Switch Theme:

A dfft Fateweaver question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Since there is no mention in the rule, I think the answer is "Yes," but I wanted some other opinions.

Can Fateweaver's re-roll be used when he is in Reserves?

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch




Left Coast

Fateweaver is all knowing, therefore the answer is yes. Anyone who says no is obviously not as all knowing as Fatewaver.

   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Nope, no can do. The ability is tied to the Staff of Tomorrow, Fateweaver's artefact - like any other items, wargear or even abilities held by a model it must be "in play" (in other words, on the board) to be used, unless its rules specify it takes effect beyond this.
I couldn't find any examples in the Daemons book, but in Codex Space Marines, a good example is Vulkan's switch for Combat Tactics - it states that the changes therein take effect if he is "included in your army".

The Staff of Tomorrow has no such statement, so Fateweaver must be on the board for you to use it. As further precedent, Corbulo in Codex Blood Angels has a very similar ability tied to him as a model, and this bears this FAQ:
"Q: Can Corbulo’s re- roll from the Far Seeing Eye be used to affect
the result of roll- offs for deployment zones and first turn? (p49)
A: No."

Fateweaver is all knowing, therefore the answer is yes. Anyone who says no is obviously not as all knowing as Fatewaver.

Well, ain't that cute. BUT IT'S WRONG!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2yqUpypQwGs

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/08 01:07:10


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS

 Super Ready wrote:
Nope, no can do. The ability is tied to the Staff of Tomorrow, Fateweaver's artefact - like any other items, wargear or even abilities held by a model it must be "in play" (in other words, on the board) to be used, unless its rules specify it takes effect beyond this.
I couldn't find any examples in the Daemons book, but in Codex Space Marines, a good example is Vulkan's switch for Combat Tactics - it states that the changes therein take effect if he is "included in your army".

The Staff of Tomorrow has no such statement, so Fateweaver must be on the board for you to use it. As further precedent, Corbulo in Codex Blood Angels has a very similar ability tied to him as a model, and this bears this FAQ:
"Q: Can Corbulo’s re- roll from the Far Seeing Eye be used to affect
the result of roll- offs for deployment zones and first turn? (p49)
A: No."

Fateweaver is all knowing, therefore the answer is yes. Anyone who says no is obviously not as all knowing as Fatewaver.

Well, ain't that cute. BUT IT'S WRONG!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2yqUpypQwGs



Heldrake is allowed to make IWND roll while off the board as nothing prevents this. It happens at the end of the turn with no qualifier of being on the board.

TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Well put, ok - perhaps not abilities or other USRs then. I still say that the Staff of Tomorrow is an extra piece of kit and as such needs specific permission, but I must confess - I'm having trouble finding the rule that prohibits you from using special rules while off the board. If it's not there, it would make sense that Corbulo's would then have to be FAQed. Anyone?

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

 Super Ready wrote:
Well put, ok - perhaps not abilities or other USRs then. I still say that the Staff of Tomorrow is an extra piece of kit and as such needs specific permission, but I must confess - I'm having trouble finding the rule that prohibits you from using special rules while off the board. If it's not there, it would make sense that Corbulo's would then have to be FAQed. Anyone?


Runes of Warding work in reserve too...

Iranna.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: