Switch Theme:

Some newb DA questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ee
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





Tallinn, Estonia

Hey Dakka, got a couple of questions about my Dark angels army which I have yet to use.

If I have 2x HQ's in termie armour and 2 DW squads and 2 FA squads can I ...
1. DW assault all terminators and deep strike both FA squads (Landspeeders)? Effectivly starting with nothing on the table
2. DW assault all termies+HQs and start with FA on the table? DW assaulting 4 squads while starting with 2 FA on the table


If I DW assault one squad with Belial can the other squad use his teleport homer to land the same turn?

When my Librarian DW assaults can he use blessings and maledictions the same turn?

Can my librarian prescience a squad of landspeeders?

Thanks guys.

3000 Points
500 Points
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






You can reserve up to half your army, in your example you have 6 units, so only 3 can go into reserves (note that the ICs count as a separate unit for this purpose even when attached)

so both 1 and 2 are illegal, at least one of your terminator units has to start on the board.

You cannot use a teleport homer unless it was on the board at the beginning of the turn (i.e. before things started arriving from reserves) so no, Belial cannot be used to guide Deathwing units coming in the DWA wave with him.

edit: In hindsight and given the recent FAQ I'm not 100% sure on psychic powers when arriving from reserves, I will leave that for someone else to answer.

yes you can prescience landspeeders

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/21 13:45:30


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

This has been debated. One side claims that DWA does not count towards reserve limits. The other side says they do. FWIW the FAQ being done up for Adepticon has decided that DWA does not count for reserve limit.

That being said, Option 1 is definitely illegal.
Option 2 may or may not, depending on what your group/TO decides or until GW FAQ it.

In regards to psychic powers and Reserves, from the BRB FAQ:

Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.


However that references rolls. The way the Reserve rolls are written, it appears you roll for all units before they actually come on board, so you could either:

A) Roll for Blessings, Roll for Reserves, Move units onto table from reserves
B) Roll for Reserves, Roll for Blessings, Move units onto table from reserves

However, I have been known to be wrong. From time to time.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/21 14:02:25


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





I agree with that HappyJew, it says reserve ROLLS not reserve movement so anything coming onto the board from reserves cannot cast or have cast on them any BRB psyhic powers.

In regards to the teleport homer, no, it is stated the teleport homer needs to be on the board beignning of the turn I think it is, if you deepstrike in you are not on the board begining of the turn

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: