Played a guy today had some interesting views on how Reserves work. Long
OP, bear with me, because it was very confusing and complicated.
Here's his Vanilla Marine list (roughly):
HQ:
Chaplain on Bike
Khan on Bike
Honour Guard on Bikes
Troops:
Scout Snipers, combat squadded
Scout Squad, combat squadded
Scout Squad (5 man)
Scout Squad on Bikes
Tac Squad on Bikes (counts for Troop b/c of Khan)
Tac Squad on Bikes (counts for Troop b/c of Khan)
Fast:
Land Speeder Storm
Land Speeder Storm
Land Speeder Storm
StormTalon
StormTalon
StormTalon
------------------------------------------------
I deployed first. It's irrelevant what my list was. He deployed the Sniper Scouts in two units, and both of the
Tac Squads on Bikes. The
ST were escorting the Speeders, which each had a scout squad embarked; the
HQs were all together in one squad. (This, to my count, was 4 of his 14 units, since Flyers don't count toward the total). I looked at his reserve pile, did a quick count and told him he needed three more units down. He did not like this at all. I showed him the "Reserves" rules that said he could only have half of his units in reserve.
He said that the Chaplain, Khan, and Honour Guard count as one unit, since they were in Reserve together. I showed him the sentence that said
ICs counted as their own unit for reserve counting.
He said that since the Scouts were inside the Speeders, it counted as one unit. I showed him the sentence about this only working with Dedicated Transports. [It also works, via the
BRB FAQ, on any vehicle that must start in reserve (ie. Flyer that is also a Transport.)]
He said that units that are Escorted by the
ST don't count at all, since the
ST must start in Reserve, and therefore the unit it is Escorting must also start in Reserve. I laughed out loud

(unfortunately, I rudely couldn't contain my incredulous-ness at the ridiculous-ocity) (some new words for ya) and we read the
WD rules, which said nothing of the sort.
This, essentially, ruined his strategy, which was to have EVERYthing outflank. He called his friend, who "has been playing way longer than either of us," and his friend and I agreed that I was correctly stating the rules.
My opponent told me that he was going to do some research, and get back to me. We played three turns, and then he quit (Scouring, I had 6 points to his four-soon-to-be-0).
Soooooo, after that long
OP, I'd like to hear some Dakka opinions! Please correct me if I am wrong, or support my arguments. Cheers!