Switch Theme:

Assaulting into an ongoing Assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Irradiated Baal Scavanger



Canada

Forgive me if this is a repost. Couldn't find another post on the topic.

Here is my question, lets say my guys are locked in combat with Grotts, and my opponent wants to send in some more Orcs into the battle. If the Grotts are between my guys and the Orcs, do the Orcs have to go around or just get within 2" of a model locked in combat?

For example:

OOOOOO Orcs in a line

GGGGGG Grotts suround my guys
MMMMG My guys

If the Orcs have to go around, that seriously kills their assault distance.
If they only have to get to the Grotts that would seriously be awesome for assault distance.

Anyways, we got confused while reading the rules.
Anyone have a clarification?
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control






Cincinnati, Ohio

If your charging, you have to get at least one model in base-to-base contact. After your charge get in, then you can be within 2 inches of base-to-base contact. The important part is that you get at least one model in base to base for you to actually be in the assault initially, then you can move the ork wherever during your pile-in. I think thats how it is IIRC.

Blood Ravens 2nd Company (C:SM)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




This seems to be a common misunderstanding, or misreading, of the 2" engaged rule. It has no effect on therequirement to have at least one mdoel *from your unit* in base to base wit hthe enemy unit, otherwise you cannot be in assault.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





The "initial charger" MUST get into base-to-base contact with a model from the unit he is charging, so yes he has to go around the grots, and yes that greatly increases his charge distance.

This is where you sometimes get the term "bubble wrapping" where you'll use an unimportant and inexpensive unit to "wrap" around a more important one making it impossible to charge them.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: