Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/15 22:14:45
Subject: Bjorn / vehicle Gets Hot Question.
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
|
Just want to make sure I am interpriting something correctly. I plan on using Bjorn in my Space Wolves Army and giving him the plasma cannon. Now it says under the gets hot rule I must roll a D6 to see if I suffer a "Get Hot" result, on a roll of one the shot fails and I lose a HP on a roll of 1-3. But since Bjorn has a BS of 6, I get to reroll that original failed roll of 1 and only suffer the loss of a HP if I roll a secound 1. What it dosent say is if the shot is still failed as it says under the rolling a 1 rule. I am assuming it does and you are just getting basicly a 2+ save vs the lost HP, but I want to be sure.
Thanks All!
|
"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/15 22:17:50
Subject: Re:Bjorn / vehicle Gets Hot Question.
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
The result of the shot failing is dependent on you rolling that 1. So... if you then reroll that 1 so that it's no longer a 1... the 1 is no longer there to cause the failure.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 1970/06/01 00:31:08
Subject: Bjorn / vehicle Gets Hot Question.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Re-read the rules for Plasma cannons (A Blast weapon) on P.33 for blast weapons, and 37 for Gets Hot rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/15 22:18:36
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/15 22:25:37
Subject: Bjorn / vehicle Gets Hot Question.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
And Re-rolls on page 5.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/15 22:35:06
Subject: Bjorn / vehicle Gets Hot Question.
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
|
The wording of the rule book is whats throwing me off DR. The Blast weapon rule says rerolls must reroll all the dice (IE scatter and distance), it dosent say anything about "Gets Hot". Now under the "Gets Hot" rule it says that a weapon that dosent roll to hit (in this case a Plasma Cannon) must first roll a D6. If that D6 roll is a 1, then the shot fails and the model suffers a gets hot wound, which can be saved, if the model is a vehicle it suffers a glancing hit on a roll of 1-3.
Next paragraph says that if the model gets a reroll for some reason then you can reroll that original D6 "Gets Hot" roll and only suffer the penaltys if you roll another 1. What it dosent say is this like a normal reroll for a miss (like shooting a twin linked weapon) or is it just a extra 2+ save aginst the "Gets Hot" wound?
To me it seems like a free save but if its not and its actually just like a twin linked reroll then I would like to maximize my benifits from it.
|
"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/15 22:25:39
Subject: Bjorn / vehicle Gets Hot Question.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Re-rolls are covered on P.37 "Gets Hot, and Re-rolls" section. I really do not see how it is not clear. The rule specifically mentions BS of 6+ or twin linked on P. 37. What specifically are you having trouble with?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/03/15 22:50:37
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/15 22:42:32
Subject: Bjorn / vehicle Gets Hot Question.
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
|
I am looking right at it right now DR. "Gets Hot and Re-rolls"
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (BS6+, Twin linked etc) a WOUND is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1.
So to you is this a "Luck You you get a free save vs a wound/glancing hit! or is it a "Hey Lucky You! You get to start over from the beginning and shoot agin!
This is my confusion.
I see where I havent been clear.
Does the re-roll Bjorn gets for having a 6+ BS aginst the required "Gets Hot" roll basicly restart Bjorns shooting phase allowing him to still shoot his plasma cannon (after the re-roll turns out to be anything but a 1) or does it just allow Bjorn to ignore the chance of a glancing hit and end his shooting phase (as long as nothing is in range of his heavy flamer)?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/15 22:48:58
"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/15 22:49:28
Subject: Bjorn / vehicle Gets Hot Question.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
I am really not understanding what you mean. You roll the Gets Hot die for blast weapons before you place the blast marker and roll for scatter. So you roll a die, if it is a 1, and you have a re-roll available. (BS6+, Twin linked etc) then you can re-roll that die to not suffer the gets hot wound you would have suffered for rolling a 1. If you re-roll something then the first roll does not count (Page 5, and what Spetulhu was saying to check).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/15 22:51:01
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/15 22:55:05
Subject: Bjorn / vehicle Gets Hot Question.
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
|
DeathReaper wrote:
So you roll a die, if it is a 1, and you have a re-roll available. (BS6+, Twin linked etc) then you can re-roll that die to not suffer the gets hot wound you would have suffered for rolling a 1.
There is the question, does Bjorns re-rolled D6 (that the secound time comes up as a 4, saving Bjorn from the chance of a glancing blow) end Bjorns shooting phase (since he has no other major ranged weapons) or does it like in the case of a twin linked bolter, allow him to still shoot even after the original failed attempt.
Right now I am assuming Bjorns shooting phase ends but if I am misinterpiting it and he would still get a chance to shoot his plasma cannon (as if it was twin linked) then I want to make sure I take advantage of that.
Unlike the "Re-roll" rules on page 5, the "Gets Hot" specificly says "A Wound is only suffered if the To Hit Re-roll is also a 1". It dosent say refer back to "Re-rolls" "Twin Linked" or offer any other suggestion that you are basicly restarting the shooting attempt of that weapon.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/15 23:00:54
"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/15 23:01:03
Subject: Bjorn / vehicle Gets Hot Question.
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Shooting a Gets Hot blast weapon has two steps.
1. Roll a d6 to see if it Gets Hot. If you get a 1, you suffer bad consequences and don't get to shoot.
2. If you didn't Get Hot, you place the marker and roll your normal scatter.
When you re-roll anything, the first result is always ignored. It does not happen. It has no impact on future events, except that we bear in mind that a re-roll happened, because you're never allowed to re-roll a re-roll.
Gets Hot, in 6th, has a specific special rule that if you have re-rolls to hit from any source, you get to re-roll your Gets Hot roll if you get a 1, IN ADDITION TO your normal re-roll to hit.
So with Bjorn, if you roll a 1 for Gets Hot, you get to re-roll it. Unless the SECOND roll is ALSO a 1, you then move on to fire as normal.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/15 23:01:55
Subject: Bjorn / vehicle Gets Hot Question.
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
He still gets to fire the plasma cannon as long as the re-roll was not a 1. just ignore the first roll.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/15 23:02:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/15 23:03:38
Subject: Bjorn / vehicle Gets Hot Question.
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
|
So I would have been playing it wrong if I had done it my way. Good to know Thanks!
|
"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. |
|
 |
 |
|