smash and charging bonus attacks.
It said you halved the attacks, rounded up, then added the bonus attacks. I think it was either the Nids FAQ or the BRB FAQ cause i remember it being a QnA thing.
Doesnt pertain to orks so i kinda skimmed it lol
I imagine the same ruling would apply for Daemon Weapon
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/08 12:17:08
An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.
14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 12:23:56
Subject: Smash+Daemon Weapon, Do you gain the bonus attacks for Smash?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Vineheart01 wrote:i forget where but i remember reading something about MC's Smash and charging bonus attacks.
It said you halved the attacks, rounded up, then added the bonus attacks. I think it was either the Nids FAQ or the BRB FAQ cause i remember it being a QnA thing.
Doesnt pertain to orks so i kinda skimmed it lol
I imagine the same ruling would apply for Daemon Weapon
Its the rulebook FAQ, and it covers Smash plus bonus attacks (such as charging).
In my memory I had extrapolated it into Crushing Claws, but the principle does apply regardless.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|