Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 20:30:15
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
|
I know it is possible to charge first turn distance wise. But is there anything in the rules saying you can`t. And what about infiltrating units. Can they first turn charge. Because ive got a small list that basicly relies on infiltrating genestealers getting charge on turn 1.
|
Screw a Hell Pit, or Warp Lightening Cannon or Doom Rockets, even The Dreaded 13th. All pale in comparison to the ability to place a forest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 20:31:10
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Norway (Oslo)
|
Infiltrators can charge first Round but only if you go secound.
|
Waagh like a bawz
-
Kaptin Goldteef's waagh! 16250 points 45/18/3 (W/L/D) 7th Ed
6250 points 9/3/1 (W/L/D) sixth-ed
Dark elves: 2350points 3/0/0 (W/L/D)
3400 points 19/6/0 (W/L/D) 8' armybook
Wood Elves 2600 points, 6/4/0 (W/L/D)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 20:32:46
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Technically it's possible with Ymargls and if the enemy scout-moves, but in general it's difficult to pull off.
Infiltrating units cannot charge in the first turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 20:32:49
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
No, everything can charge first round going second turn. Essentially bottom of first.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/11 20:33:38
40K:
5000+ points W/D/L: 10/0/6
4000+ points W/D/L: 7/0/4
1500+ points W/D/L: 16/1/4
Fantasy
4000+ points W/D/L: 1/1/2
2500+ points W/D/L: 0/0/3
Legends 2013 Doubles Tournament Champion |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 20:45:07
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
As far as i know there is no way that the starting player can assault on first turn. This seems to be intended on 6th.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 20:45:51
Subject: Re:Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Yes, as long as the unit in question didn't Infiltrate or Scout(and that only applies if you got first turn)
I could have a unit of Assault Marines right on the line, 12" away from another enemy unit, then I go first and get to assault them.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 20:49:49
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
The usual method of a first turn assault involves a fast unit (such as bikes or jump models) assaulting a unit that Scott re-deployed or infiltrated.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 20:51:05
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
pizzaguardian wrote:As far as i know there is no way that the starting player can assault on first turn. This seems to be intended on 6th.
Stormboyz. 12+ D6" move, 2D6" charge.
Anything out of an Ork vehicle with RPJ - 7" move then 6" disembark then 12" charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 21:00:46
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Magna-grapple from the BA Dread could bring a unit into assault range in turn 1 with some good dice rolls.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 21:08:50
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
|
So is an army with 30 Genestealers in 600pts useless?
|
Screw a Hell Pit, or Warp Lightening Cannon or Doom Rockets, even The Dreaded 13th. All pale in comparison to the ability to place a forest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 21:19:56
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
I wouldn't say useless because it's hard to handle that many at low points levels...
But it's not the free ride into assault you think it is either.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 21:23:53
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
|
would you say infiltrating in cover, then going to ground first turn to survive. then charging would be the best idea? Or just go all gaunts and a few ymigarls.
|
Screw a Hell Pit, or Warp Lightening Cannon or Doom Rockets, even The Dreaded 13th. All pale in comparison to the ability to place a forest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 21:35:51
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Assuming exactly 24" apart,you can get a charge from an assault vehicle or are a beast and you roll really lucky
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 21:45:57
Subject: Re:Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Or you are Jump Infantry/MC
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 21:50:43
Subject: Re:Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
barnowl wrote:Assuming exactly 24" apart,you can get a charge from an assault vehicle or are a beast and you roll really lucky No, not possible. Assuming there are no other special abilities or rules giving a model/unit more than a 12" move and/or a 12" charge, you can not make a first turn Assault. The deployments rules specifically state that you must deploy "more than 12" inches from the center line. So every model MUST be more than 24" apart from each other at the begining of the game (assuming no other special moves/deployment rules are in effect") So even perfect rolls of double 6's will only add up to 24" max and you must be more than 24" apart.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/11 21:52:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 22:42:20
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
barnowl wrote:Assuming exactly 24" apart,you can get a charge from an assault vehicle or are a beast and you roll really lucky
Except the rules require you to be MORE THAN 12" apart from the centre line. You cannot be 24" apart.
Orks are about the only ones that can make a charge top of turn 1
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 22:56:29
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
|
I suppose you can do the old trick of deploying sideways with tanks to get 2 or 3 inches of free movement. especially with big things like raiders and land raiders to get 1st turn charge.
|
Screw a Hell Pit, or Warp Lightening Cannon or Doom Rockets, even The Dreaded 13th. All pale in comparison to the ability to place a forest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 22:59:49
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
You could probably get a turn 1 charge out of a catacomb command barge. Yes, I know that the movement still equals 24" but when you disembark from the vehicle you're gaining about an inch or more by placing your guy in the front (assuming you don't use the "sideways start to gain movement" trick). Still gotta get SUPER lucky on your charge range, but it should be possible.
Oh, even more so with Ghost Arks as well.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/11 23:00:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 23:07:28
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kevin - reread 6th edition disembarking, and note the "fully within" requirement.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 23:29:20
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
As noted, units Infiltrating or making a Scout redeploy are forbidden from assaulting in the first turn, but because the rule says "turn", rather than "game turn", this means you're all clear if you go second.
It's easy to charge on turn 1 if the enemy moves toward you, as well. You see this happen sometimes in The Relic, if both players deploy right up at the line and the guy going first moves straight up toward the Relic.
It's also mathematically possible to make a long charge on turn 1 starting from your deployment zone, if you've got some way of covering more than 24", and your opponent hasn't deployed back from his DZ line too far. A transport longer than it is wide(assuming it's open-topped or has the Assault Vehicle special rule) deployed sideways right at the line could pivot to get the front a little further forward after the pivot. Then move 6" (or 7" for Orks with red paint), deploy the guys 6", then they could make a long charge of 12". You can also potentially charge 13" if you get a certain Warlord trait.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/11 23:59:42
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Kevin - reread 6th edition disembarking, and note the "fully within" requirement.
Ya, ok, but you could still do it. I don't think you're factoring in the added distance you gain, especially with the twist move. Though I'll admit I spaced on the fact you can't move vehicles 12" and disembark (though I was, in my mind, only factoring in 12" move with disembark in Base-to-hull contact).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/12 00:18:07
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Maulerfiend is one of the few first turn chargers, but only with amazing roles and sideways setup shenanigans.
|
~seapheonix
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/12 00:19:12
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
seapheonix wrote:Maulerfiend is one of the few first turn chargers, but only with amazing roles and sideways setup shenanigans.
Even then it's hard.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/12 05:06:59
Subject: Re:Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Necrons and Orks can both get first turn charges off.
Necrons have to start with a unit of scarabs right at the edge of their deployment zone (this also requires the opponent to have a unit right at the edge of THEIR deployment zone) with a Tomb Spyder nearby. The Spyder can add a new scarab to the swarm, which you are legally allowed to add in front of the unit. (Up to two inches away, meaning the model furthest forward is only around ((roughly)) 10.5 inches from the enemy after a full move. Since they are Fleet, you have a decent chance of being able to pull the assault off.
Orks can too, although it's tricky. You have to have them loaded into an open-topped or assault vehicle with a red paint job. If you start at the deployment line (again, this requires your opponent has a unit right at HIS starting line) facing backwards (most of the ork vehicles you get out the back of) and drive your 7 inches in reverse, you can bail out six inches, and then be within range of a charge, assuming you can pull off a 12 inch charge range. Unlikely, but possible. (Much easier if you got a first turn Waaagh! courtesy of a Weirdboy or, even more likely, Old Zogwort.)
Both of these situations are a little tricky to pull off, but technically possible. (And I've lost a Land Raider to the first of these two, so I can attest to the heartbreak it causes.  )
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/12 14:07:21
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Anyone can get a charge off first turn if their opponent makes a poor decision with a scout more or infiltrators.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/12 15:23:59
Subject: Can you charge first turn?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Jimsolo - most Ork vehicles are open topped, so you can disembark from anywhere on the hull
|
|
 |
 |
|