Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/27 19:59:41
Subject: can friendly models end their move on top of a flyer's base?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
New York
|
I'm having some confusion with flyer rules, I'd like to know if its legal to end my units move ontop of my flyers base?
|
1. Tyranids - 15,000 pts
2. Chaos Space Marines - 7,100 pts
3. Space Marines - 6,000 pts
4. Orks - 5,900 pts
5. Dark Angels - 4,300 pts
6. Necrons - 4,600 pts
7. Grey Knights - 3,200 pts
8. Eldar - 3,400 pts
9. Blood Angels - 3,200 pts
10. Chaos Daemons - 3,200 pts
11. Tau Empire - 3,000 pts
12. Space Wolves - 2,400 pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/27 20:15:23
Subject: can friendly models end their move on top of a flyer's base?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
no. flyer bases are ignored for everything except movement.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/27 20:18:11
Subject: can friendly models end their move on top of a flyer's base?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Technically, yes. The base of the flyer is ignored for all but a few specified purposes, and only enemy models are required to keep away from it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/27 20:22:09
Subject: can friendly models end their move on top of a flyer's base?
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
As written, it looks like they should be able to. Flyer bases are not ignored except for movement (at least, I would like to see a cite for that).
Page 80 - Flyers, Flyers and Measuring
"The base of a Flyer is effectively ignored" except for two situations that are not applicable here.
Page 80 - Flyers, Flyers and Other Models
"Likewise, a Flyer can end its move over such models [models that fit beneath it]." The sentence after that only refers to enemy models.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/27 21:50:05
Subject: can friendly models end their move on top of a flyer's base?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Page 80 does not support your position as it only applies to measurement. Ending up on the flyers base is not measurement.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/27 22:25:16
Subject: can friendly models end their move on top of a flyer's base?
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
Ghaz wrote:Page 80 does not support your position as it only applies to measurement. Ending up on the flyers base is not measurement.
That's incorrect. The Flyer can end its move over friendly models (see Flyers and Other Models). Conversely, friendly models can be under the Flyer. Or can you cite an opposing rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/27 22:40:14
Subject: can friendly models end their move on top of a flyer's base?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
TzeentchNet wrote: Ghaz wrote:Page 80 does not support your position as it only applies to measurement. Ending up on the flyers base is not measurement.
That's incorrect. The Flyer can end its move over friendly models (see Flyers and Other Models). Conversely, friendly models can be under the Flyer. Or can you cite an opposing rule?
IIRC doesn't it state it needs to "fit"?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/27 23:12:46
Subject: can friendly models end their move on top of a flyer's base?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Flyers and Measuring on page 80, says that the base of a Flyer is effectively ignored except for assaults and embarking/disembarking, but then the next paragraph, Flyers and Other Models, immediately goes on to explain two MORE circumstances under which they're not ignored. So don't take that first statement as exhaustive.
When the rule says the flyer can end over other units, and other units can move under it, it's clearly referring to the wings, tail, and any other part of the hull/model that extends sufficiently far out from the base. The same section that says you can move under it also clearly says that enemy models have to stay 1" away from the base as normal for any other model. It only explicitly references enemy models, but it's still clear that moving under the vehicle doesn't mean moving over the base.
I believe the flyer base still isn't meant to be moved over, just like other model bases aren't, whether by friendly or enemy models. You don't measure to or from the base (except for deployment, assaults, and 1" away for enemies), but putting models on top of the base isn't something you measure.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/27 23:54:45
Subject: can friendly models end their move on top of a flyer's base?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It would be good to see this eventually addressed in an official FAQ. Flyers' bases are really big so either way it can have a huge impact. I'm inclined to think you can't move on top of any base as that's the way it's always been - there is no precedence for it I can think of now.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/28 05:14:17
Subject: can friendly models end their move on top of a flyer's base?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
You can not move on top of any base, as a base is not terrain.
The rules were written in a way to only allow models to move through terrain (Unless it is impassible terrain).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|