Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/02 20:56:49
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
|
Looking at p.94 of the new Daemon's Codex, I'm a little confused regarding this:
Heralds of Chaos: Each primary detachement in your army may include 4 heralds of chaos, chosen in any combination from the following models: [...]
If I field Daemons as allies, can I field a single herald as the HQ choice, or is this rule preventing any daemon heralds from being played outside of a daemon army.
I hope this question makes sense.
Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/02 20:58:23
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Due to the wording you posted, in a primary detachment, each HQ slot allows 2 Heralds. In an allied detachment, you can only take 1 Herald.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/02 21:02:51
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
|
It's 4 for 1 slot, but it's not the part I'm interested in.
What has me confused is ' Is this the only way to buy heralds, or can you field them like another HQ ( like a greater daemon ) '
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/02 21:33:38
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
Harold's are a legal HQ choice per their listing in the HQ section.
The part you quoted is a rule allowing multiple heralds to be used as 1 HQ slot in primary detachments. It doesnt stop the herald from being a HQ choice for allies, only multiple heralds from being a single HQ slot.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 00:45:02
Subject: Re:Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
BarBoBot wrote:Harold's are a legal HQ choice per their listing in the HQ section.
Harolds?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/03 00:47:03
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 00:55:48
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Could you make a case, given the way it's worded, for taking Allied Daemons but including 4 heralds as one of the HQ choices from your main force?: "Each primary detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos" edit: I suppose this once again boils down to GW's poor definition of Army?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/03 00:57:09
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 00:56:57
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Drunkspleen wrote:Could you make a case, given the way it's worded, for taking Allied Daemons but including 4 heralds as one of the HQ choices from your main force?:
"Each primary detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos"
No, as your Primary detachment is not picked from the Daemons Codex.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 01:19:59
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
As it's written Allied detachments may not take Heralds in the same way as you cannot take a Servitor Squad without a Techmarine. Of course, I'm pretty sure only the 4 for 1 option is supposed to be disallowed, but as written Allied Heralds are off the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 01:43:51
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Sioux Falls, SD
|
A couple edits to what people have said:
First, When Deamons are your PRIMARY army, you can take up to 4 of them, but doing so only uses ONE HQ slot (you can still fill the other with anything EXCEPT Heralds). The issue here is that you may not take any other heralds if you do this (since it says UP TO 4) and does not say any more than that; nor does it say that they may take up to 8 with 4 counting as one choice.
Justification: Since it says that you may take UP TO 4 heralds, it does not say that you may take them in other special ways.
Second: Since it states that the primary MAY include up X many, and there are no direct references to being taken as allies, then they are treated as normal HQs and they each take a slot
Justification: Base rules are ALWAYS in effect UNLESS a specific rule contradicts it. Since nothing says that they CANNOT be take the normal way, then they still can - since the base way is that each entry choice is one slot.
So: As allies, you may take up to ONE herald per HQ slot that you can dedicate to them (so only ONE). You may NOT take more than one.
|
Raver Tau: Just Started; Record (WLD): 0-0-0
 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 01:47:33
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Amaraxis wrote:A couple edits to what people have said:
First, When Deamons are your PRIMARY army, you can take up to 4 of them, but doing so only uses ONE HQ slot (you can still fill the other with anything EXCEPT Heralds). The issue here is that you may not take any other heralds if you do this (since it says UP TO 4) and does not say any more than that; nor does it say that they may take up to 8 with 4 counting as one choice.
Justification: Since it says that you may take UP TO 4 heralds, it does not say that you may take them in other special ways.
Second: Since it states that the primary MAY include up X many, and there are no direct references to being taken as allies, then they are treated as normal HQs and they each take a slot
Justification: Base rules are ALWAYS in effect UNLESS a specific rule contradicts it. Since nothing says that they CANNOT be take the normal way, then they still can - since the base way is that each entry choice is one slot.
So: As allies, you may take up to ONE herald per HQ slot that you can dedicate to them (so only ONE). You may NOT take more than one.
To be fair, I don't have the codex and was going off a combination of what was posted and the old codex (where one HQ slot = 2 Heralds).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 02:08:27
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Sioux Falls, SD
|
Happyjew wrote:
To be fair, I don't have the codex and was going off a combination of what was posted and the old codex (where one HQ slot = 2 Heralds).
I wasn't picking on it - and honestly I reread all the rules for them and the core like 5 more times just to make sure I had them all worded properly...I wasn't picking - just stating interpretation and the backing my ruling with reason...
|
Raver Tau: Just Started; Record (WLD): 0-0-0
 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 07:57:45
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
Amaraxis wrote:
So: As allies, you may take up to ONE herald per HQ slot that you can dedicate to them (so only ONE). You may NOT take more than one.
Exactly. Note that even in a Daemon Primary Detachment that the Masque and Blue Scribes are not counted in the special rule that allows multiple Heralds per HQ slot. This may be a mistake, but at present they still take a full HQ slot for each.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 11:31:01
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
They also stand apart from all the "Herald" things as they are not Independent Characters.
I personally think it's not a mistake for that reason, either way, until a FAQ says otherwise the way to play it is very clear.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 12:16:29
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia
|
I'm looking at my codex now, and by my reading there is no way to take heralds in an allied detachment.
The wording is very clear.
|
If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it. item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 18:20:28
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Sioux Falls, SD
|
marv335 wrote:I'm looking at my codex now, and by my reading there is no way to take heralds in an allied detachment.
The wording is very clear.
Like I said earlier - and read your BRB, They are STILL NORMAL HQs....the optional rule in the CDC is a special circumstance that is in addition to the ones in the BRB since it does not say anywhere that they cannot be bought per normal rules...hence - 1 Herald as an ally
|
Raver Tau: Just Started; Record (WLD): 0-0-0
 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 22:01:30
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above. Absolutely nothing overrides you are ability to take a single herald as an HQ choice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/03 23:04:02
Subject: Heralds and Allies
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Amaraxis wrote: marv335 wrote:I'm looking at my codex now, and by my reading there is no way to take heralds in an allied detachment.
The wording is very clear.
Like I said earlier - and read your BRB, They are STILL NORMAL HQs....the optional rule in the CDC is a special circumstance that is in addition to the ones in the BRB since it does not say anywhere that they cannot be bought per normal rules...hence - 1 Herald as an ally
It's worded exactly the same way as a Dark Angels Techmarine or Command Squad. Can I take a Command Squad as my only HQ in Dark Angels army?
|
|
 |
 |
|