Switch Theme:

Chaos Daemons Icons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Looking through the new book, it appears that the Icons don't need to be on the table at the start of the turn in order to work. Am I missing something, or is this a change in mechanics?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The book is written to affect models that have been deployed.

Units in reserve have not been deployed.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

I'm talking about bringing on a unit with an icon via Deep Strike, then using the icon (and potentially an instrument as well) to deep strike a second unit in the same turn without scatter. Previous codexes had a line that the item had to be on the table at the start of the turn in order to work, but I can't find a line like that.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






You appear to be right, I wouldn't be shocked if it gets FAQ'd though, seems a bit strange that they would give that advantage to such a deep strike heavy force of all things.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





It has to be on the board at the beginning of the movement phase. Check your BRB rules.
   
Made in be
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 MasterSlowPoke wrote:
Previous codexes had a line that the item had to be on the table at the start of the turn in order to work, but I can't find a line like that.

Isn't that in the main rule book, not the Codex?
Would look it up but I'm away from my books.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






 grendel083 wrote:
 MasterSlowPoke wrote:
Previous codexes had a line that the item had to be on the table at the start of the turn in order to work, but I can't find a line like that.

Isn't that in the main rule book, not the Codex?
Would look it up but I'm away from my books.


I checked my Dark Angels codex as it was the closest thing to hand and it specifically says Teleport Homers and Locator Beacons have to be on the table to start the turn, suggesting to me it's not something built into the 6th edition rules.

I can't imagine where in the Core Rules there would be a clause saying you can't benefit from wargear that isn't on the table when the turn starts, so I don't even really know where to start looking for the purported rule there.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch





As written, the Icon of Chaos does not need to be on the table at the beginning of the turn in order to function. It does not reference any USR or existing teleport homer rules. I suspect this will get a FAQ.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Azrell wrote:
It has to be on the board at the beginning of the movement phase. Check your BRB rules.

Incorrect, there is no such stipulation about Chaos Icons in the rulebook. If you disagree then please provide rules as required byt he tenets of this forum.

Yes, if you deepstrike an icon any further units deepstriing that turn can use the icon.
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Here is the wording on the icon

"When determining the assault result, add one to your total if there are one or more friendly units with an Icon of Chaos locked in that combat."

"In Addition, if the first model from a friendly unit arriving by deep strike is placedwithin 6" of at least one model with an Icon of Chaos, the following rules apply:

- If the unit attempting to deep strike and the unit with the Icon of Chaos have the same daemonic alignment ( Daemon of X special rule) then the unit attempting to Deep strike does not scatter.

- If the unit attempting to Deep strike and the unit with the Icon of Chaos have different Daemonic alignments, but are entirely composed of models with the daemon special rule, then the unit attempting to Deep strike scatters d6", rather the usual amount.

- If etither the unit attempting to deepstrike or the unit with the Icon of chaos are not entirely composed of models with the daemon special rule, the icon of chaos has no additional effect.


Now the instrument of chaos works different, to make it short, with the instrument if it deep strikes first in and succesfully I believe it can bring in another unit in reserve that has yet to deepstrike without scatter.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also, for the icon to work the unit needs to be in reserve and has not had a reserve roll made for it yet.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/02 16:18:42


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




zephel wrote:
Also, for the icon to work the unit needs to be in reserve and has not had a reserve roll made for it yet.
Well, in that case, the reserve roll has already been made for subsequently arriving units in the same turn, so you cannot chain deep-strike. Curious that they'd inverse the reasoning on it, but the effect should be the same.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Pyrian wrote:
zephel wrote:
Also, for the icon to work the unit needs to be in reserve and has not had a reserve roll made for it yet.
Well, in that case, the reserve roll has already been made for subsequently arriving units in the same turn, so you cannot chain deep-strike. Curious that they'd inverse the reasoning on it, but the effect should be the same.


He's got it the wrong way around, that restriction isn't on the icon, it's on the instrument.

It seems a strange choice, all it does is force you to roll for instrument units before your other stuff really.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: