Switch Theme:

Astropath in Allied Detachment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

Does the Astropath's global reserve roll lowering capability extend to/from allied detachments?

My inclination is to say no but I'd like to bounce it off you guys.

Cheers!

DEATH TO THE FALSE EMPEROR!
23,000pts Black Legion including all cults
3500pts Bugs
4000pts Aurora Chapter
1850pts Traitor Guard
Check out My Store Thunder Games and Gifts!


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Answered in the Rulebook FAQ. Link to all FAQs in my sig.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

This is a bit of a tricky and counter-intuitive one, logg.

The allied Astropath DOES affect the Reserves rolls of your primary detachment, but not the rolls of his own.

The way it's worded now, any modifiers (from either side) to Reserve rolls apply only to the primary detachment, regardless of what side they come from. Neither the primary nor allied detachment can apply Reserve roll modifiers to the allied detachment.

In any event, hope this helps, and good luck!

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

Hrmm thats quite odd.

Thanks for the response!

I just read the FAQ for the main rules and the Imp Guard and couldn't see anything.

You don't happen to have a page or section ref do you?



Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Jimsolo wrote:

The way it's worded now, any modifiers (from either side) to Reserve rolls apply only to the primary detachment, regardless of what side they come from. Neither the primary nor allied detachment can apply Reserve roll modifiers to the allied detachment.


So if I'm reading this correctly the same will go for the Master of the Fleet?

If my opponent has fliers in their secondary detachment or other units that arrive from reserve the MOF does not affect them? Only the units from the primary detachment?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/01 21:54:47


DEATH TO THE FALSE EMPEROR!
23,000pts Black Legion including all cults
3500pts Bugs
4000pts Aurora Chapter
1850pts Traitor Guard
Check out My Store Thunder Games and Gifts!


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 logg_frogg wrote:
Hrmm thats quite odd.

Thanks for the response!

I just read the FAQ for the main rules and the Imp Guard and couldn't see anything.

You don't happen to have a page or section ref do you?



Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Jimsolo wrote:

The way it's worded now, any modifiers (from either side) to Reserve rolls apply only to the primary detachment, regardless of what side they come from. Neither the primary nor allied detachment can apply Reserve roll modifiers to the allied detachment.


So if I'm reading this correctly the same will go for the Master of the Fleet?

If my opponent has fliers in their secondary detachment or other units that arrive from reserve the MOF does not affect them? Only the units from the primary detachment?


Page 8 of the Rulebook FAQ:

Q: Do modifiers that apply to such things as Reserve rolls,
apply to units from an allied detachment? (p124)
A: No.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

Thanks Happyjew that makes things clear!

Does this also apply to re-rolls given by Comms Relay? Or is it specific to modifiers and not re-rerolls.


DEATH TO THE FALSE EMPEROR!
23,000pts Black Legion including all cults
3500pts Bugs
4000pts Aurora Chapter
1850pts Traitor Guard
Check out My Store Thunder Games and Gifts!


 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






A re-roll isn't a modifier, modifiers (in the context of dice rolls) are defined by the rules very clearly and re-rolls are a different thing entirely.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

The Master of the Fleet will affect your opponent's rolls regardless of what detachment the unit is in. (And no matter what detachment he is rolling for.) It only specifies allied detachments. Even if your opponent has detachments allied to one another, they are still 'enemy' to you, rather than 'allied.'

And while I for one agree with Drunkspleen that a re-roll isn't a modifier, I seem to recall a brief but heated argument over that very distinction a week or so ago. Just a heads up in case you run into it too.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: