Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/25 11:08:40
Subject: Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Can't find if it's been noted or questioned before,
Page 86 of the Tyranid Codex lists the following option for Hive Tyrants:
Replace any set of Scything Talons with:
-Twin-linked Deathspitter X pt. cost
-Twin-linked devourers with brainleech worms X pt. cost
I only now noticed the deathspitter is singular while the devourers is plural. RAW are you then replacing a set of Talons with one TL deathspitter or a set of TL devourers?
I would chalk it up to a typo but they have had plenty of time to fix it and I didn't see an errata.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/25 11:49:22
Subject: Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Each is a singular weapon that has been twinlinked.
It is an artifact of GW writing style - they pluralise "devourers" when they dont mean to, because it sounds better for their writing style than the singular form
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/25 11:53:41
Subject: Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
I will play it RAI in that case but they should fix it.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/25 13:00:41
Subject: Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Why does it matter? You still can't get more than 2 "sets" of weapons.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/25 21:57:57
Subject: Re:Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
RAI is intended its clear the mean 1 twin-linked devourer but for the heck of it lets assume they meant you get more then 1 devourer. How many? They don't tell you how many devourers in the option, is it a pair of devourers (as is common language when they mean two separate but identical weapons) or do they mean 3 or 4?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/25 22:22:59
Subject: Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Which wouldntmatter, as he can still only fire two weapons...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/25 23:18:44
Subject: Re:Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
not in a single shooting attack, but overall it does. If we 1st assume they meant a 2 twin linked devourers then on turn 1 I could fire both(no mechanicly different then if I bought 1 twin-linked devourer twice) then turn 2 I could fire the twin linked Deathspitter and one twin linked devourer (mechanically very different because no I am firing a 'free' weapon.)
So yeah, RAI its clear. You get 1 devourer. RAW they don;t tell you that you can take 2 or more at that price so you can't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/26 00:15:16
Subject: Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
RAW wording indicates you are replacing a set with a set.
If I said 'replace a set(of two) daggers with swords' the implied and obvious meaning is a set of two swords.
Like I said, I'll play RAI though.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/26 03:36:26
Subject: Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
you twin link the weapon with another of itself, hence the pluralization,
lots of stuff have twin linked xxxx's
twin linked heavy bolters are not heavy 6 rerolling wounds, and RAW is quite clear on these weapons
having twin linked xxxx's
is not the same as having two twin linked XXXX's
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/26 04:47:49
Subject: Re:Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Different question about HT biomorph selections, just to be sure.
One person in the group I play with insists that once you swap-out a piece of gear, you cannot then swap that piece out for something else but I haven't found anything to back his claim.
In this case I wanted two devourers on my HT so I swapped out it's BS and Lash Whip for another set of Scything Talons and then swapped both sets out for two Devourers. It does say "exchange any set of Scything Talons for..." (emphasis mine)
Is there something I have missed here?
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/26 04:59:12
Subject: Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Well he is kind of right, once you swap-out a piece of gear, you cannot then swap that same piece you just swapped out for something else, as you no longer have that particular piece, but If you have 2 sets of Scything Talons you can trade them both out with that wording. Most of the time, when a model has a single bolt pistol, it says trade the bolt pistol for: Then it gives a list of options. But you can onnly take one thing in that case because you only have one Bolt Pistol to trade out.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/26 05:00:25
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/26 05:12:08
Subject: Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
DeathReaper wrote:Well he is kind of right, once you swap-out a piece of gear, you cannot then swap that same piece you just swapped out for something else, as you no longer have that particular piece, but If you have 2 sets of Scything Talons you can trade them both out with that wording.
Most of the time, when a model has a single bolt pistol, it says trade the bolt pistol for: Then it gives a list of options. But you can onnly take one thing in that case because you only have one Bolt Pistol to trade out.
I agree 100%. Going to go play with him tomorrow so I just want to be sure I hadn't missed anything. Automatically Appended Next Post: BTW Deathreaper, was wondering, is that was your model in your avatar pic? If so, nice paint job!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/26 05:16:30
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/26 11:13:42
Subject: Hive Tyrant question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Te question is, since a Tyrant starts with a BS/LW and a set of ScyTals, can you swap the BS/LW for a set of ScyTals and then swap both sets of ScyTals for Devs. Yes, you can. Reference Tyranid Warriors for the wording that would deny this (which isn't present on the Tyrant).
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|