Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 06:47:46
Subject: Force weapon question
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
I was talking with someone today at the FLGS and he was claiming that force weapons can only be used on your player turn not in the opponents turn, is this correct?
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 06:54:11
Subject: Re:Force weapon question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
He is incorrect. As long as you have a psychic charge available then upon causing a wound in CC you may activate the charge, take a psychic test and if you pas it all wound caused have the instant death special rule. Now if you have only one psychic charge a turn and you spend it during the combat in your turn then you would not have one to spend in your opponents turn and could not activate your force weapon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 06:58:10
Subject: Force weapon question
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
I figured as much but wanted to be sure, the local TO was telling me otherwise today.
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 07:07:49
Subject: Re:Force weapon question
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
krazykishere wrote:He is incorrect. As long as you have a psychic charge available then upon causing a wound in CC you may activate the charge, take a psychic test and if you pas it all wound caused have the instant death special rule. Now if you have only one psychic charge a turn and you spend it during the combat in your turn then you would not have one to spend in your opponents turn and could not activate your force weapon.
Wrong, you replenish warp charges each turn. Turn meaning player turn unless otherwise stated. You can cast some powers in your opponents turn at the appropriate time.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 09:16:29
Subject: Re:Force weapon question
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
Grey Templar wrote:krazykishere wrote:He is incorrect. As long as you have a psychic charge available then upon causing a wound in CC you may activate the charge, take a psychic test and if you pas it all wound caused have the instant death special rule. Now if you have only one psychic charge a turn and you spend it during the combat in your turn then you would not have one to spend in your opponents turn and could not activate your force weapon.
Wrong, you replenish warp charges each turn. Turn meaning player turn unless otherwise stated. You can cast some powers in your opponents turn at the appropriate time.
Grey has it right. You have your warp charge again when it's the opponent's turn and can again activate your weapons.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 12:36:35
Subject: Force weapon question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As above, I learnt this just after I really needed it, I for some reason assumed you didnt get new warp charges in the opponents turn, would have changed that game a little :(
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 14:44:14
Subject: Re:Force weapon question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
You are correct and it is awesome for me. Learn something new everyday.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 14:51:43
Subject: Re:Force weapon question
|
 |
2nd Lieutenant
San Jose, California
|
Purifier wrote: Grey Templar wrote:krazykishere wrote:He is incorrect. As long as you have a psychic charge available then upon causing a wound in CC you may activate the charge, take a psychic test and if you pas it all wound caused have the instant death special rule. Now if you have only one psychic charge a turn and you spend it during the combat in your turn then you would not have one to spend in your opponents turn and could not activate your force weapon.
Wrong, you replenish warp charges each turn. Turn meaning player turn unless otherwise stated. You can cast some powers in your opponents turn at the appropriate time.
Grey has it right. You have your warp charge again when it's the opponent's turn and can again activate your weapons.
Which is why my Necron Overlord with MSS can use the Force Weapon of the model that I take control of to ID itself if I wound it with the hits generated from the MSS.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/15 14:52:34
Solve a man's problem with violence and help him for a day. Teach a man how to solve his problems with violence, help him for a lifetime - Belkar Bitterleaf |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 15:27:35
Subject: Force weapon question
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
force weapons can be activated on either turn providing you have enough warp charges,
warp charges are replenished each player turn,
so yes you can use force weapons in enemies assault phase
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 17:16:38
Subject: Force weapon question
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
I figured as much, this guy is unfortunately the TO for most of their tournaments he also told me that if the only thing left on the board was flyers you auto lose.
He is a nice guy but he comes up with some very odd notions about rules sometimes, I have also noticed he hates named characters with a passion.
I have learned to adjust to some of it but I make sure to always have a printed copy of my armies FAQ and the BRB FAQ on hand at all times when playing in a tournament there.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/15 17:20:52
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 19:30:51
Subject: Force weapon question
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Sounds like you're already aware, but... this is very, very wrong. You'll only automatically lose if you don't have any *models* left on the board at the end of the turn. Flyers are of course models...
It's possible said flyer could be damaged and forced into zooming off, but otherwise you can pop it into hover mode.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 19:31:55
Subject: Force weapon question
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Super Ready wrote:
Sounds like you're already aware, but... this is very, very wrong. You'll only automatically lose if you don't have any *models* left on the board at the end of the turn. Flyers are of course models...
It's possible said flyer could be damaged and forced into zooming off, but otherwise you can pop it into hover mode.
Only if it has Hover as a type.
Not all flyers can hover. The Dark Eldar flyers are an example of flyers that don't have it.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 19:48:43
Subject: Force weapon question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
TheAvengingKnee wrote:I figured as much, this guy is unfortunately the TO for most of their tournaments he also told me that if the only thing left on the board was flyers you auto lose.
This is a reasonably common misconception based on the wording of the current FAQ which says that you autolose if you only have stuff in flyers at the end of turn one. Meaning that none of your army is on the board yet...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 16:28:09
Subject: Force weapon question
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
When I talked to him again it came up that he was basing the no force weapons in your opponents rule off something in the rulebook saying that unless the power specifies otherwise psychic powers can only be used on your turn and because force weapons don't say that they can be used on the opponents turn.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/18 16:30:27
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 18:34:10
Subject: Force weapon question
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
TheAvengingKnee wrote:When I talked to him again it came up that he was basing the no force weapons in your opponents rule off something in the rulebook saying that unless the power specifies otherwise psychic powers can only be used on your turn and because force weapons don't say that they can be used on the opponents turn.
Unless I'm going blind - this rule doesn't exist. I just read through both Force and the entire Psykers section in the Rulebook, and nowhere do I see such a restriction.
Even if there were, Force can override it as it states you can "immediately" cast the power when the psyker causes a wound.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
|