Switch Theme:

Rules questions that came up this weekend  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




These came up in some games this weekend. How would they be ruled at Adepticon. (so using the Adepitocn FAQ and GW faq as a guide, not what you think the rule should be)

1. Can a Malediction psychic power affect zooming flyers? Ex. Misfortune cast on a Nightscythe. (remember this is how Adepticon will rule it)

2. When a flamer template targets the 2nd floor of a ruin, (templates must target a specific floor when fired into a multi-level ruin) can models on the first floor who are closer to the enemy be removed as casualties.

3. After moving the model, can I choose to snapfire a psycannon at 4 shots or only 2? Ex. A psycannon guy who moved the previous turn fire 2 or 4 snap fire shots at overwatch. 2nd ex. a psycannon guy moves and fires 2-4 snapfire shots at a flyer.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






1. Discussed in another thread previously. I believe the answer was "no", however. But I stopped following the thread after a while.
For your perusal - http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/511903.page#5376610

2. Hits and wound allocation are different things, so yes they can providing you're following the rules for allocation and removal.

3. You can not "choose" to snapfire - FAQ for BRB. So I don't know if I'm not getting your example or not, but you only snapfire during situations that *require* you to snapfire.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/18 20:05:06


 
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

1. Maladictions that don't cause damage should have no issue targeting a flyer. It's Maladictions that cause hits/glance/pens that are forbidden.

2. Covered by previous poster

3. You choose the weapon mode before you fire a weapon with multiple profiles. I see no reason you couldn't snapfire 4 shots if you choose that weapon profile.

insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

For Adepticon-specific answers, you would be better off asking on the Adepticon forums. Here you're just going to get the answers from the rulebook and normal FAQs.

DarthDiggler wrote:
1. Can a Malediction psychic power affect zooming flyers? Ex. Misfortune cast on a Nightscythe. (remember this is how Adepticon will rule it)

Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any
weapon that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically –
interact with Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous
Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.


2. When a flamer template targets the 2nd floor of a ruin, (templates must target a specific floor when fired into a multi-level ruin) can models on the first floor who are closer to the enemy be removed as casualties.

Oddly enough, yes. Blasts specify that wounds can only be allocated to the level you are targeting, but templates just resolve the hits against that level. Nothing is said about changing the wound allocation process.


3. After moving the model, can I choose to snapfire a psycannon at 4 shots or only 2? Ex. A psycannon guy who moved the previous turn fire 2 or 4 snap fire shots at overwatch. 2nd ex. a psycannon guy moves and fires 2-4 snapfire shots at a flyer.

I'm not sure what you are asking here.

 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

#3. Psycannons have a profile that is Assault2/Heavy4.
The special note on psycannons in the C:GK says, "A psycannon can either be fired as a Heavy weapon or as an assault weapon (note that models in Terminator armour always use the Heavy option.)" You obviously get to choose which profile you use. So if you're already snap-firing at a Flyer, use the Heavy profile to get two extra shots!

#1. Has been debated on this forum extensively. I am of the opinion that, if the power is a Malediction that does not cause damage, then it can be cast on a Flyer. So yes, the Flyer would have to re-roll its saves.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Elric Greywolf wrote:
#3. Psycannons have a profile that is Assault2/Heavy4.
The special note on psycannons in the C:GK says, "A psycannon can either be fired as a Heavy weapon or as an assault weapon (note that models in Terminator armour always use the Heavy option.)" You obviously get to choose which profile you use. So if you're already snap-firing at a Flyer, use the Heavy profile to get two extra shots!

#1. Has been debated on this forum extensively. I am of the opinion that, if the power is a Malediction that does not cause damage, then it can be cast on a Flyer. So yes, the Flyer would have to re-roll its saves.


Ah, ok then yes you can choose whichever profile you'd like provided you're not, for some reason, restricted from firing a heavy weapon.

As for the malediction bit - Maledictions target but don't roll to hit, you can't target a flyer if you don't roll to hit. Causing hits/glances/pens has nothing to do with it. It's even in the FAQ answer, if it doesn't snapshot it can't "target" the flyer.
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

It says only snapshots can HIT a zooming flyers. Maladictions that don't cause hits are not affected.

It goes on to say ATTACKS that use templates, blasts, beam etc. can't be used.

A malediction that isnt an attack or that isn't causing damage isn't restricted.

insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 BarBoBot wrote:
It says only snapshots can HIT a zooming flyers. Maladictions that don't cause hits are not affected.

It goes on to say ATTACKS that use templates, blasts, beam etc. can't be used.

A malediction that isnt an attack or that isn't causing damage isn't restricted.


"otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them"

Anything that affects enemy models is an attack. To posit otherwise could have implications farther reaching than you could see.

I'll post it here too - from the line of sight heading "A model normally needs line of sight whenever it wishes to attack an enemy, whether with power sword, gun or psychic power."

Note that it doesn't say "Witchfire" or "psychic shooting attack" or whatever. Just psychic power.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 21:48:23


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Thanks for the answers boys. I did post this on the Adeption forums, but they take forever to respond and I am a regular poster their. :-)
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

1. The malediction targeting flyers argument has been going around in circles for ages with both camps thinking they're obviously right and neither camp being able to persuade the other. Due to the poorly worded FAQ, this will need to be house-ruled.

2. Weirdly, yes.

3. As far as I'm aware, you can choose to use either profile regardless of having moved or not.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: