Switch Theme:

Two different melee weapons, may I choose which to use?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores




Sweden

So, if I have read the codex correctly my Chaos Lord may carry a Black Mace and a Lightning Claw. He has 3 attacks, but the extra CCW gives him 4, am I right?

Now, let's say I want to kill something, but don't want to risk rolling a with the Black Mace (Daemonic Weapon) or I just don't feel like using it. May I then choose not to use that weapon in CC and just use the Lightning Claw? Or do I have to use both weapons equally in the fight? How do I divide the attacks, then?

1700pts
1500pts  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Read "More than one weapon" page 51.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





see the More Than One Weapon section on page 51 of the BRB.

Edit: Ninja'd by DR :(

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/13 14:39:45


 
   
Made in se
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores




Sweden

Of course! I always miss the obvious bits...
Thanks!

1700pts
1500pts  
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





They both need to be specialist weapons to gain the +1 Attack.
   
Made in se
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores




Sweden

 loreweaver wrote:
They both need to be specialist weapons to gain the +1 Attack.

Really? It doesn't say so in the BRB.

1700pts
1500pts  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 ChaoticBob wrote:
 loreweaver wrote:
They both need to be specialist weapons to gain the +1 Attack.

Really? It doesn't say so in the BRB.


Look up Specialist Weapons in the special rules section.
   
Made in nl
Flashy Flashgitz






40k-noob wrote:
 ChaoticBob wrote:
 loreweaver wrote:
They both need to be specialist weapons to gain the +1 Attack.

Really? It doesn't say so in the BRB.


Look up Specialist Weapons in the special rules section.


He is not wrong you know,.. it does say on P51 that if there are 2 MELEE WEAPONS, you gain +1 attack

And yes, if you have a specialist weapon it does state that then you can only gain +1 when the other weapon is also a Specialist weapon

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/13 15:56:29


6K
6K
6K
4K
 
   
Made in se
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores




Sweden

So... a Lightning Claw doesn't count as a Melee Weapon and gets no +1 bonus?

1700pts
1500pts  
   
Made in be
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 ChaoticBob wrote:
So... a Lightning Claw doesn't count as a Melee Weapon and gets no +1 bonus?

It does, but only when used with another Specialist Weapon. So no bonus when using a pistol, or in the case the Black Mace.
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





That's why the cool kids take a Lightning Claw and a Power Fist for 40 points. +1 Attack and you can pick between hitting on initiative and re-rolling wounds with AP3 or if you need high strength and AP2, you can do that too.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Cool kids take an axe of blind fury and just go nuts, to hell with the drawbacks the benefits are hilarious.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






pretty sure sepcialist weapons have to be paired with the same specialist weapon, IE two lightning claws = +1 attack, one claw one fist = no bonus

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

easysauce wrote:
pretty sure sepcialist weapons have to be paired with the same specialist weapon, IE two lightning claws = +1 attack, one claw one fist = no bonus


Pre-6th edition you had to have 2 of the same. Not anymore.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

easysauce wrote:
pretty sure sepcialist weapons have to be paired with the same specialist weapon, IE two lightning claws = +1 attack, one claw one fist = no bonus


Nope, not anymore.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




In the same vein, but not entirely related, the Techmarine with servoharness. Assuming the load out is bolt pistol, power sword, and harness (2 servoarms) how many attacks does he have at what Init?

I can see him having two options: 1 attack at Init 4 and 3 at Init 1 or 2 at Init 4 2 at Init 1 - the techmarine chooses when he receives the additional attack for 2 CCW. I can't see him getting an additional attack at each Init step
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Depends on the codex. They each explain how theirs work clearly. In Codex: SM, for example, a servo arm gives one S8 attack at I1, which ignores armor saves. If you take the harness you get two servo arm attacks. They're totally separate from the model's normal attacks with his weapons.

In the new DA codex, OTOH, they've changed how the servo arm works. For them it's a Sx2, AP1 Unwieldy Specialist Weapon.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Mannahnin wrote:
Depends on the codex. They each explain how theirs work clearly. In Codex: SM, for example, a servo arm gives one S8 attack at I1, which ignores armor saves. If you take the harness you get two servo arm attacks. They're totally separate from the model's normal attacks with his weapons.

In the new DA codex, OTOH, they've changed how the servo arm works. For them it's a Sx2, AP1 Unwieldy Specialist Weapon.


I'm working from the DA codex, which as it's worded appear to indicate that the Techmarine has 4 total CCWs with 2 of those being Specialist weapons. So can my Techmarine choose to gain the +1A at normal Init or Init 1 for the servoarms, does he get +1A at both Inits because he does have 2 CCWs at both Inits, or some combination that hasn't occurred to me?
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The rules for More than One Weapon (page 51) apply as normal. You pick one weapon to fight with, you use its rules, and if you have at least 1 more weapon to combine with it, you get +1A. Since the DA TM has two specialist and two non-specialist weapons, he's going to get +1A no matter which one he picks.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: