Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/19 15:44:49
Subject: Summoning questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Summoning works by choosing a friendly unit anywhere on the table and it is immediately removed and enters again using the DS rules.
No targeting is required, no LOS is required, (anywhere on the table will by default include lots of blocking terrain etc).
Thus I assume no LOS is required to the unit chosen for summoning..
Question one:
Can a librarian use this power while sitting inside a vehicle with the vehicle hull being used as DS point range measurement. (like the ork KFF)
In other words, can a libby sit in a landraider or stormraven and at the start of the movement phase cast summoning at a friendly unit anywhere on the tabel and summon them to within 6´of the vehicles hull?
Question two:
What happens first, summoning or deepstrike?
If there are two units, one on the table that is being summoned and one in reserves that is about to enter via DS.
|
Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/19 18:08:08
Subject: Summoning questions
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Pyriel- wrote:Thus I assume no LOS is required to the unit chosen for summoning..
I believe you're wrong on this. Page 67 of the Rulebook, right at the top:
"Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have line of sight to his target."
Summoning doesn't state that you don't need line of sight. So "anywhere on the table" in my eyes means simply that you're not limited by range.
If you read the rest of that paragraph, it also covers the rules for such psychic powers whilst in a transport. Your thought for Q1 here is correct, although Blood Angels Shield is a better precedent than the KFF - if the power didn't require line of sight, you would measure from the hull.
For Q2, Deep Strike must happen at the start of the Movement phase. So unless Summoning specifies that you can cast it at the start of the phase (in which case, as controlling player you would choose) it must come second. Note that the new Blessings and Maledictions state they occur at the start of the phase - most old Codex powers don't.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 02:10:01
Subject: Re:Summoning questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Summoning doesn't state that you don't need line of sight. So "anywhere on the table" in my eyes means simply that you're not limited by range.
It also doesnt state that I need line of sight.
It is a special power (cant find anywhere what rulebook type of power this is) and thus codex should trump rulebook.
It wold be simple for GW to write that it targets a friendly unit etc but they didnt, they wrote simply that you "choose" a friendly unit anywhere on the table, insinuating that los is not needed since the table can be 72´ long and by default have los blocking terrain etc.
RAW as I see it say you dont need los nor do you "target" a unit for this power. P67 in the rulebook says that only powers that target need LOS and cannot be cast from a vehicle. Nowhere in the codex power description does it say a target is needed, on the contrary, you "choose" a friendly unit and do so in a way that is described as needing LOS. That´s all. Other powers in various codexes do come with the explicit descriptions that you "target" a unit etc, this does not.
I think a FAQ is needed for this one however.
|
Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 02:34:04
Subject: Summoning questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
All psychic powers require LOS unless stated otherwise (i.e. almost every Farseer power). Does Summoning state that it does not need LoS? If not, it requires LoS
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 04:34:50
Subject: Summoning questions
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
all powers, except witchfire, are prevented by from being cast on anything outside the transport, and they require LOS by default
even eldar powers that dont need LOS cant go through vehicles anymore (excluding witchfire of course)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/20 04:53:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 08:33:24
Subject: Summoning questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
easysauce wrote:all powers that require LoS, except witchfire, are prevented by from being cast on anything outside the transport, and they require LOS by default
even eldar powers that dont need LOS cant go through vehicles anymore (excluding witchfire of course)
FTFY.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 15:39:14
Subject: Re:Summoning questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
all powers, except witchfire, are prevented by from being cast on anything outside the transport, and they require LOS by default
Does that include the blood angel shield power or the SM force dome? Can those be cast from within a vehicle?
I still dont buy summoning requires LOS, it is written pretty much in the opposite way. This needs a FAQ.
|
Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 18:39:31
Subject: Summoning questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Does summoning specifically state you do not need LoS? If not then you need LoS.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 20:22:17
Subject: Re:Summoning questions
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Pyriel- wrote:Does that include the blood angel shield power or the SM force dome? Can those be cast from within a vehicle?
Shield and Force Dome don't require a target at all, though. Let's say you still required LOS for them. ... LOS to what...?
In the case of summoning - the rulebook states you need LOS to your target unless specified otherwise. Summoning itself doesn't state that you don't need LOS. Ergo there's no conflict, and no reason for the codex to need to trump the rulebook.
...I *DO* see where you're coming from, and I believe it was the intention for it to not need LOS, but intention isn't RAW. An FAQ for it would be nice.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
|