Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 13:01:33
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
FAQs have been updated.
Q: Land Speeder Storms, Stormraven Gunships and
Stormtalon Gunships are all listed as Space Marine vehicles
in the Reference section. Does this mean that every Space
Marine Chapter now has access to these vehicles as well (i.e.
Space Wolves, Blood Angels, Grey Knights etc.)? (p411)
A: No – you may only select units and vehicles that are
available in the army list section of your codex. The two
exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships,
which are only available to armies chosen from Codex:
Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The rules for these
Flyers can be found in the Death From the Skies
compendium.
So... Looks like Blood Angels and GK lost the Stormraven???
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 13:14:55
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper
Chandler, Arizona
|
What? No. The Stormraven is in their codex, therefore they may use it. The landspeeder storm and storm talon is what they were referencing in that regards.
However, it does appear that Space Wolves are SOL for that stuff.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/16 13:15:46
"You are judged in life, not by the evil you destroy, but by the light you bring to the darkness" - Reclusiarch Grimaldus of the Black Templars |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 13:33:42
Subject: Re:FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
|
What? No. The Stormraven is in their codex, therefore they may use it. The landspeeder storm and storm talon is what they were referencing in that regards.
Yeah, this is what they meant, but in traditional GW FAQ writing style they've been a bit obtuse about it all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 13:43:55
Subject: Re:FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Irradiated Baal Scavanger
Canada
|
Obviously the BA and GK can still take the stormraven. But i agree, RAW says they can't.
Awesome proof reading.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 16:06:13
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Sacrifice to the Dark Gods
|
No it does not.
The BRB says only Black Templars and Space Marines can take Stormraven.
The Gray Knight and Blood Angel codex has the Stormraven listed as a takeable unit.
So we have a rulebook vs. codex conflict. Guess who wins.
*edit for spelling
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/16 16:22:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 16:18:43
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
HopinmyTub wrote:No it does not.
The BRB says only Black Templars and Space Marines can take Stormraven.
The gray knight and Blood Angle codex has the Stormraven listed as a takeable unit.
So we have a rulebook vs. codex conflit. Guess who wins.
Codex.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 16:46:12
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
HopinmyTub wrote:No it does not.
The BRB says only Black Templars and Space Marines can take Stormraven.
The Gray Knight and Blood Angel codex has the Stormraven listed as a takeable unit.
So we have a rulebook vs. codex conflict. Guess who wins.
*edit for spelling
This is what they're referring to:
The two exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships, which are only available to armies chosen from Codex: Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars.
This is saying that the Stormraven Gunship is an exception to the rule that you can take whatever is in your codex. The only armies that can take that Stormraven are Space Marines and Black Templars.
Obviously an oversight, but more DA-codex style editing. RAW, only those two armies can take Stormravens.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/16 16:46:51
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 16:56:54
Subject: Re:FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
They also updated the stormraven rules for the grey knights and blood angels respectively. Seems sort of pointless if they then decided that even though there is a stormraven in each codex, they can no longer field them no?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/16 16:57:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 17:39:21
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Sacrifice to the Dark Gods
|
puma713 wrote:HopinmyTub wrote:No it does not.
The BRB says only Black Templars and Space Marines can take Stormraven.
The Gray Knight and Blood Angel codex has the Stormraven listed as a takeable unit.
So we have a rulebook vs. codex conflict. Guess who wins.
*edit for spelling
This is what they're referring to:
The two exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships, which are only available to armies chosen from Codex: Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars.
This is saying that the Stormraven Gunship is an exception to the rule that you can take whatever is in your codex. The only armies that can take that Stormraven are Space Marines and Black Templars.
Obviously an oversight, but more DA-codex style editing. RAW, only those two armies can take Stormravens.
No. I am not arguing what it says. I agree the rulebook says none but the Codex: Space Marine and Codex: Black Templar can take the Stormraven and Stormtalon.
But, the BA and GK codex each have the Stormraven still listed. It has not been FAQ'ed out.
Do you not see a rulebook vs. codex conflict?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 17:45:14
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
Well either the original post was misquoted, or (more likely) they updated the FAQ wording. It no longer says 'only' in the offending line, and so makes much more sense now.
|
DR:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k99+D+++++A++/mWD267R++T(T)DM+
2000 Points Athonian 39th
2000 Points Angels of Absolution
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 17:51:57
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh
|
We can all realize GW made a poor example of proofing their work. It's very common for them. GK and BA keep their Storm Ravens, SM and BT just gain them. GW does plenty to drum up bad publicity, but this is kind of just creating ripples inside of a tidal wave.
|
Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.
Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.
Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 18:06:30
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
Unfortunately, these probably preclude them from making a more comprehensive update of the FAQ's for February, meaning I'm stuck with the dumbass Eldar psypower ruling for the BAO.
|
Rokugnar Eldar (6500) - Wolves of Excess (2000) - Marines Diagnostica (2200)
tumblr - I paint on Twitch! - Also a Level 2 Magic Judge |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 19:29:08
Subject: Re:FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
So the FAQ's are now use for plugging crappy books... wow just wow.
|
Do you play 30k? It'd be a lot cooler if you did. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 19:52:20
Subject: Re:FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
What the heck are you guys taling about. Here it is.
Q: Land Speeder Storms, Stormraven Gunships and
Stormtalon Gunships are all listed as Space Marine vehicles
in the Reference section. Does this mean that every Space
Marine Chapter now has access to these vehicles as well (i.e .
Space Wolves, Blood Angels, Grey Knights etc.)? (p411)
A: No – you may only select units and vehicles that are
available in the army list section of your codex. The two
exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships,
which are only available to armies chosen from Codex:
Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The rules for these
Flyers can be found in the Death From the Skies
compendium.
WARHAMMER
Lets break it down. pt 1. Are all vehicles listed in the reference section available to every space marine chapter? answer-NO, you only get whats in your codex.
pt2: the only exception to the "codex listing only" restriction are the stormtalon and storm raven gunships, and that exception only applies to the codex: space marines and Codex: Black Templars.
I know that i rephrased it. but that is exactly what it says.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Yeah, since they no longer host tournaments, you can get away with fielding models made by other companies. You can't get away with using rules from other companies. I foresee rule books and suplements begin to take a larger roll as money maker over at GW.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/16 20:05:29
Meks is da best! Dey makes go fasta and mo dakka! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 20:08:07
Subject: Re:FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
RAW do not say gk and codexes with the unit in them cannot take it,
thats reading rules wrong (RRW)
Q: Land Speeder Storms, Stormraven Gunships and
Stormtalon Gunships are all listed as Space Marine vehicles
in the Reference section. Does this mean that every Space
Marine Chapter now has access to these vehicles as well (i.e.
Space Wolves, Blood Angels, Grey Knights etc.)? (p411)
A: No – you may only select units and vehicles that are
available in the army list section of your codex.The two
exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships,
which are only available to armies chosen from Codex:
Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The rules for these
Flyers can be found in the Death From the Skies
compendium.
so you can use whats in your codex, and codex space marines and BT get to use stormtalons+storm ravens
the last bit of the FAQ does not contradict that you can select vehicles from your codex, it just says that GK's ect dont have permission to use landspeeders/storm talons if they are not in the codex
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 20:12:27
Subject: Re:FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Idolator wrote:What the heck are you guys taling about. Here it is.
Q: Land Speeder Storms, Stormraven Gunships and
Stormtalon Gunships are all listed as Space Marine vehicles
in the Reference section. Does this mean that every Space
Marine Chapter now has access to these vehicles as well (i.e .
Space Wolves, Blood Angels, Grey Knights etc.)? (p411)
A: No – you may only select units and vehicles that are
available in the army list section of your codex. The two
exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships,
which are only available to armies chosen from Codex:
Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The rules for these
Flyers can be found in the Death From the Skies
compendium.
WARHAMMER
Lets break it down. pt 1. Are all vehicles listed in the reference section available to every space marine chapter? answer-NO, you only get whats in your codex.
pt2: the only exception to the "codex listing only" restriction are the stormtalon and storm raven gunships, and that exception only applies to the codex: space marines and Codex: Black Templars.
I know that i rephrased it. but that is exactly what it says.
Look at your post. Now look at the original post. Compare the two. Note how the original post has the word "only" in it. Figure out that maybe - just maybe - GW changed the FAQ in the 7 hours between when the OP went up and your post. Automatically Appended Next Post: easysauce wrote:RAW do not say gk and codexes with the unit in them cannot take it,
thats reading rules wrong
You too - seriously, GW updated the FAQ. When the OP posted, he was correct. They've fixed it now.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/16 20:13:29
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 20:14:01
Subject: Re:FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
easysauce wrote:RAW do not say gk and codexes with the unit in them cannot take it,
thats reading rules wrong (RRW)
Q: Land Speeder Storms, Stormraven Gunships and
Stormtalon Gunships are all listed as Space Marine vehicles
in the Reference section. Does this mean that every Space
Marine Chapter now has access to these vehicles as well (i.e.
Space Wolves, Blood Angels, Grey Knights etc.)? (p411)
A: No – you may only select units and vehicles that are
available in the army list section of your codex.The two
exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships,
which are only available to armies chosen from Codex:
Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The rules for these
Flyers can be found in the Death From the Skies
compendium.
so you can use whats in your codex, and codex space marines and BT get to use stormtalons+storm ravens
the last bit of the FAQ does not contradict that you can select vehicles from your codex, it just says that GK's ect dont have permission to use landspeeders/storm talons if they are not in the codex
That's what I just posted. You've got a good handle on it.
|
Meks is da best! Dey makes go fasta and mo dakka! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 20:20:02
Subject: Re:FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote: Idolator wrote:
Q: Land Speeder Storms, Stormraven Gunships and
Stormtalon Gunships are all listed as Space Marine vehicles
in the Reference section. Does this mean that every Space
Marine Chapter now has access to these vehicles as well (i.e .
Space Wolves, Blood Angels, Grey Knights etc.)? (p411)
A: No – you may only select units and vehicles that are
available in the army list section of your codex. The two
exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships,
which are only available to armies chosen from Codex:
Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The rules for these
Flyers can be found in the Death From the Skies
compendium.
Look at your post. Now look at the original post. Compare the two. Note how the original post has the word "only" in it. Figure out that maybe - just maybe - GW changed the FAQ in the 7 hours between when the OP went up and your post.
Rig, Idolators Q: A: is the exact same wording as in the OP. Not sure what you mean.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 20:20:47
Subject: Re:FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
rigeld2 wrote: Idolator wrote:What the heck are you guys taling about. Here it is.
Q: Land Speeder Storms, Stormraven Gunships and
Stormtalon Gunships are all listed as Space Marine vehicles
in the Reference section. Does this mean that every Space
Marine Chapter now has access to these vehicles as well (i.e .
Space Wolves, Blood Angels, Grey Knights etc.)? (p411)
A: No – you may only select units and vehicles that are
available in the army list section of your codex. The two
exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships,
which are only available to armies chosen from Codex:
Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The rules for these
Flyers can be found in the Death From the Skies
compendium.
WARHAMMER
Lets break it down. pt 1. Are all vehicles listed in the reference section available to every space marine chapter? answer-NO, you only get whats in your codex.
pt2: the only exception to the "codex listing only" restriction are the stormtalon and storm raven gunships, and that exception only applies to the codex: space marines and Codex: Black Templars.
I know that i rephrased it. but that is exactly what it says.
Look at your post. Now look at the original post. Compare the two. Note how the original post has the word "only" in it. Figure out that maybe - just maybe - GW changed the FAQ in the 7 hours between when the OP went up and your post.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
easysauce wrote:RAW do not say gk and codexes with the unit in them cannot take it,
thats reading rules wrong
You too - seriously, GW updated the FAQ. When the OP posted, he was correct. They've fixed it now.
Huh? The OP hasn't edited his post at all. Here's what he posted. I just copied it and am now pasting it :
Q: Land Speeder Storms, Stormraven Gunships and
Stormtalon Gunships are all listed as Space Marine vehicles
in the Reference section. Does this mean that every Space
Marine Chapter now has access to these vehicles as well (i.e.
Space Wolves, Blood Angels, Grey Knights etc.)? (p411)
A: No – you may only select units and vehicles that are
available in the army list section of your codex. The two
exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships,
which are only available to armies chosen from Codex:
Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The rules for these
Flyers can be found in the Death From the Skies
compendium.
It's an exact match to what I posted. Now here is the exact FAQ coppied and pasted.
Q: Land Speeder Storms, Stormraven Gunships and
Stormtalon Gunships are all listed as Space Marine vehicles
in the Reference section. Does this mean that every Space
Marine Chapter now has access to these vehicles as well (i.e .
Space Wolves, Blood Angels, Grey Knights etc.)? (p411)
A: No – you may only select units and vehicles that are
available in the army list section of your codex. The two
exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships,
which are only available to armies chosen from Codex:
Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The rules for these
Flyers can be found in the Death From the Skies
compendium.
WARHAMMER
Identical.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/16 20:21:42
Meks is da best! Dey makes go fasta and mo dakka! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 20:37:19
Subject: Re:FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Sorry, I misread them.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 21:12:51
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
Huh... well I just checked again. The same FAQ response appears in the SM FAQ as well as the BRB FAQ. The one in the SM FAQ omits the second 'only'. One of them is obviously a typo.
|
DR:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k99+D+++++A++/mWD267R++T(T)DM+
2000 Points Athonian 39th
2000 Points Angels of Absolution
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 21:27:14
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
lledwey wrote:Huh... well I just checked again. The same FAQ response appears in the SM FAQ as well as the BRB FAQ. The one in the SM FAQ omits the second 'only'. One of them is obviously a typo.
Both of the FAQ's mean the exact same thing regardless of whether the word "only" is present. I do see what you mean though. The writters at GW are quite good. The editors at GW are terrible.
|
Meks is da best! Dey makes go fasta and mo dakka! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 21:30:27
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
How do they mean the same thing? One says that 'only SM and BT can take the stormraven/talon', and the other just says 'SM and BT can take the stormraven/talon.'
That isn't the same thing at all. The entire point of this thread was that saying 'only SM and BT' implied that BA and GK couldn't take them, wasn't it?
|
DR:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k99+D+++++A++/mWD267R++T(T)DM+
2000 Points Athonian 39th
2000 Points Angels of Absolution
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 21:34:46
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
lledwey wrote:How do they mean the same thing? One says that 'only SM and BT can take the stormraven/talon', and the other just says ' SM and BT can take the stormraven/talon.'
That isn't the same thing at all. The entire point of this thread was that saying 'only SM and BT' implied that BA and GK couldn't take them, wasn't it?
Please read my post, earlier in this forum. It's the 14th post in this forum.
The word "only" means that "only" C: SM and C: BT are allowed to field units that are not specificaly listed in their codex. There is nothing in the FAQ that prevents any army from fielding a unit listed in their codex.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/16 21:35:55
Meks is da best! Dey makes go fasta and mo dakka! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 21:38:11
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
Right, that's obvious, but what I'm pointing out is that if the only thing they printed was what is listed in the SM FAQ, this thread wouldn't even have existed. The wording in the BRB FAQ is confusing, maybe not to you, and I agree with your assessment ruleswise, but it is obviously confusing to some because there was reason to post about it.
The wording in the SM FAQ is not confusing at all and is how they should both read.
|
DR:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k99+D+++++A++/mWD267R++T(T)DM+
2000 Points Athonian 39th
2000 Points Angels of Absolution
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/16 21:44:07
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna
|
lledwey wrote:Right, that's obvious, but what I'm pointing out is that if the only thing they printed was what is listed in the SM FAQ, this thread wouldn't even have existed. The wording in the BRB FAQ is confusing, maybe not to you, and I agree with your assessment ruleswise, but it is obviously confusing to some because there was reason to post about it.
The wording in the SM FAQ is not confusing at all and is how they should both read.
I agree with you as well. That there should have only been one version of the FAQ. I also agree that the C: SM is better. ( I didn't even know that it was there until you pointed it out)
About the confusing part?!? I don't know. There are more than a few people out in the world that will argue over what the deffinition of "is" is.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/16 21:45:12
Meks is da best! Dey makes go fasta and mo dakka! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/17 00:42:29
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
HopinmyTub wrote: puma713 wrote:HopinmyTub wrote:No it does not.
The BRB says only Black Templars and Space Marines can take Stormraven.
The Gray Knight and Blood Angel codex has the Stormraven listed as a takeable unit.
So we have a rulebook vs. codex conflict. Guess who wins.
*edit for spelling
This is what they're referring to:
The two exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships, which are only available to armies chosen from Codex: Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars.
This is saying that the Stormraven Gunship is an exception to the rule that you can take whatever is in your codex. The only armies that can take that Stormraven are Space Marines and Black Templars.
Obviously an oversight, but more DA-codex style editing. RAW, only those two armies can take Stormravens.
No. I am not arguing what it says. I agree the rulebook says none but the Codex: Space Marine and Codex: Black Templar can take the Stormraven and Stormtalon.
But, the BA and GK codex each have the Stormraven still listed. It has not been FAQ'ed out.
Do you not see a rulebook vs. codex conflict?
No, you're not paying attention to the first line of the FAQ answer. Let's break it down together:
A: No – you may only select units and vehicles that are available in the army list section of your codex.
The Stormraven is in the army list for GK and Blood Angels correct? Therefore, you may take them. Until. . .
The two exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships, which are only available to armies chosen from Codex: Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars.
The above line says that the exception to the rule that you may choose any unit in your army list are two units: Stormtalons and Stormravens. They are only available to Space Marines and Black Templars.
What is happening is the first line is giving you express permission to choose anything in your army list. Then the second line is removing permission for Stormtalons and Stormravens except to two armies.
Again, this is ridiculous, but that is RAW at the moment.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/17 00:50:34
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
That is not the correct way to parse that Puma. The correct way is: "You may only select units and vehicles that are available in the army list section of your codex." The Two exceptions to the above rule are... This is what the exception is referring to. The Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships are not in Codex: Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The New FAQ allows Codex: Space Marines and Codex: Black Templars to take Stormtalon or Stormraven Gunships even though they may not be in those codexes.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/17 00:51:06
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/17 00:52:23
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
The problem, however is this:
SM FAQ wrote:Q: Land Speeder Storms, Stormraven Gunships and Stormtalon
Gunships are all listed as Space Marine vehicles in the Reference
section. Does this mean that every Space Marine Chapter now has
access to these vehicles as well (i.e . Space Wolves, Blood Angels,
Grey Knights etc.)? (p411)
A: No – you may usually only select units and vehicles that are
available in the army list section of your codex. The two
exceptions are the Stormtalon and Stormraven Gunships,
which are available to armies chosen from Codex: Space
Marines and Codex: Black Templars. The rules for using these
Flyers can be found in the Death From the Skies compendium.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/17 00:55:27
Subject: FAQs updated for Death from the Skies
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
That is not a problem at all.
It is still just saying that you can, in fact, take a Stormtalon or Stormraven Gunship even though those units may not be listed in Codex: Space Marines or Codex: Black Templars.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|