| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/21 19:06:20
Subject: Daemonblades and the Ordo Malleus
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
So, I have a couple of quick questions about the daemonblades and the Ordo Malleus inquisitor. (From the Grey Knights Codex.) I've read through the rules a couple of times now, but I am still a little unclear on this.
1. When you have two daemonblades, the FAQ states you gain the benefits of the one you use in close combat. (Since you can't use both at the same time.) So what if one of them grants Feel No Pain and the other grants the Rage rule? How does that work outside of close combat? Neither state that the rule only applies in close combat. So I thought it would resolve in one of a few ways. Either A) you pick which sword is affecting you each turn, both in and out of close combat. B) Outside of close combat, you are affected by rules from both swords, while in close combat you pick only one to operate on you. Or C) Outside of close combat, you gain no benefits at all if you use two swords, even from the rules not limited to close combat. The rules don't seem to clarify this for me.
2. The Ordo Malleus Inquisitor can "replace his bolt pistol and/or chainsword with" several optional pieces of equipment. He can also "replace his carapace armor, bolt pistol, chainsword, and his frag and krak grenades for terminator armor with" a set of weapons. I saw an argument crop up over this and wondered if it had come up before. If the Inquisitor replaces his bolt pistol with, say, a daemonblade, is he still eligible to take terminator armor? One school of thought said he had to trade a weapon (the chainsword, in this case) for the daemonblade, therefore he no longer had the four pieces of equipment he needed to get the terminator armor. The other school of thought says that the book doesn't say trade, it says replace, so you replace all that qualify (and the fact that there is no chainsword to replace becomes irrelevant). It seemed to me like the first supposition was the correct one, but I was wrong earlier this week about nob bikers, so I thought I would ask about this one. Can an Ordo Malleus Inquisitor ever have both terminator armor AND a daemonblade?
3. Per the FAQ, and Inquisitor who becomes a psyker generates one psychic power. (At mastery level 1.) If you roll an 11-12 when generating your daemonblade powers (raising your mastery level to 2) do you generate a second psychic power? I thought that psykers generated one psychic power per mastery level, but I cannot seem to find that rule now that I'm looking for it. If you don't, what would be the benefit to gaining a mastery level?
Thanks for the help in advance!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/21 19:08:37
Subject: Re:Daemonblades and the Ordo Malleus
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Well, my view is that if the Blade gives you something thats always on(like being a psyker or getting FnP) you gain the ability regardless of which blade you wield.
The only things that would not transfer would be anything that applies to the blade itself.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/21 21:36:14
Subject: Re:Daemonblades and the Ordo Malleus
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
 I'd like it to work that way, of course, I'm just didn't want to claim that without doing a little research on it first.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/22 01:33:54
Subject: Re:Daemonblades and the Ordo Malleus
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
#2) If you do not have Carapace Armor, a Bolt Pistol and a Chainsword you can't trade them for terminator armor.
once you have terminator armor, you no longer have a Bolt Pistol or Chainsword to trade for a Daemonblade.
You cannot take terminator armor and a Daemonblade
|
40k: 2500 pts. All Built, Mostly Painted Pics: 1 -- 2 -- 3
BFG: 1500 pts. Mostly built, half painted Pics: 1
Blood Bowl: Complete! Pics: 1
Fantasy: Daemons, just starting Pic: 1 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/22 02:45:56
Subject: Re:Daemonblades and the Ordo Malleus
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
I kind of thought that was how it worked, just thought I would check in case the same guy made the same claim to me.
I still feel kind of weird about the first one though. I don't want anyone to try and accuse me of cheating. And I'm still mystified about the third. (Come to think of it, what happens if you get an 11-12 on BOTH blades? Does he become Mastery level 3 and get 2 additional powers?)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/22 04:36:10
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/23 18:28:03
Subject: Re:Daemonblades and the Ordo Malleus
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
I have an update on question three, having done a little more homework on it.
The line from the main book is that except where otherwise noted, a psyker generates powers equal to his mastery rating. The FAQ for the Grey Knights specifically states that "And Inquisitor with Mastery Rating 1 can exchange his..." so, as I read this, the Codex does NOT specify what to do with an Inquisitor who has Mastery Rating 2 or 3, and therefore they will generate additional psychic powers as per the big book.
I'm kind of surprised that no one has jumped in to say that Grey and I are totally wrong about the universal rules and the Daemonblades. But, hey, that's the happiest way I can see it being interpreted, so who am I to argue?
Sven's interpretation on number two makes sense, I just thought I would ask on the off chance that it was like my Nob Bikers question.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/24 00:44:33
Subject: Daemonblades and the Ordo Malleus
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Grey has the correct interpretation for the blades: both are always on.
In the BRB (can't remember the page), you get to generate a power for each master level you have. So if you are rated at a 2 you generate 2 powers. If level 3, you generate 3 powers. Of course, each power will expend one or more warp charges and there are other restrictions on use such as can't use the same power twice in the same phase.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|