Switch Theme:

Slaanesh herald on chariot question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

Hey guys, haven't read up on vehicle squadron rules for 6th, but since seeker chariots come in units (1-3=cavalcade), can a herald of slaanesh take a chariot and join this unit, bringing it up to a 4-model unit? Honestly, common sense would suggest it can, as its a squadron with an identical model joining, but common sense isn't always what happens here. Sadly, my rule book is 3 hrs away and I can't access it til Wednesday. I'm looking at list ideas, so a quick yes or no would be great. An explanation would be awesome too, but I'll take what I can get. Thanks Dakka.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Should be in "You Make Da Call" really, but what the hey.
Nope, you can't do it. The only times you're allowed to join units together is with Independent Characters, or in special cases where the Codex allows it (for instance, Wolf Guard or Necron Courts). Chariots are neither.

Independent Characters are also expressly forbidden from joining vehicle squadrons, or units that always consist of a single model (which covers every other vehicle possible).

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

Thanks for the answer. On the part of GW though, that's a fairly foolish call, as the Herald would be riding in the same vehicle the squad is made of. Generally, with the exception of the Master of the Ravenwing, no other character has ridden in a vehicle that also exists inside of a squad, so I can understand how the rule should work, as most vehicle squadrons wouldn't have access to a character with the same "mount" being included. Very odd, as it's pretty unique territory. Oh well, maybe I'll email GW and see if it can make its way into the FAQ. I realize a regular email response will be meaningless, but if they FAQ to allow it...hehehe

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





A bit of thread necro here, but I believe there is a way. The Seeker Cavalcade says specificly that the chariots transport capacity is an exalted alluress or a herald of slaanesh. I believe the way its all put together you can have 3 models in a cavalcade and 0-3 of them maybe heralds on chariots. Not sure if this eats and HQ or what. Very ambiguous. I do agree with the op, GW's intent seems to be they go together.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not ambiguous, as the rules that allow you to select the HQ herald are found under the Herald, and not in the unit entry where you can have them in a unit.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





no look at the chariot entries under seeker cavalcade. The herald is listed as an eligible model.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The transport capacity of the chariot does not change from one unit to the next. It's transport capacity is 1 exalted alluress or one herald of slaanesh. This is because it can also be purchased as a dedicated transport for a herald of slaanesh.That does not allow the unit to take heralds. All it would allow a cavalcade to do is, in the event that the exalted alluress dies and the chariot survives, a herald of slaanesh may embark on it. It also means that a named character such as the masque of slaanesh can not embark on one of those chariots as it is not designated to be a herald of slaanesh.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/14 18:53:39


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

That actually raises a few questions for me and I am sure I am overlooking something...

Okay, all the rules for chariots do state shooting attacks are resolved against the vehicle and that the rider can not be directly targeted. Yet I can think of more then a few ways to remove models from the table top in a manor that is indirect. Most of these are psychic powers that either use beams or random allotment. So let us say a rider is removed as a casualty while the vehicle is left unharmed.

What rules stop you using the chariot as a normal vehicle, moving and attacking with it even though there is no rider?

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

There's are no rules staying that a riderless chariot cannot move / attack, so it can. There's even the Skull Cannon, a chariot that cannot have a rider.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Doesn't even rate up there on the top five of bizarre situations at this point, God/dess I love this site.

To be fair though, these are demonic chariots so there is that...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/15 08:06:16


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




JinxDragon wrote:
Doesn't even rate up there on the top five of bizarre situations at this point, God/dess I love this site.

To be fair though, these are demonic chariots so there is that...
The chariots also have their own crew which the rider is not actually part of and is not separate from the vehicle, just like other vehicles do.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: