Switch Theme:

Asked and answered?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





If an official GW FAQ addresses an issue through a Q&A, then a later FAQ comes out that doesn't include said question and answer, does that invalidate the earlier Q&A?

For instance, in the v1.0 dark eldar FAQ, it says:

Q: A void mine is used in the movement phase. How does this effect what weapons can be fired by the voidraven bomber in the shooting phase? (p47)
A: The void mine does not count towards the number of weapons a Voidraven Bomber can fire that turn.

In later FAQs, notably v1.3, the same Q&A is completely absent.

Does this situation completely invalidate the earlier Q&A, or do they not include it because it has already been asked and answered in an earlier FAQ?

There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





yes it invalidated the earlier FAQ.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

It's happened a few times. It's usually for one of two reasons - either the updated rule is now part of the core rules anyway (as in the update to 6th), or the intention has changed.
With this particular example, it's kind of both, since the Voidraven now follows the rules for flyers that didn't exist in 5th.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: