Switch Theme:

Tomb Kings King: Cloak of Dunes joining Chariots?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

So...I always thought that the "and the tomb king rode to war" was because you can not usualy join chariot Units. But it struck me that this rules exist because a chariot can not join units. Can a king with a cloak of the dunes join a unit of chariots?

I might be wrong re reading the rules of "and the tomb king rode to war". Damn I really want a use for the cloak of dunes. Assassin level 1 death priest does not seem so effective. Neather does a necrotect to keep construckts alive.

   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Units (Chariots) cannot join characters.

Characters can join units, barring exceptions.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/13 02:31:26


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Is "and the tomb king rode to war" sutch an exeption prohibiting joining?

   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

A Tomb Kings character that is (not was) on a chariot can join a unit of chariots. A unit of chariots cannot join the character.

Nothing in the rule allows a character on foot to move faster than it would outside of the unit, so the unit must slow down, or the character must leave it.
(Fly does not even help)

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

On page 105 governing character mounts.

"Characters riding Chariots cannot join units."



"...and the Tomb Kings rode to War" is a specific exception allowing a character on a chariot with the rule to join a unit of Chariots.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Yes. But can a character without chariot but with the cloak join the unit?

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, because you are allowed to join units as a character. You then have a series of restrictions of when a character cannot join a unit
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Yes, because you are allowed to join units as a character. You then have a series of restrictions of when a character cannot join a unit

To explain it better, characters of any kind are forbidden from joining a unit of chariots (BRB pg.97), a TK is subject to the same restriction unless he's riding a chariot since he then has specific permission to join them.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

 HoverBoy wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Yes, because you are allowed to join units as a character. You then have a series of restrictions of when a character cannot join a unit

To explain it better, characters of any kind are forbidden from joining a unit of chariots (BRB pg.97), a TK character is subject to the same restriction unless he's riding a chariot since he then has specific permission to join them.

Fixed - otherwise Heralds could not either.
The rules actually affects the TK chariots, not the TK Tomb Kings.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: