Switch Theme:

Challenges and multi-assaults  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






St. Albans

Just had a game where my daemon prince was locked in combat with a unit of guardsmen with Yarrick leading them. A separate chaos lord then assaulted the same unit of guardsmen.The prince and Yarrick were in a challenge, with the prince winning and killing yarrick before he could hit back.

Which of the guardsmen can then attack the chaos lord [who was hitting at initiative 1 because of his power fist] ? We played it that all of the guardsmen could all assault the lord [even if they were in base combat with the prince] as because of the challenge the prince was separate to the combat and therefore the guardsmen were all unengaged. At the end of the assault phase I piled the prince back in. Did we play it right or should the guardsmen who were in base with the prince have stayed engaged with the prince?

Thanks in advance for the response.

 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

Sounds right. The guradsmen would have to pile in toward the lord as the prince is considered to be in it's own combat (challenge). They would still have to be within 2" or in base contact with the lord to do so.

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






There were no guardsmen in base to base contact with the prince, it was an optical illusion, the prince can only be in base to base with Yarrick until the end of the turn because of the Challenge rules, and the inverse is also true, nothing but Yarrick can achieve base to base contact with him.

So yes, you handled it correctly.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/23 22:35:42


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The guardsmen ARE in base contact with the Prince, but per the challenge rules the two participants only COUNT as being in base contact with one another. So yes, the IG which were physically in base contact with the Prince (aside from Yarrick, of course), would still attack the Lord if they were close enough (in base contact with the Lord or within 2" of the member of their unit which was in base contact with the Lord).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/24 19:03:29


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: