Switch Theme:

Everliving Placement  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant



Toronto, Ontario

This came up in a game I played earlier this week and we didn't know how to play it. My opponent had a Destroyer Lord, the one with the medium base(dreadnought base) beneath it in combat with a group of my harlequins, I killed his squad, Destroyer Lord included and then spread out to try and block the everliving from activating on his lord. This is where we hit a snag, he couldn't place his entire model within the 3 inches that everliving gives you to resurrect in without being within 1 inch of one of my models. But he could place his model so that part of the base was within that 3 inch space. When everliving activates do you need to fit 100% of the models base within those 3 inches, the same way movement/disembarking is now in 6th edition? Or is it like 5th edition disembarking where as long as part of the model is in 3 inches you can get back up?

10000
4000
7000
Dwarves: 4000 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Depends on wording. If the base has to be within 3" then only part of the base has to be within 3". If the base has to be wholly within 3" the whole base has to be within 3".

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




It's just 3" away from the counter, not within 3" of the counter. So even if a tiny fraction of the base is 3" away from the counter, you can roll for RP.

Edit: Mannahnin has it correct.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/06 21:51:59


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

'Within three inches", which is the rule, just means that any part of the base must be within 3" of the marker.

If the rule said "wholly within" or "completely within" three inches, then it'd be much harder to place the model. But that's not what it says.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





What I do, roll first, argue after.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Sounds like the RP roll was good to go. As alluded to above, "within" is explicitly defined in the rulebook as being partly within, not completely - where this is different, it will specify or use the wording "wholly within" instead.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: