Switch Theme:

Ymargl Stealers, deployment question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Having a discussion on another forum and someone is saying that they consider the dormant rule of ymargls allows them to place just part of their base in area terrain, the way I read the rule, mainly due to its requirements of the selected area terrain i'd say no that isnt acceptable, I have only faced ymargls a few times and each time they have been deployed totally in the area terrain, whats the general view of this?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard






It says they must be completely in the terrain.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Traceoftoxin wrote:
It says they must be completely in the terrain.

No, it does not.

"they must be deployed such that all models are within the selected terrain."

Part of the base in the terrain means that the model is within terrain. Perfectly valid deployment.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





What about where it says 'if any models cannot be placed inside'....

Models touching the terrain are not inside?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes they are.
How do you get a cover save in area terrain? You stand inside it.

Are you saying that a model only half in area terrain does not get a cover save?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
Yes they are.
How do you get a cover save in area terrain? You stand inside it.

Are you saying that a model only half in area terrain does not get a cover save?


Area terrain rule states models in terrain, not inside terrain, standing in the door way of a house, are you in the house or outside?.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





You're both.
By having the base partially in terrain, you've satisfied the requirement to be in terrain. There's no requirement to be completely in terrain so the model can be deployed there.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




I'd use pg 4 "if any part of a model's base is within 6" of the base of an enemy model, the two models are said to be within 6" of each other."

from that we could extrapolate and go with: if any part of a model is withing area terrain, the model is within area terrain.

Just don't be inconsistent about it really, if you would expect that model to make a difficult terrain test to move, then it is in area terrain and gets a cover save.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Sure - the turn they appear they move out with a difficult terrain roll.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





They can move (mtc)and assault (reroll for fleet) the turn they arrive. Do you really need an extra half inch at the cost of upsetting the person you're playing with?

My blog - Battle Reports, Lists, Theory, and Hobby:
http://synaps3.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 hyv3mynd wrote:
They can move (mtc)and assault (reroll for fleet) the turn they arrive. Do you really need an extra half inch at the cost of upsetting the person you're playing with?

If it makes the difference between being able to deploy them and not, sure.
And I don't see why people would get upset about it - it's no different than a model claiming a cover save by having 1/16" of the base in area terrain.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
 hyv3mynd wrote:
They can move (mtc)and assault (reroll for fleet) the turn they arrive. Do you really need an extra half inch at the cost of upsetting the person you're playing with?

If it makes the difference between being able to deploy them and not, sure.
And I don't see why people would get upset about it - it's no different than a model claiming a cover save by having 1/16" of the base in area terrain.


True.

Tyranids being my first and largest army, HIWPI is they awaken from dormant fully within the area terrain but I can see how the language could allow for part of the base to touch.

My blog - Battle Reports, Lists, Theory, and Hobby:
http://synaps3.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The thing is, the rule only says that they have to be within the terrain, not they have to be wholly within the terrain (such as with disembarking).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

It also has a caveat that "If any models can not be placed inside this terrain..." P.61 Codex Tyranids

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





And if the models are getting a cover save they're inside the area terrain.

Unless you're asserting there's a difference between "in" and "inside"?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

 hyv3mynd wrote:
They can move (mtc)and assault (reroll for fleet) the turn they arrive. Do you really need an extra half inch at the cost of upsetting the person you're playing with?


This is a good point. If you place them partially in terrain some people will say that's a TFG move. As pointed on they don't need it to assault... However if your opponent correctly predicts which piece of terrain they are in and moves a unit(s) on top it then it might help them not get close hatched.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Try it though.

You pick their piece of terrain in the infiltration phase after normal units have deployed. So you can see where your opponent is and predict where they can move in the 1-2 movement phases before ymgarls statistically arrive.

If you pick one close enough and small enough for your opponent to fill up, the difference between "fully within" and "touching" will not save you. You still have to be more than 1" away from enemy models. If your opponent commits to terrain blocking you, the odds of being able to place ymgarls more than 1" away and still touching are slim to none.

Like I said HIWPI is base fully in and I can 100% accept the RAW side. I know what thoughts would go through my head if the guy across the table played this "RAW legal" move, and I would not want to make such a desperate move that could be perceived as "WAAC".

This forum is strictly RAW, but it's also important to identify the RAI/HYWPI side. RAI, when also the least advantageous route, helps to perpetuate good sportsmanship and a more enjoyable tournament environment.



My blog - Battle Reports, Lists, Theory, and Hobby:
http://synaps3.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
And if the models are getting a cover save they're inside the area terrain.

Unless you're asserting there's a difference between "in" and "inside"?


Good point, therefore models do not get a cover save for being partially in terrain, only for being in terrain.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





rigeld2 wrote:
 Traceoftoxin wrote:
It says they must be completely in the terrain.

No, it does not.

"they must be deployed such that all models are within the selected terrain."

Part of the base in the terrain means that the model is within terrain. Perfectly valid deployment.


How can "within" not mean "all in"? This isn't about whether the model gets cover it's about the depolyment of the model. If part of the base is outside the terrain thein it is not within the terrain, most of the model is within terrain but not all of the model. The rule states all models are within the terrain not all models are mostly within the terrain.

It's all in or not.

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 TheGreatAvatar wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Traceoftoxin wrote:
It says they must be completely in the terrain.

No, it does not.

"they must be deployed such that all models are within the selected terrain."

Part of the base in the terrain means that the model is within terrain. Perfectly valid deployment.


