Switch Theme:

Chaos Daemons - Witstealer Sword  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi guys,

Just have a potential idea here and it be may an easy answer for some of you. I am thinking of running a Keeper of Secrets with a Witstealer sword. Now I am planning on him charging a particular combat termy unit with a decent CC marine character inside. In conjunction with this I am thinking of charging the same squad with Fiends of Slaanesh, thus reducing their initiative to 1 from the modifier, and then having the KotS slap the marine hero around in challenge and get essentially double the wounds if he is taking initiative tests on his reduced I of 1.

I have read around and found conflicting answers and while I think the above is how it would work - I would be keen to hear what more knowledgeable players think.

Cheers all.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/11 09:49:13


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nothing on the init test states "Unmodified", so you would use their modified initi from the fiends. If he is I5 or less then he would drop to I0 and automatically fail.
   
Made in fi
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine






maybe just smash and instakill the hero? Or is it an eternal warrior hero?

White Scars Space marines
Daemons 
   
Made in mx
Morphing Obliterator





Mexico

nvm

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/11 23:48:19


CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I agree...no reason the combo shouldn't work.

Although as for dropping Initiative to 0, GW is going to need to FAQ that in some regard because there are no rules for what happens when models with an Initiative of 0 get locked in combat (not that this necessarily impacts this particular question, of course).



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

That's, um...that's dirty. I LIKE IT!

Now, the entry reads that if a model suffers an unsaved wound from the sword, it takes another. Does this second wound require it to test again? The second wound is coming from the sword as well.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

No, it would have to spell that out. Otherwise it'd just be Instant Death by another name.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

 Mannahnin wrote:
No, it would have to spell that out. Otherwise it'd just be Instant Death by another name.


Not quite true-after all, they still have opportunities for passing the next initiative test. Not the fault of the Daemon player if he has a fiend in there turning initiative into a big, fat pancake. Still, if they intend it to work that way, an FAQ would be in order, as it could be argued either way. I just sent them an email, asking if they could clarify that when they do the Daemon FAQ. Whether or not it makes it in, who knows...but I asked for it as an FAQ.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



California

He would still pass the initiative test on a "1". Look on page 7 of the big rule book (not sure of the small one) where it talks about tests. A "1" always passes no matter the modifiers the model has. If it's base characteristic is "0" then it automatically fails no matter what. So if it has a modifier on the model then it can still pass on a "1".

So yes it would work but they still would have a chance of passing it even with the -5 modifier on a "1".

I believe I read it right in the rule book. Which wouldn't make it as powerful and would make more since.

"As a man loves so he is, as a man believes so he becomes" - Green 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Mannahnin wrote:
No, it would have to spell that out. Otherwise it'd just be Instant Death by another name.


While I think that is probably what was intended (only one 'bonus' wound can be caused per 'regular' wound caused) that isn't actually how it is written...technically speaking, for each wound caused by a failed Initiative test, another Initiative test would then be taken until the model is dead or passes an Initiative test. It is only the equivalent to Instant Death in the case where a model has an Initiative of 0 at the time...in any other circumstance it would be a series of Initiative checks until one was passed or the model is killed (so not exactly the same thing).

I'll add that to my FAQ thread though, as I do think it isn't what was intended, because there are rules written like that in the codex (keep taking a test until one is passed or the entire unit is wiped out), although those abilities can pass from one model to another, so they're not completely equivalent to the Witstealer & Plague Flail rules.


tgoodman2003 wrote:
He would still pass the initiative test on a "1". Look on page 7 of the big rule book (not sure of the small one) where it talks about tests. A "1" always passes no matter the modifiers the model has. If it's base characteristic is "0" then it automatically fails no matter what. So if it has a modifier on the model then it can still pass on a "1".

So yes it would work but they still would have a chance of passing it even with the -5 modifier on a "1".

I believe I read it right in the rule book. Which wouldn't make it as powerful and would make more since.


No, the way the rule is worded, it means that even if the model's characteristic has been reduced to a '1', you still pass that test on a roll of '1' or if there are modifiers to the actual test, they still can't affect the auto-pass on a roll of '1'.

But in this case, the modifier is actually being applied to the model's characteristic and as it currently stands, it can reduce the characteristic to 0, and the rules on page 7 are VERY clear that if the model has a 0 characteristic, then it automatically fails the test.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/12 02:01:22


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

 yakface wrote:
 Mannahnin wrote:
No, it would have to spell that out. Otherwise it'd just be Instant Death by another name.


While I think that is probably what was intended (only one 'bonus' wound can be caused per 'regular' wound caused) that isn't actually how it is written...technically speaking, for each wound caused by a failed Initiative test, another Initiative test would then be taken until the model is dead or passes an Initiative test. It is only the equivalent to Instant Death in the case where a model has an Initiative of 0 at the time...in any other circumstance it would be a series of Initiative checks until one was passed or the model is killed (so not exactly the same thing).

I'll add that to my FAQ thread though, as I do think it isn't what was intended, because there are rules written like that in the codex (keep taking a test until one is passed or the entire unit is wiped out), although those abilities can pass from one model to another, so they're not completely equivalent to the Witstealer & Plague Flail rules.


tgoodman2003 wrote:
He would still pass the initiative test on a "1". Look on page 7 of the big rule book (not sure of the small one) where it talks about tests. A "1" always passes no matter the modifiers the model has. If it's base characteristic is "0" then it automatically fails no matter what. So if it has a modifier on the model then it can still pass on a "1".

So yes it would work but they still would have a chance of passing it even with the -5 modifier on a "1".

I believe I read it right in the rule book. Which wouldn't make it as powerful and would make more since.


No, the way the rule is worded, it means that even if the model's characteristic has been reduced to a '1', you still pass that test on a roll of '1' or if there are modifiers to the actual test, they still can't affect the auto-pass on a roll of '1'.

But in this case, the modifier is actually being applied to the model's characteristic and as it currently stands, it can reduce the characteristic to 0, and the rules on page 7 are VERY clear that if the model has a 0 characteristic, then it automatically fails the test.



Well, I'll be sure to let everyone know right away what the answer is from GW. I realize that an actual answer from Customer Service means nothing, but they may give info about whether or not it'll be hitting the FAQ, which is the important part.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 timetowaste85 wrote:

Well, I'll be sure to let everyone know right away what the answer is from GW. I realize that an actual answer from Customer Service means nothing, but they may give info about whether or not it'll be hitting the FAQ, which is the important part.


I'm definitely interested to hear what they say if they respond, but you're right that you never know whether that answer will match what the actual FAQ answer ends up being (if they even answer that question in their FAQ).


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in nz
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the replies guys, awesome responses. I do think that if the unit being charged is I5 or lower, then they are going to automatically fail initiative tests as they will be at 0 for those purposes.

Then I imagine they will just attack last, even after I1 units
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: