| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 09:51:00
Subject: War Machines Losing Combat
|
 |
Ghastly Grave Guard
|
I get the feeling this question has been asked before, but the BRB says that a War Machine that loses close combat and fails its Break test is destroyed. If the enemy unit charged this turn, does it get to overrun? Or "pursue" as though the War Machine actually fled?
What about if the War Machine was not destroyed on the charge, but survived the charge and then lost combat and failed the Break test in some subsequent round of combat?
|
1500
500
Vampire Counts 2400
300
Circle Orboros 20 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 12:11:14
Subject: War Machines Losing Combat
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes you get to overrun, as you have fulfilled the criteria (no enemy models left). No pursuit, nothing to pursue.
What happens when you destroy the enemy in rounds where you did not charge? That is your answer. War machines do not alter this
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 13:31:15
Subject: War Machines Losing Combat
|
 |
Assault Kommando
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes you get to overrun, as you have fulfilled the criteria (no enemy models left). No pursuit, nothing to pursue.
What happens when you destroy the enemy in rounds where you did not charge? That is your answer. War machines do not alter this
That is incorrect.
WHFB FAQ 1.7 wrote:Q:If a unit charges into combat and, on the turn it charges, the last
of the enemy unit it is fighting are removed as casualties due to
Daemonic Instability, the Unstable special rule, Cornered Rats or as
a result of a War Machine failing its Break test, does the charging
unit get to make an Overrun move? (p58).
A: No.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/30 13:31:57
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 14:19:54
Subject: War Machines Losing Combat
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
But you would if you killed all the crew in cc?
|
Nite |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 15:36:03
Subject: Re:War Machines Losing Combat
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Here's how combat against warmachines work.
You charge the warmachine.
You fight a round of combat as normal.
IF the warmachine has no wounds (crew) left after the round of combat, it is removed. The charger is now elligible for an overrun. Otherwise continue to combat resolution.
Do combat resolution, and make break rolls as appropriate.
IF the warmachine breaks from combat res, the crew flees and the attacker destroys the machine in place. They are NOT elligible for an overrun. I believe they ARE elligible for a reform, though.
|
CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/30 16:06:21
Subject: War Machines Losing Combat
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ah yes, I forgot they changed the rules in the FAQ.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 12:48:18
Subject: War Machines Losing Combat
|
 |
Ghastly Grave Guard
|
Agh, man, I had an old FAQ! Nuts!
Ok, so it doesn't matter what round of combat in which a war machine fails a break test (the first round in which you charged, or the second, or whatever) - if it is destroyed because it fails a break test and NOT because you killed all the crew, you can only reform. Right?
|
1500
500
Vampire Counts 2400
300
Circle Orboros 20 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 14:08:08
Subject: War Machines Losing Combat
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
Yes
|
Nite |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 15:30:53
Subject: War Machines Losing Combat
|
 |
Ghastly Grave Guard
|
Further, if you kill all the crew, you can only overrun if this happened on the charge. Got it.
|
1500
500
Vampire Counts 2400
300
Circle Orboros 20 |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|