Switch Theme:

First Blood  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gr
Fresh-Faced New User




Quick Question:

Does an HQ that has joined a unit gives First Blood VP if he dies and the rest of the unit survives?
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Valdosta, Georgia

Easy answer yes, because he is a ic

Overall Tournaments 11-2 2012
WarGame Con Best General RTT 2012
WarGame Con Team 12th 2012
ATC Team Fanastic 4 plus 1 17th overall (nercons (5-1) 2012
Beaky Con GT WarMaster Nercons (5-1) 2012 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Independent Character, p39 says "While an IC is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rule purposes...."

While he's with the unit he joined, the IC is not a unit. Consequently, if he alone is killed in the attack, the opponent hasn't satisfied the conditions of First Blood.
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




That doesn't mean he doesn't count as a unit when VPs are calculated. So yes you get 1st blood. Likewise if you kill an IC with its unit you will get 2 VPs in "purge the alien".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/10 16:15:06


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





copper.talos wrote:
That doesn't mean he doesn't count as a unit when VPs are calculated. So yes you get 1st blood. Likewise if you kill an IC with its unit you will get 2 VPs in "purge the alien".


This.

Likewise, if a warlord deploys with a unit and the whole unit is killed (besides the warlord) having the warlord walk around alive and alone does not keep the unit "alive" and prevent first blood. They are two separate entities when calculating VPs.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Snapshot wrote:
Independent Character, p39 says "While an IC is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rule purposes...."

While he's with the unit he joined, the IC is not a unit. Consequently, if he alone is killed in the attack, the opponent hasn't satisfied the conditions of First Blood.

When the IC is dead he is no longer part of the unit as he is not joined to it.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gr
Fresh-Faced New User




copper.talos wrote:
That doesn't mean he doesn't count as a unit when VPs are calculated. So yes you get 1st blood. Likewise if you kill an IC with its unit you will get 2 VPs in "purge the alien".


By my understanding, if the IC is joined a unit in "purge the alien" and you kill both the unit and the IC you will get 3 Vp's... 1 for first blood, 1 because the IC is counted as a unit and 1 because of the destruction of the unit that the IC has joined. Correct?
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Yes, exactly.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

And if the IC was the Warlord he would give up another VP for Slay the Warlord.

So an IC thats also the Warlord in Purge the Alien thats all by himself could potentially give up 3 VPs if you kill him first.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in tr
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





Thats a lot of points

Weyland-Yutani
Building Better Terrains

https://www.weyland-yutani-inc.com/

https://www.facebook.com/weylandyutaniinc/

 Grey Templar wrote:
The Riptide can't be a giant death robot, its completely lacking a sword or massive chainsaw. All giant death robots have swords or massive chainsaws.
 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





I stand corrected
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: