Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/25 00:13:26
Subject: Fateweaver ReRoll - Can you use it to make an opponent re-roll a die?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
This question came up in my last game. My opponent brought Fateweaver, I managed to hit him with a bolter to cause a grounding test, and he goes "ReRoll that!"
WHUT WHUT!?!?
So we looked at the rule, and it just says that the staff allows you to re-roll a single D6 of your choice once per turn.
I feel that a re-roll is limited to a die/dice that you yourself intitially rolled, but the rule for the staff doesn't specifiy freindly or enemy. I couldn't really come up with a good argument against his view, so I went along with it and man was it annoying throughout the game.
What does dakka say?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/25 00:31:17
Subject: Fateweaver ReRoll - Can you use it to make an opponent re-roll a die?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
It allows you to re-roll a single D6. Who rolls the D6 for grounding, you or your opponent?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/25 00:39:26
Subject: Fateweaver ReRoll - Can you use it to make an opponent re-roll a die?
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
some thing that allows you to reroll a dice,
is not the same as something that allows you to force your opponent to reroll a dice.
when an ability gives you the power to force an opponent to reroll,
it will say so (a la coteaz spy network)
abilities that allow YOU to reroll,
are not abilities that allow YOU to force your opponent to do anything
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/25 01:37:44
Subject: Fateweaver ReRoll - Can you use it to make an opponent re-roll a die?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It would have to specifically say you can force your opponent to reroll the dice. It doesn't so you can't
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/25 03:25:27
Subject: Fateweaver ReRoll - Can you use it to make an opponent re-roll a die?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Right. The general rule for re-rolls says that if you want to re-roll, you pick up the die and "roll it again". If you never rolled it in the first place, you can't roll it again.
If a rule allows you to force an opponent to re-roll something, it will say so explicitly. Like the Space Marine Veteran Dreadnought rule.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/25 11:49:02
Subject: Re:Fateweaver ReRoll - Can you use it to make an opponent re-roll a die?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It would not let him force you to reroll the hit, but it would allow him to reroll the grounding test he was forced to take if he wanted since turn = player turn and not game turn unless otherwise stated so he would get a reroll during your turn as well as his. This still does not allow him to force you to re-roll a die unless specifically stated in the rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/25 16:02:44
Subject: Fateweaver ReRoll - Can you use it to make an opponent re-roll a die?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The owner of the FMC rolls the grounding check, so it can be rerolled. Your opponent shouldn't have been rolling it in the first place (as that it really matters).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/25 16:03:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/25 23:09:37
Subject: Fateweaver ReRoll - Can you use it to make an opponent re-roll a die?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Looks like people are getting confused. The OP shot at Fateweaver, who was swooping, and got one hit with a bolter. His opponent wanted him to reroll that hit because he didn't want to risk the bolter wound or subsequent grounding test.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/25 23:14:05
Subject: Fateweaver ReRoll - Can you use it to make an opponent re-roll a die?
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Chrysis wrote:Looks like people are getting confused. The OP shot at Fateweaver, who was swooping, and got one hit with a bolter. His opponent wanted him to reroll that hit because he didn't want to risk the bolter wound or subsequent grounding test. I'm pretty sure no one was confused. Happyjew nailed it by focusing on the wording of the rule. Specifically that controlling player of Fateweaver gets to re-roll a DIE that he rolled. He does not get to force his opponent to reroll the die. We know what his opponent "wanted" to do, and that wasn't an allowed action. The conversation then went on to give an example of when Fateweaver could reroll within the context of being hit by a bolter. Namely: the grounding test.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/25 23:58:58
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
|