Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/28 14:50:58
Subject: Coaxial versus Gets Hot! query.
|
 |
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker
|
Heya.
A question regarding LasPlas Razorbacks and an overheated Plasma Gun result. Does the destroyed weapon result remove one Plasma Gun (ie reverting the TL feature to 1 gun without the twin), does it remove both Plasma Guns or the whole turret including the Lascannon?
This is for Vanilla Marines.
Also, I noticed everyone in my club, during 5th ed, was removing ANY Plasma gun operator with any result of 1, regardless of dice, with no shots finally fired, regardless of rolls.
One day I intervened as follows: A Marine rolled to hit with rapid fire Plasma, rolled a 1 and a hit, and the player declared "ok he's dead then' and went to take away the model so I'm like "NO WAY: ONE hits, THEN the gun explodes". Everybody does it that way now. My intervention was legal, wasn't it? Or did I cause a mass rule breaking?
Thanks.
|
Chrome Novas Angels:Aurora (The Ascension Angels) Angels:Oblivion (Omenwing, Phantomwing) Sons of Molossia Wildrunners (101st LocBat /H-K) Burnun Skyze Eradication Angels Neutral Bay (Echoworld) Exodites.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/28 14:54:48
Subject: Coaxial versus Gets Hot! query.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Re-read Gets Hot in regards to vehicles. If the vehicle suffers a Weapon Destroyed result, you would randomize between the lascannon and the twin-linked plasma gun (and storm bolter/ hk missile if taken). If you fire a Rapid Fire Gets Hot weapon and one of the rolls hits you still hit with the 1 shot even if the other result kills the gunner.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/28 14:57:18
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/28 15:51:30
Subject: Coaxial versus Gets Hot! query.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
For the final one - yes, if you roll a hit and a "1", then the gunner has suffered a wound AND a shot has hit
You also get armour saves from Gets Hot!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/28 16:13:12
Subject: Coaxial versus Gets Hot! query.
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
twin linked weapons are still just one weapon,
a single weap destroyed destroys the "twin linked XXX" entirely
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/28 17:52:02
Subject: Re:Coaxial versus Gets Hot! query.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Umm, i don't know about 5th ed. But that is not even close to right in 6th...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/28 17:57:38
Subject: Coaxial versus Gets Hot! query.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
What is incorrect? Can you be more precise?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/28 17:57:58
Subject: Re:Coaxial versus Gets Hot! query.
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
For a regular dude, any roll of a 1 to hit causes a wound to the wielder. Which he gets normal saves against(and FnP if he has it)
For a vehicle, if you roll a 1 to hit, you roll a further D6. On a 4+ the vehicle suffers a hull point loss.
Also, if you have a reroll the 1 only counts if its there after the reroll. if you roll a 1 and then reroll it to be a hit the gets hot is not suffered.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/28 18:59:46
Subject: Re:Coaxial versus Gets Hot! query.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yeah,basically what Grey Templar was saying.
Being in rapid fire range got you two shots but because the weapon is twin linked it also got a re-roll on each of those shots. If you roll a 1 on both the shot and the re-roll, because your weapon is on a vehicle, you have to roll again and only on a 1-3 do bad things happen. In this case the bad things is glancing hit so theonlyway a weapon can be destroyed is if you reduce the Razorback to zero HP and wreck it.
But yes,it is possible to hit with one shot and wreck because of the other. Its also important to note if you wreck before rolling dice for any other weapons the vehicle is firing you still get those shots as well!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/28 19:39:22
Subject: Coaxial versus Gets Hot! query.
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
over heat on vehicles causes a glancing hit,
there is no 4+ roll required Automatically Appended Next Post: DJGietzen wrote:Umm, i don't know about 5th ed. But that is not even close to right in 6th...
twin linked weapons, are a single weapon, that gets to rerol hits,
its not TWO weapons, if a twin linked weapon is destroyed, its gone, it does not turn from a TL plasma gun into a plasma gun for example
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/28 19:43:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/28 20:13:46
Subject: Coaxial versus Gets Hot! query.
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
easysauce wrote:over heat on vehicles causes a glancing hit, there is no 4+ roll required
if a vehicle mounted weapon gets hot, you roll a further d6 on a 1,2 or 3 the vehicle suffers a glancing hit as per page 37, middle column, bottom of the first paragraph.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/28 20:17:56
Subject: Coaxial versus Gets Hot! query.
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
ill double check the BRB on the glancing hit,
but 100% if you lose a twin linked weapon, you lose the weapon,
it does not become a normal version of itself (iE destroyed TL plasma does not become aregular plasma gun)
rolling a 1 and a hit when rapid fireing results in a gets hot and a normal hit to be resolved, both happen as normal,
|
|
|
 |
 |
|