Switch Theme:

Barrage weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





United States

Can you use Look out Sir for barrage weapons?

If I have a Tyranid Biovore does he have to have line of sight to target a unit? If he does not and the shot misses, does the scatter double?

Successful trades since 2011 with GREY88, Theophony, midget_overlord, Stricknasty, ratmkith, Swissgeese, djones520, ArcSoll, LValx, Joravi,... 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Look Out Sir is used when a character is allocated a wound (with some exceptions such as challenges, vindicares, Gets Hot, Perils, and Dangerous Terrain).

For the question about Biovores (and Barrage weapons in general) read the rules for Barrage in the BRB it clearly tells you what happens if the target unit is out of sight.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

There will be rulesharks that will claim that even though barrage weapons can hit and wound without line of sight thanks to indirect fire, you can't allocate said wounds. If anyone tries this, do me a favour and hit them in the face with the rulebook please.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/19 04:29:55


 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





...and then offer them your reading glasses...
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 PrinceRaven wrote:
There will be rulesharks that will claim that even though barrage weapons can hit and wound without line of sight thanks to indirect fire, you can't allocate said wounds. If anyone tries this, do me a favour and hit them in the face with the rulebook please.

Yeah, using the words in the books as rules totally deserves physical violence. Well put sirrah!

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





San Diego, CA

rigeld2 wrote:
 PrinceRaven wrote:
There will be rulesharks that will claim that even though barrage weapons can hit and wound without line of sight thanks to indirect fire, you can't allocate said wounds. If anyone tries this, do me a favour and hit them in the face with the rulebook please.

Yeah, using the words in the books as rules totally deserves physical violence. Well put sirrah!


Sometimes you have to break a few eggs to make an omelot. It's for the greater good :p

So you told the SD boy to stay classy. I'm sure he's NEVER heard that one.... 
   
Made in us
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

pretty sure Blast markers ignore that out of sight rule, i forget where it was but its in one of the 2-3 pages talking about blasts (barrage or otherwise). i'll have to find it when i get home from work and repost it.

Anyway, as stated earlier, the only things that ignore Look Out Sir is challenges, perils of the warp, dangerous terrain fails, or gets hot. Never heard about the Vindicares one.
Even in close combat its allowed, provided not in a challenge.

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Blast markers don't ignore Out of Sight.

p33, tells us you can hit (roll To Hit) and wound (roll to Wound) units OOS, but Wound Allocation follows normal allocation rules (ie, can't allocate to models out of sight).

Barrage weapons alter the Wound Allocation procedure to allow wounds on models OOS of the firer, because the allocation is measured from the centre of the blast template.

Even here, if a model is OOS relative to the centre of the blast, a wound from a Barrage round could not be allocated to it.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
And of course, with a Blast weapon you have to select a target model that is in sight and within max range.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/21 06:53:01


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Snapshot wrote:

Even here, if a model is OOS relative to the centre of the blast, a wound from a Barrage round could not be allocated to it.


While you are 100% right, the only problem with trying to play this way is that you never really have any idea how you're supposed to draw line of sight from the center of a blast (especially when vertically blocking line of sight is in the way...in other words, how high does a piece of terrain need to be to block LOS from the center of the blast?). I mean, we're supposed to hold it over the models (no rules about how high), so even if there is a 4" high wall between the center of the blast and a model, since the center hole of the blast is up over the models, surely it can draw LOS to everything, right (unless they're in an enclosed building or something)?


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





 yakface wrote:
Snapshot wrote:

Even here, if a model is OOS relative to the centre of the blast, a wound from a Barrage round could not be allocated to it.


While you are 100% right, the only problem with trying to play this way is that you never really have any idea how you're supposed to draw line of sight from the center of a blast (especially when vertically blocking line of sight is in the way...in other words, how high does a piece of terrain need to be to block LOS from the center of the blast?). I mean, we're supposed to hold it over the models (no rules about how high), so even if there is a 4" high wall between the center of the blast and a model, since the center hole of the blast is up over the models, surely it can draw LOS to everything, right (unless they're in an enclosed building or something)?



I agree yakface it is not entirely clear, but p100 RHS, last para, might help. When firing into ruins, it explicitly says that the Barrage strikes the highest level under the hole. I take that to mean the floor of the level of the ruin. Similarly, the Blast and Barrage rules make reference to shots "landing", sort of implying the ground (or ruin level, or whatever) is the appropriate reference point.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Snapshot wrote:

I agree yakface it is not entirely clear, but p100 RHS, last para, might help. When firing into ruins, it explicitly says that the Barrage strikes the highest level under the hole. I take that to mean the floor of the level of the ruin. Similarly, the Blast and Barrage rules make reference to shots "landing", sort of implying the ground (or ruin level, or whatever) is the appropriate reference point.


Well, those rules only apply to ruins most importantly, but second, even if you're assuming that the blast is hitting at 'ground level' (even though it has to be over models to cause hits), then how the heck do you draw line of sight from the tabletop? That's a pretty ridiculous concept as well.

I just think its nonsense...I don't think there is a truly 'clear' way to play drawing line of sight from the center of a blast, which again is why I think most people just play that line of sight does not impact barrage casualty removal.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





United States

Do you have to have line of sight to the target from the firing unit? i.e. does the Tyranid biovore need LoS to fire?

Successful trades since 2011 with GREY88, Theophony, midget_overlord, Stricknasty, ratmkith, Swissgeese, djones520, ArcSoll, LValx, Joravi,... 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, the basic rules for shooting tell you that you must have LOS to shoot, page 12 from memory. Barrage has an exception to this requirement.
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot





So no, the biovore does not need LoS to shoot because he has a barrage weapon
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: