Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/14 04:51:22
Subject: Gave Chute Insertion
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
Los Gatos, CA
|
Have a question on this. I had a PCS squad jump out of a Vendetta after he moved 18inchs. They deployed along the flight path but ended up scattering just under an inch of my opponents land raider. Now I could of gotten my 5 man squad deployed with out touching the land raider, but he said that since it’s within an inch of his model it’s a mishap, and have to roll on the table. Just wanted to get what the going consensus is on this rule.
Thanks
|
BAO 2015 : Best Space Wolves.
The best battle plans are the simplest. Just run forward and punch your enemy in the face. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/14 04:59:37
Subject: Gave Chute Insertion
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
He's correct - "If any of the models in a deep striking unit cannot be deployed, because at least one model would land partially or fully off the table, in impassable terrain, on top of a friendly model, or on top of or within 1" of an enemy model"
Deep Strike rules, page 36
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/14 05:07:45
Subject: Re:Gave Chute Insertion
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, you are not allowed to deploy within 1" of enemy units (per the DS reference quoted above). And its worse than you think because with Grav Chute Deployment (per the IG FAQ): "if any of the models cannot be deployed the unit is destroyed".
So in your example you would NOT even roll on the Deep Strike Mishap chart, they would just be dead.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/14 05:08:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/14 05:17:50
Subject: Gave Chute Insertion
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
Los Gatos, CA
|
I guess it just doesn’t feel true to me but rules are rules. I can understand that if it was my Vendetta just coming in from off the board or some other unit but with Grav Chutes the models are technically already on the board just in a transport. Thank you for the feedback.
|
BAO 2015 : Best Space Wolves.
The best battle plans are the simplest. Just run forward and punch your enemy in the face. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/14 05:33:35
Subject: Gave Chute Insertion
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Panzer1944 wrote:I guess it just doesn’t feel true to me but rules are rules. I can understand that if it was my Vendetta just coming in from off the board or some other unit but with Grav Chutes the models are technically already on the board just in a transport. Thank you for the feedback.
Actually, re-reading your original post it doesn't look like you realize how Grav-Chute insertion actually works.
First off, you have to know that the rules for flyers don't allow zooming flyers to disembark models at all...so you can't do that, even with Grav-Chute insertion (this is just a restriction tied to Zooming, not to any specific distance moved).
So the next thing you have to know is that the IG FAQ from GW changed the wording of when Grav Chute Insertion is allowed. Instead of being allowed "If the Valkyrie has moved flat out' they've now changed it to: "If a Valkyrie or Vendetta moved more than 6 inches".
So the ONLY thing that this rule allows you to do is, when the Valk/Vendetta is in Hover Mode, deploy the unit when you've moved more than 6" (because normally you can only disembark when a vehicle moves 6" or less).
So it just is not possible to move 18" and deploy a unit with Grav Chute Insertion as your original question suggests.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/14 05:34:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/14 05:39:08
Subject: Gave Chute Insertion
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
Los Gatos, CA
|
Ask a question and get an answer. First time using them since I usually just have my Vendettas tank hunting without anyone inside. Once again thank you for the wealth of information so I can properly put my units to good use.
|
BAO 2015 : Best Space Wolves.
The best battle plans are the simplest. Just run forward and punch your enemy in the face. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/14 06:09:40
Subject: Gave Chute Insertion
|
 |
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos
|
The FAQ on Grav-Chute Insertion does not say it is limited to Hover Mode at all. Wouldn't Grav-Chute Insertion be a codex-specific rule for those Flyers?
|
Renegade Guardsmen |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/14 06:46:22
Subject: Gave Chute Insertion
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
yakface wrote:
First off, you have to know that the rules for flyers don't allow zooming flyers to disembark models at all...so you can't do that, even with Grav-Chute insertion (this is just a restriction tied to Zooming, not to any specific distance moved).
But BRB FAQ does give implicit permission to do so
Q: Can units embarked on a Flyer (Transport) make use of any special disembarkation rules for their passengers (such as Skies of Blood or Grav Chute Insertion) if the vehicle has suffered a Crew Shaken/Stunned or Locked Velocity? (p81)
A: Yes.
Considering that only Zooming models can suffer from Locked Velocity and they cannot switch back to Hover after that, this means GW thinks those special disembarkation rules are allowed for Zooming Flyers.
Yes, I know that Strict RAW this means Zooming Vlyers are only allowed to disembark models via Grav Chute Insertion if it has suffered Crew Shaken/Stunned or Locked Velocity, but strict RAW models without eyes cannot shoot at all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/14 07:45:09
Subject: Gave Chute Insertion
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Luide wrote: yakface wrote:
First off, you have to know that the rules for flyers don't allow zooming flyers to disembark models at all...so you can't do that, even with Grav-Chute insertion (this is just a restriction tied to Zooming, not to any specific distance moved).
But BRB FAQ does give implicit permission to do so
Q: Can units embarked on a Flyer (Transport) make use of any special disembarkation rules for their passengers (such as Skies of Blood or Grav Chute Insertion) if the vehicle has suffered a Crew Shaken/Stunned or Locked Velocity? (p81)
A: Yes.
Considering that only Zooming models can suffer from Locked Velocity and they cannot switch back to Hover after that, this means GW thinks those special disembarkation rules are allowed for Zooming Flyers.
Yes, I know that Strict RAW this means Zooming Vlyers are only allowed to disembark models via Grav Chute Insertion if it has suffered Crew Shaken/Stunned or Locked Velocity, but strict RAW models without eyes cannot shoot at all.
Fair enough! Totally did not catch that reference before. I concur that given that statement the clear intent is for these types of rules to be allowed when Zooming (although GW did really cock it up their errata on these items if that's what they were intending).
So Panzer, take back what I said before about not being able to use Grav Insertion while zooming. At least this way the potential loss of the unit is worthwhile, and those Necron bastards aren't quite so special (they just don't scatter and die, which is nice of course).
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Smashotron wrote:The FAQ on Grav-Chute Insertion does not say it is limited to Hover Mode at all. Wouldn't Grav-Chute Insertion be a codex-specific rule for those Flyers?
As I pointed out, the restriction against zooming flyers disembarking units is because the flyer is zooming, not because of the distance it moves (which is what the errata for Grav-Chute allows the vehicle to disregard). So technically speaking if we didn't have that ancillary reference in another FAQ question that Luide pointed out, the errata on the Grav-Chute would NOT allow a zooming flyer to use it to disembark troops because doing so would still be breaking the rule that a zooming flyer is not allowed to disembark troops.
Now, if the rule for zooming flyers had said something like: 'A Zooming flyer cannot disembark models because it is required to move more than 6 inches', then you would be right.
But regardless, I think that additional FAQ ruling is good enough to convince most people what they actually meant.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/14 07:49:12
|
|
 |
 |
|