Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/16 20:12:34
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
Onuris Coreworld
|
The rulebook states that a unit may exit a transport that has moved no more than 6 inches or combat speed but that each model must exit by being in base contact with the vehicles exit point, then can move up to 6 inches away. You then repeat this with every model until the entire unit has moved.
Why not just move the unit up to 6 inches away from the exit point to start with? Why the extra step of first placing it in base contact, then moving it away?
|
"Most mortals will die from this procedure...and so will you!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/16 20:22:46
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
TheCrazyCryptek wrote:The rulebook states that a unit may exit a transport that has moved no more than 6 inches or combat speed but that each model must exit by being in base contact with the vehicles exit point, then can move up to 6 inches away. You then repeat this with every model until the entire unit has moved.
Why not just move the unit up to 6 inches away from the exit point to start with? Why the extra step of first placing it in base contact, then moving it away?
Because sometimes you will have to go around impassible terrain, or stay 1" away from enemy models etc.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/16 20:55:12
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Yep, there may be situations where the access point is blocked, and this procedure makes sure that you can't just skip around obstructions.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 00:28:37
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
p79, Disembarking allows a unit to disembark if the transport has moved no more than 6". It doesn't say you can disembark provided you only moved at Combat Speed.
For example, a unit could not disembark through normal means if it was travelling at Combat Speed in a Zooming flyer (which redefines Combat Speed to be 18").
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 01:36:02
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
Onuris Coreworld
|
Snapshot wrote:p79, Disembarking allows a unit to disembark if the transport has moved no more than 6". It doesn't say you can disembark provided you only moved at Combat Speed.
For example, a unit could not disembark through normal means if it was travelling at Combat Speed in a Zooming flyer (which redefines Combat Speed to be 18").
Isn't combat speed 6 inches?
|
"Most mortals will die from this procedure...and so will you!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 01:59:42
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
TheCrazyCryptek wrote:Snapshot wrote:p79, Disembarking allows a unit to disembark if the transport has moved no more than 6". It doesn't say you can disembark provided you only moved at Combat Speed.
For example, a unit could not disembark through normal means if it was travelling at Combat Speed in a Zooming flyer (which redefines Combat Speed to be 18").
Isn't combat speed 6 inches?
For some vehicles it is.
For Flyers Combat Speed is 18"
For Ork Vehicles with RPJ combat speed is 7 inches.
It rdepends on the vehicle sometimes.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 04:27:53
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
However, there doesn't seem to be anything that stops a unit disembarking before the flyer moves, and then have the flyer make a normal Zoom move.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 04:43:14
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yeah if you have all but one exit door on a Rhino blocked off by impassable terrain, then on the on usuable exit there is an enemy unit 4" away, you couldn't just place your unit 6" away and be on the other side of the unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 05:58:24
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Snapshot wrote:However, there doesn't seem to be anything that stops a unit disembarking before the flyer moves, and then have the flyer make a normal Zoom move.
You would have to have hovered with the flyer in the previous turn, otherwise it is still a zooming flyer, and accordingly, models cannot disembark from it at all.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 06:01:23
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Drunkspleen wrote:Snapshot wrote:However, there doesn't seem to be anything that stops a unit disembarking before the flyer moves, and then have the flyer make a normal Zoom move.
You would have to have hovered with the flyer in the previous turn, otherwise it is still a zooming flyer, and accordingly, models cannot disembark from it at all.
Page reference?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 07:22:27
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I'd assumed you couldn't disembark from a Zoomer as well, but I can't find the ref either.
Automatically Appended Next Post: ROFL, p80 Flyers, RHS, 2nd para last sentence - doesn't get any blacker or whiter than that
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/17 07:23:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 07:26:08
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Snapshot wrote:I'd assumed you couldn't disembark from a Zoomer as well, but I can't find the ref either.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
ROFL, p80 Flyers, RHS, 2nd para last sentence - doesn't get any blacker or whiter than that
Fair enough, I hadn't got my book with me,
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/17 07:26:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 07:28:42
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Snapshot wrote:However, there doesn't seem to be anything that stops a unit disembarking before the flyer moves, and then have the flyer make a normal Zoom move.
Don't you dare start this argument again. It's been done to death on these forums.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 08:24:29
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Cheesedoodler wrote:Snapshot wrote:However, there doesn't seem to be anything that stops a unit disembarking before the flyer moves, and then have the flyer make a normal Zoom move.
Don't you dare start this argument again. It's been done to death on these forums.
Done to Death, and resolved nicely.
You choose a mode, either Zooming or Hover, and that mode lasts until you choose a mode in your movement phase.
If you were zooming, you can not disembark, as the Zooming rules disallow it.
If you were Hovering then the squad inside can disembark and the Flyer can Zoom away after the unit moves.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 18:15:05
Subject: Re:Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
Onuris Coreworld
|
Yes, lets please not go there.
Besides, the vehicle in question was a normal vehicle. Not a Flyer, not even a skimmer. So, it has no relevance to the question I asked.
|
"Most mortals will die from this procedure...and so will you!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 22:25:32
Subject: Re:Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
We do not have to as the situation is not vague at all.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 23:09:35
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
A question about Red Orks.... Transport rules state that units can disembark only if vehicle movement is <6.0000000000000000000000001". If a red Ork vehicle uses its +1" movement to move 7" combat speed, no one can disembark? Ie. there's no special provision for the Red Rule that overrides the BRB 6" rule?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/17 23:10:39
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 23:28:01
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:A question about Red Orks....
Transport rules state that units can disembark only if vehicle movement is <6.0000000000000000000000001".
If a red Ork vehicle uses its +1" movement to move 7" combat speed, no one can disembark? Ie. there's no special provision for the Red Rule that overrides the BRB 6" rule?
That's correct. And my apologies for throwing the Zoomer into the mix. I was quickly trying to find an example where you could move MORE than 6" at Combat speed and be unable to disembark, and succeeded only in putting my foot in my mouth.
Red Paint Job is the ideal example I was probably looking for
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/17 23:58:39
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot
Leeds, UK
|
Snapshot wrote:Elric Greywolf wrote:A question about Red Orks....
Transport rules state that units can disembark only if vehicle movement is <6.0000000000000000000000001".
If a red Ork vehicle uses its +1" movement to move 7" combat speed, no one can disembark? Ie. there's no special provision for the Red Rule that overrides the BRB 6" rule?
That's correct. And my apologies for throwing the Zoomer into the mix. I was quickly trying to find an example where you could move MORE than 6" at Combat speed and be unable to disembark, and succeeded only in putting my foot in my mouth.
Red Paint Job is the ideal example I was probably looking for 
But to counter that, RPJ also says that you ignore the penalties for moving that extra inch, so you count as moving 6" for the purposes of disembarking.
|
' ' 7000pts 18-6-15
2k 2-0-0
urrr, boss, we'z needin even more dakka! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 00:19:30
Subject: Clarification on disembarking from a transport
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Damn, damn, damn! OK, there may not be an example :0 The rule says 6", not Combat speed. I'll go drink something now.
|
|
 |
 |
|