Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 16:20:45
Subject: More than one challenge?
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
I was playing in a tournament last weekend and my IG blob containing 3 sergeants was assaulted by Typhus. Typhus has to challenge so I fed him a sergeant which he quickly chewed up. My thought was that I could feed Typhus a sergeant during each additional round of combat however my opponent whipped out the rule book and pointed out page 64 which says only one challenge can be issued per close combat. I couldn't argue the point gracefully (as I am not a rule lawyer) so I gave it to him at which point he killed off everyone giving him 3 KP. My interpretation of that line is that you can't have multiple challenges going on at the same time and that a "close combat" only exists during the player turn and a new "close combat" is initiated in the following player turn. My opponent's interpretation kind of nullified my whole theory about assaulting the blob.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 16:30:13
Subject: More than one challenge?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Page 65, halfway down on the left -
"Even though further challenges cannot be issued in a combat
until the existing challenge has been resolved, there is the
possibility that another character in the fight might intercede
in a Glorious Intervention."
And page 67, a little bit past the rule he quoted -
"Once one challenge has been made, no further challenges
can be issued in that combat whilst the previous challenge is
ongoing."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 16:31:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 16:30:38
Subject: Re:More than one challenge?
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
You can challenge again once the first challenge is finished. You can't have two challenges going on but once the first has ended you may start a new challenge in the next assault phase.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 16:33:17
Subject: More than one challenge?
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
I'm gonna go ahead and be on your side here.
I would read it as only one challenge can be issued per clos combat phase.
Further down the same page you find:
Once one challenge has been made, no further challenges can be issued in that combat whilst the previous challenge is ongoing.
This would obviously leave it open to challenges again once that is no longer true.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 16:43:43
Subject: Re:More than one challenge?
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Excellent - thanx! I'll definitely be better prepared next go around
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 16:51:31
Subject: More than one challenge?
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
Red sands: In any given turn Angron may call and fight as many
Challenges as there are enemy Independent duracters and units
in combat with him, up to his current number of attacks. Pull out
the challengers and fight them in a sequence as desired by Angron's
player during the challenge pan of the Fight sub-phase. Angron must
divide his artacks between them and must devote at least one attack to
each Challenge he fights in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 16:55:41
Subject: More than one challenge?
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
Darog wrote:Red sands: In any given turn Angron may call and fight as many
Challenges as there are enemy Independent duracters and units
in combat with him, up to his current number of attacks. Pull out
the challengers and fight them in a sequence as desired by Angron's
player during the challenge pan of the Fight sub-phase. Angron must
divide his artacks between them and must devote at least one attack to
each Challenge he fights in.
Angron is a pretty cool guy and doesn't afraid of anything.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 17:24:09
Subject: More than one challenge?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Purifier wrote: Darog wrote:Red sands: In any given turn Angron may call and fight as many
Challenges as there are enemy Independent duracters and units
in combat with him, up to his current number of attacks. Pull out
the challengers and fight them in a sequence as desired by Angron's
player during the challenge pan of the Fight sub-phase. Angron must
divide his artacks between them and must devote at least one attack to
each Challenge he fights in.
Angron is a pretty cool guy and doesn't afraid of anything.
He would probably afraid of necrons.
|
|
 |
 |
|