How can "within" not mean "all in"? This isn't about whether the model gets cover it's about the depolyment of the model. If part of the base is outside the terrain thein it is not within the terrain, most of the model is within terrain but not all of the model. The rule states all models are within the terrain not all models are mostly within the terrain.

It's all in or not.


Coherency requires you to be within 2" to a friendly model in the unit. Disembarking requires you to be wholly within 6" of an access point. One requires you to to be no farther than the specified distance, the other requires no part of the models base to be further than the specified distance. The wording for Ymgarl is identical to one of those I mentioned. Furthermore, to gain cover saves from area terrain you only have to be within the terrain. If a model is only partially in the terrain does it get a cover save?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
And if the models are getting a cover save they're inside the area terrain.

Unless you're asserting there's a difference between "in" and "inside"?


Good point, therefore models do not get a cover save for being partially in terrain, only for being in terrain.

At least you're consistently wrong.
Check the image on page 19 - the top Orc with a green circle is not wholly in the terrain, and yet it has a cover save.
Also, according to you, a model that has 1/16" of its base out of cover does not have to make a difficult/dangerous terrain test.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 TheGreatAvatar wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Traceoftoxin wrote:
It says they must be completely in the terrain.

No, it does not.

"they must be deployed such that all models are within the selected terrain."

Part of the base in the terrain means that the model is within terrain. Perfectly valid deployment.

How can "within" not mean "all in"? This isn't about whether the model gets cover it's about the depolyment of the model. If part of the base is outside the terrain thein it is not within the terrain, most of the model is within terrain but not all of the model. The rule states all models are within the terrain not all models are mostly within the terrain.

It's all in or not.

You're ignoring my point about cover because its inconvenient - except its absolutely relevant. Within means the same thing as in which means the same thing as inside - if the base is partially in the terrain the model is in terrain. If you are forced to just barely graze area terrain with your base, you must make a difficult terrain test, agreed? So how can you take a test to move through area terrain and also not be in area terrain at the same time?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/09 04:03:40


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





You've only used part of the coherency rule to bulster your claim. The coherency rule specifically states (and shows via diagrams) the distance between two models is measured based-to-based. THIS distance must be within 2", as stated by the rule. This doesn't automatically define all uses of "within" indicates base-to-base or base-to-edge.

Without any further expositon of the Ymgarl rule, the use of within implies all the models must be placed wholly in the terrein (the general usage of within).

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I used to think it was wrong that Ymgarls could pop-out of a terrain feature with part of their base hanging off the edge, but then my opponent pointed out that simple question: what does it take for a model to be considered in a piece of area terrain to get a cover save? I think we all understand that if any portion of a model's base is in a piece of area terrain then they are considered 'in' the terrain, and if we play that way for cover saves, why would we apply different logic to the Ymgarl?

The truth is, Ymgarl are one of those few units that get to assault the turn they arrive, but they still have to deal with random charge ranges and overwatch (and got nerfed a bit by disorganized charges too). Yes, they're likely to gut their initial charge targets but after that they usually die horribly...so if the fact that they can jump out and get an extra (almost 1")...so what? Big deal. Its how the rules are written. They could have made them have to appear 'wholly' within the terrain but they didn't.

So be it.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 TheGreatAvatar wrote:
You've only used part of the coherency rule to bulster your claim. The coherency rule specifically states (and shows via diagrams) the distance between two models is measured based-to-based. THIS distance must be within 2", as stated by the rule. This doesn't automatically define all uses of "within" indicates base-to-base or base-to-edge.

Without any further expositon of the Ymgarl rule, the use of within implies all the models must be placed wholly in the terrein (the general usage of within).

Almost an hour after my post and you don't bother responding to it?
Cool story bro.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
And if the models are getting a cover save they're inside the area terrain.

Unless you're asserting there's a difference between "in" and "inside"?


Good point, therefore models do not get a cover save for being partially in terrain, only for being in terrain.

At least you're consistently wrong.
Check the image on page 19 - the top Orc with a green circle is not wholly in the terrain, and yet it has a cover save.
Also, according to you, a model that has 1/16" of its base out of cover does not have to make a difficult/dangerous terrain test.

The terrain rules remind me of the movement from reserves rules where the model must move onto the board.

Onto means fully onto as they did not state partially, therefore when they say in terrain (Note they do not use within in this case) they must mean fully in.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/09 07:24:13


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Area terrain is pretty simple. If your base is overlapping the base of the terrain at all, you're in it. Qualifying for cover saves, taking difficult terrain, etc.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

< Taken by the void dragon. >

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/14 05:50:27


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Che-Vito wrote:
I'm going to deploy my Guardsmen on top of my Chimeras from now on; they can be partially embarked.

You realise that statement makes no sense, right?

 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

< Taken by the void dragon. >

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/14 05:50:20


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
And if the models are getting a cover save they're inside the area terrain.

Unless you're asserting there's a difference between "in" and "inside"?


Good point, therefore models do not get a cover save for being partially in terrain, only for being in terrain.

At least you're consistently wrong.
Check the image on page 19 - the top Orc with a green circle is not wholly in the terrain, and yet it has a cover save.
Also, according to you, a model that has 1/16" of its base out of cover does not have to make a difficult/dangerous terrain test.

The terrain rules remind me of the movement from reserves rules where the model must move onto the board.

Onto means fully onto as they did not state partially, therefore when they say in terrain (Note they do not use within in this case) they must mean fully in.

So when they say a target must be in range, of course they mean fully in range - no measuring just to the base...
Oh - wait... That's wrong.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: