Switch Theme:

half of infantry platoon squad in reserves.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




So my friend is going to be running an IG army pretty soon and part of his strategy is to hold the special weapons squad from his platoon in reserves, embarked on a vendetta. The only thing I can find on the subject is stating that when a platoon makes a reserve roll, it bring in the entire platoon, but nowhere can I find that it says you can hold part of a platoon in reserves, or even if the whole platoon is in reserves, that they can start embarked on a non-dedicated transport.

Is this legal, am I missing something somewhere, or is this another murky subject?

'Ardest Orks 1000pts-1500.
1V1 10-2-1 - - - - - - -
1V1V1 2-0-0 -

Talio Squad (1st/2nd/10th companies
1V1 2-0-1
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Legal. The FAQ clarifies that usually one reserve roll brings in the whole platoon, unless they are embarked on a transport
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

This is legal. If he were to hold more of the platoon in reserves, all the components would come in on one roll. But there's no reason that the entire platoon would have to be in reserve, or none at all.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Thanks for clearing that up. I was just wondering because for some reason it just didn't sound right. But another question now, Say the whole platoon starts in reserves, with the spec weapons squad embarked on the vendetta, What happens with reserve rolls, does the vendetta embarked spec squad come in if the platoon comes in before the vendetta, or is it counted entirely separate from the rest of the platoon for purposes of reserve rolls?

'Ardest Orks 1000pts-1500.
1V1 10-2-1 - - - - - - -
1V1V1 2-0-0 -

Talio Squad (1st/2nd/10th companies
1V1 2-0-1
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Per the IG FAQ (link in my sig) any part of the platoon embarked on a non-dedicated transport, are separate from the platoon when rolling for reserves.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: