Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 03:33:35
Subject: The Scouring and scoring FA units
|
 |
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine
|
Had two issues come up in a recent game.
1: Fast attack choices are scoring, so I ended up winning the game with my zooming flyer within 3" of an objective. This seemed kind of janky to me, but I couldn't find any reason it's not legit. Are zooming flyers scoring in The Scouring mission?
2: FA choices still scoring, my buddy takes Necron Scarab swarms. Swarms are specifically prevented from scoring in the BRB (p123). Are FA choices that are swarms scoring in The Scouring mission?
|
Loyalty is its own reward |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 03:34:59
Subject: The Scouring and scoring FA units
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
1. Yes, they're scoring but you measure distance from the hull.
2. No. Vehicles have an exception but Swarms don't.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 03:36:53
Subject: The Scouring and scoring FA units
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
1. Definitely yes; provided that the actual hull (which does include the wings) is within 3" of the objective.
2. I would say no, because Fast Recon makes an exception for vehicles, but not for swarms.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/18 03:55:51
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 03:45:47
Subject: The Scouring and scoring FA units
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
For number 1, Flyers are in the FAST FOC slot, so they are scoring. However they do not have the "Infantry" rule, so they can't deny (contest). So if your non-infantry scoring unit and an opponents scoring troop unit are both within 3" of the objective, he gets it.
On number 2, the BRB on pg 123 is pretty specific in calling out a unit with the "swarms" USR as never being a scoring unit (nor a denial unit) .
So they may be 'Fast Units' but even in The Scouring the Swarms USR negates their becoming scoring unit.
|
Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 03:46:37
Subject: The Scouring and scoring FA units
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
1. Yes, as long as the hull not base is within 3" of the objective.
2. No, they lack the exception to normal rules that vehicles are given.
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 15:25:29
Subject: The Scouring and scoring FA units
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Considering the bottom of most flyers are more than 3" tall, is it correct that the size of the objective really matters here?
In other words, if we use say a coin and a DE Razorwing is right on top of it, the Razorwing hull will be physically more than 3" away.
However, if we used a comm array, for example, as the objective, then the Razorwing model could actually get within 3".
Is that right?
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 15:35:00
Subject: The Scouring and scoring FA units
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
Yes, you could also place the objective on a hill or rock pile about 2" - 3" high(I think a ruins would work as well, but not sure) to get it higher in the air.
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 16:32:12
Subject: The Scouring and scoring FA units
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Yep. If I'm using a flyer in the appropriate force org slot in either Big Guns or Scouring, I always make a point of placing as many objectives as I can on top of hills or on the second or third floor of ruins, where my flyer can be in 3" easily.
Or I'm careful NOT to place objectives high up when I'm not using such a flyer but my opponent is.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 17:59:26
Subject: The Scouring and scoring FA units
|
 |
Sacrifice to the Dark Gods
|
dkellyj wrote:For number 1, Flyers are in the FAST FOC slot, so they are scoring. However they do not have the "Infantry" rule, so they can't deny (contest). So if your non-infantry scoring unit and an opponents scoring troop unit are both within 3" of the objective, he gets it.
So if 2 flyers (yours and the opponents) capture an objective, do you both get the VP's since no one is contesting it?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/18 17:59:53
2.7K |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 18:06:27
Subject: The Scouring and scoring FA units
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
If there are no Denial units within 3"? Yes.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/18 18:08:01
Subject: The Scouring and scoring FA units
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
dkellyj wrote:For number 1, Flyers are in the FAST FOC slot, so they are scoring. However they do not have the "Infantry" rule, so they can't deny (contest). So if your non-infantry scoring unit and an opponents scoring troop unit are both within 3" of the objective, he gets it.
On number 2, the BRB on pg 123 is pretty specific in calling out a unit with the "swarms" USR as never being a scoring unit (nor a denial unit) .
So they may be 'Fast Units' but even in The Scouring the Swarms USR negates their becoming scoring unit.
Not all flyers are fast attack, such as necron flyers.
clively wrote:Considering the bottom of most flyers are more than 3" tall, is it correct that the size of the objective really matters here?
In other words, if we use say a coin and a DE Razorwing is right on top of it, the Razorwing hull will be physically more than 3" away.
However, if we used a comm array, for example, as the objective, then the Razorwing model could actually get within 3".
Is that right?
The size of the objective could matter, but if you look at the objective rules it does state to discuss with your opponent where to measure to and from on any objective.
|
|
 |
 |
|