Switch Theme:

Early assault options  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





looking for a little clarification (with citations when possible).

I've been abusing Striking Scorpions lately in my skirmishes with some local gaming buddies. Nothing competitive but we're still smoothing out the edges of our strategies and getting used to the general sloppiness of 6th Ed Eldar.

Anyway my strategy has been to infiltrate 2 squads of 5 Scorpions basically anywhere in his DZ. I then make a scout move with my two squads of 3 War Walkers outside my DZ to bring their 36" range guns into range of his DZ so that the heat is on right out of the gate. Basically this means that he will want to remove the threat of my Scorpions ASAP, but will also have to content with a possible 48 shots at S6 AP6 hitting his front line.

It's been ... mostly successful so far, but I lose a lot of scorpions because they are basically just sitting ducks in the first turn. They don't usually get charged because they are decent in CC, but any shooty units in the enemies DZ pretty much blast them to hell in a hurry.

For this reason I've been contemplating the notion of having them use the Outflank special rule instead of infiltrating. In this way, they will be off the board in turn 1, but they'll arrive somewhere in the enemy DZ on a later turn (probably turn 2 since I have an Autarch and rolling a 2+ is pretty common).

My fellow gamers seem to think that they still cannot assault on the turn they arrive, even from Outflank, but I have not seen a rule that states that. I read through the BRB and didn't see anything about units arriving from reserve that can't assault. Is there something I am missing? I didn't assault the first time just because we couldn't find a good enough rule and I didn't want to cheat him out of it if it was disallowed, but I am still looking for some clarification
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

BRB page 125 left column second paragraph (the one entirely in bold). That is where your answer lies.

Furthermore they cannot assault the first player turn if they Infiltrste. If you go second (and they survive until then) they can charge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 16:22:47


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




In 6th edition units arriving from Reserve cannot assault on the turn they do so.

Sadly I do not have a rulebook handy, however it is in the Reserves section
   
Made in us
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe





Page 125 of your BRB

use this link as a guide:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/463637.page

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 16:23:58


"I ayn't so eezy ta kill... heheheh..."

BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!!!! SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE!!!!  
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Thanks for the reference!

Looks like GW just decided that infiltrate and Outflank are virtually useless for non-ranged characters. What a lack of foresight. Thanks again though for the info !
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: