Switch Theme:

Warp quake  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I have a question about warp quake and its interaction with drop pods. When does warp quake happen? RaW give me the impression that after his guys are out of the drop pod and finished with their deployment since it says any unit deploying by deep strike within 12 inches of the squad. But I think the argument could be made that only the drop podia deploying from deep strike and this the squad inside could be within the WQ bubble since they're deploying from the pod and not from deep strike.

Thanks for your help!
Ex
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Models arriving in a pod are also arriving by Deep Strike. So if they disembark into the warp bubble range, that would also trigger it, to my understanding.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







 Mannahnin wrote:
Models arriving in a pod are also arriving by Deep Strike. So if they disembark into the warp bubble range, that would also trigger it, to my understanding.


Not sure if this is entirely accurate. Technically, the drop pod is the unit deploying via deepstrike. The unit inside is just required to disembark, but are they truly considered to have deployed via deepstrike for purposes of Warp Quake?
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Has the unit come to the table via DS? Yes, they have.

Here's a question from the GK FAQ that sheds some light on the situation:
Q: Does a squad disembarking from a Drop Pod, or Mycetic Spore, count as arriving from reserve for Inquisitor Coteaz's I've Been Expecting You special rule?
A: Yes, this means that Inquisitor Coteaz and his unit will be able to fire once at each unit.

Units disembarking from a vehicle that arrived from reserve also count as arriving from reserve. How did the unit arrive from reserve? Via Deep Strike, just like the vehicle.

So that unit coming out of the Drop Pod has to stay 12" away from GKSS/GKI, or else Mishap!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/09 19:07:46


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Is he allowed to choose which arms of the drop pod open up? Say if all the arms opened one would be within the 12 inches can he choose not to open that arm?
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The doors are ignored. For measuring to and from vehicles you measure to the hull.

If you treat the doors as hull, it creates all kinds of problems, making Drop Pods these enormous obstacles which block half the table off, and the doors block everyone's movement. So everyone ignores the doors for all purposes except LOS.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







Elric Greywolf wrote:
Has the unit come to the table via DS? Yes, they have.

Here's a question from the GK FAQ that sheds some light on the situation:
Q: Does a squad disembarking from a Drop Pod, or Mycetic Spore, count as arriving from reserve for Inquisitor Coteaz's I've Been Expecting You special rule?
A: Yes, this means that Inquisitor Coteaz and his unit will be able to fire once at each unit.

Units disembarking from a vehicle that arrived from reserve also count as arriving from reserve. How did the unit arrive from reserve? Via Deep Strike, just like the vehicle.

So that unit coming out of the Drop Pod has to stay 12" away from GKSS/GKI, or else Mishap!


There is no questioning the unit was in reserves, but I'm just not so sure the unit inside the transport is counted as deepstriking. The transport arrived via deepstrike, but the unit inside arrived via disembarking the transport, and even follow the same rules as disembarking from a regular transport (can move up to 6" from the hull, can shoot or run, but can't charge).

For example, you have to declare the unit inside is in reserves and is embarked on the drop pod, and then declare drop pod is arriving via Deepstrike Reserve. Both units are in reserve because they aren't on the board at the beginning of the game, but you only scatter the drop pod when it performs the deepstrike. Also something to consider, the unit inside doesn't have to have deepstrike, so how can it be considered deploying via deepstrike when it doesn't have the USR?

By the same token, with the forgeworld dreadnaught drop pod that is an assault vehicle (can't remember the name), the dreadnaught would not be able to charge if the unit inside is considered deepstriking.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 ClassicCarraway wrote:


Q: Does a squad disembarking from a Drop Pod, or Mycetic Spore, count as arriving from reserve for Inquisitor Coteaz's I've Been Expecting You special rule?
A: Yes, this means that Inquisitor Coteaz and his unit will be able to fire once at each unit.

For example, you have to declare the unit inside is in reserves and is embarked on the drop pod, and then declare drop pod is arriving via Deepstrike Reserve. Both units are in reserve because they aren't on the board at the beginning of the game, but you only scatter the drop pod when it performs the deepstrike. Also something to consider, the unit inside doesn't have to have deepstrike, so how can it be considered deploying via deepstrike when it doesn't have the USR?

By the same token, with the forgeworld dreadnaught drop pod that is an assault vehicle (can't remember the name), the dreadnaught would not be able to charge if the unit inside is considered deepstriking.


Models that are in a vehicle are still "on the table." Psykers can cast powers on the embarked vehicle, areas of effect are still in play from the hull. How did the unit arrive on the table? Deep Strike. If the unit came in from reserve using the Deep Strike rule (which it did), and ends up within 12" of the GKSS, then it takes a mishap. Disembarking and arriving from reserve are two different things--the unit can do both of them in the same movement phase. But if it has arrived from reserve (which it has), then it Mishaps.

I don't know about the assault drop pod, but NOTHING can assault after arriving from reserves. Not Outflankers, not Deep Strikers, not normal walking on from player's board edge. Unless there's a very special, brand-new 6th ed rule/errata for that drop pod, then you're right, the Dread can't assault.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

 ClassicCarraway wrote:
There is no questioning the unit was in reserves, but I'm just not so sure the unit inside the transport is counted as deepstriking.

Of course they do. Read the Deep Strike rules. A unit arriving in a Deep Striking transport has always counted as Deep Striking itself. This hasn't changed in at least four editions.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Exidur wrote:I have a question about warp quake and its interaction with drop pods. When does warp quake happen? RaW give me the impression that after his guys are out of the drop pod and finished with their deployment since it says any unit deploying by deep strike within 12 inches of the squad. But I think the argument could be made that only the drop podia deploying from deep strike and this the squad inside could be within the WQ bubble since they're deploying from the pod and not from deep strike.

Thanks for your help!
Ex


I don't have a GK codex, it depends on the wording of Warp Quake. A unit disembarking from a transport that arrived via deep strike also counts as having arrived via deep strike. Therefore if the wording of Warp Quake says "A unit that arrived via deep strike..." it would still affect that unit, but if it says "A unit deep striking..." Warp Quake wouldn't work on them, as they aren't arriving via deep strike, they already have arrived via deep strike, and are disembarking. For precedence, a unit disembarking from a drop into difficult terrain doesn't take dangerous terrain tests, because they aren't deep striking into the terrain.

 ClassicCarraway wrote:

I don't know about the assault drop pod, but NOTHING can assault after arriving from reserves.


Ymgarl Genestealers and Vanguard Veterans.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/10 08:13:40


 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

'In the Movement phase during which they arrive, deep
striking units may not move any further, other than to
disembark from a deep striking Transport vehicle if they
are in one.' Page 36 BRB

Note how it says 'deep striking units may not move any further... other than to disembark' the deep striking is put on the unit as well as the vehicle

'Deep striking unit' and 'deep striking transport' They are considered as having deep striked (struck?)

   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





This may help.

"Warp Quake" pg 28 C: GK. "This power can be used at the start of your movement phase and lasts until the start of your next movement phase. If the Psychic test is successful, all enemy teleport homers, and other items of wargear that prevent Deep Strike Scatter cease to function whilst within 12' of the squad while this power is in effect. Furthermore, any enemy unit deploying by Deep Strike within 12' of the squad (After scattering) will automatically suffer a Deep Strike Mishap."


3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






As mentioned by Eldarcaveman and Mannahnin, arriving via a deep striking transport means the unit inside counts as deep striking too.

Last part of the Deep Strike rules before the Mishap table:
"If the unfortunate unit is also a Transport, the Deep Strike Mishap result applies to both the unit and anything embarked within it."

So, my question: If a pod lands outside the WQ area, and the unit disembarks into it, do you;
1) Roll once on the table for the unit, pod is unaffected (What happens if Delayed or Misplaced?).
2) Roll once on the table, pod and unit both affected.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Those are good questions, and worth an email to gamefaqs@gwplc.com .

I would tend to think that the Pod is NOT affected at that point, as it's a separate unit that's not in range. I'd treat a Delayed or Misplaced result as a weird warp accident triggered by Warp Quake, and resolve those results as normal.


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




On the other hand, how often would this situation ever come up? You're allowed to measure distances anytime and Warp Quake isn't a secret - the GK player has passed a Psychic Test in front of you and told you which power his squad used.
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

Yeah you'd be a fool to disembark into the warp quake zone

   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







BLADERIKER wrote:
This may help.

"Warp Quake" pg 28 C: GK. "This power can be used at the start of your movement phase and lasts until the start of your next movement phase. If the Psychic test is successful, all enemy teleport homers, and other items of wargear that prevent Deep Strike Scatter cease to function whilst within 12' of the squad while this power is in effect. Furthermore, any enemy unit deploying by Deep Strike within 12' of the squad (After scattering) will automatically suffer a Deep Strike Mishap."



By this wording, then the disembarking troops would not be effected by Warp Quake because they are not "deploying" into the warp quake area but are disembarking into it. The drop pod would have to deploy in the area of effect in order for anything to hanppen.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The Deep Strike rules use the terms "deploying by Deep Strike" and "arriving by Deep Strike" interchangeably, and they state explicitly that units arriving in a DSing transport are also arriving by DS.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/10 23:29:14


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

 Mannahnin wrote:
The Deep Strike rules use the terms "deploying by Deep Strike" and "arriving by Deep Strike" interchangeably, and they state explicitly that units arriving in a DSing transport are also arriving by DS.


Actually it states they have arrived by deep strike, the difference in tense is very important as it prevents things that only affect deep striking units when they arrive from affecting a unit disembarking from a transport.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners




Boston, MA

You roll Once, and only Once for the Pod, when it lands after scatter within deep strike range. The rules for Disembarking state that each individual model has to be placed in base with the hull of the transport, and then moved appropriately. As you roll for Mishap once they hit table, the unit's inside don't even get to disembark until the DS mishap is resolved.

0000 - Rest Period - BUT YOU BETTER NOT SPEND FOUR WHOLE HOURS SLEEPING. IF YOU DO YOU ARE NOT ANGRY ENOUGH AND TOMORROW YOU GET THE FIRST CHANCE TO PLAY PIN THE TAU ON THE CARNIFEX. 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






as above, you cannot disembark from the drop pod till after you work out the mishap,

mishapping the pod mishaps the unit inside at the same time,

there is no need to misshap both after the fact,

not that you could anyway,

you have to resolve the mishap on the transport before disembarking, otherwise you have done warp quake later then it tells you to. (ie right after scatter)

 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

In a 1500pt game on a 4'x 6' table, a GK player going first with at least 2 full units of PAGK can cover the entire table with Warp Quake, allowing no available surface for a drop pod to land without mishap. In this situation, each pod will either be placed by the GK player, return to reserves, or be destroyed outright with its passengers. Of the pods placed by the GK player, the units disembarking will disembark without further issue regardless of Warp Quake being present.

The logic chain for this can be found in the BRB on pg. 36 on thw "Deep Strike Mishaps" table under 'Misplaced', which states that the misplaced unit is "placed in a valid deep strike formation", quite different from "placed using deep strike".

As we can see, Warp Quake would only effectt he Drop Pod, and not the passengers if the Pod arrives within the effect of Warp Quake, because the passengers would not have had a chance to disembark before the mishap occurs. However, if the pod actually did arrive in a spot that was outside of a Warp Quake zone, yet some of the passengers disembarked into the Warp Quake zone, then the Passengers would have mishapped, since they are considered to have arrived via deep strike at the moment of their deployment. In which case, the entire unit would mishap while the Drop Pod would remained where it was placed. Kind of dumb, but there you go.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: