Switch Theme:

Charging already engaged units? base to base?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker






The other day playing with my buddy I had charged some of his necron warriors and destoyer lord with my grey hunter squad. on the next turn i charged with my dreadnaught he made a roll to just get him into base contact with my own unit but within 2" of a model within base contact of an enemy. my friend said it means he fails his charge since he didn't actually get into base contact of an enemy model but i thought as long as i could make the 2" to my own model in base contact he'd still be in. In the end i remembered my dread had been stunned there for couldn't move anyway but it did raise this question.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/30 18:07:52


-3890
-3600
-4400
-3645
painted -3765 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Charging is measured base to base, the 2inches within a friendly model who is in base is decided at the intivative step. You have to make it base to base to be locked in combat at the beginning of the I step so if you fail you fail

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger




Great Falls, MT

In order to charge with another group you have to make it to the enemy

Craftworld Uial-Ras 375 points W: 1 L:1 T:0

Apoc plague marines 0 points 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) in order to make a charge move you have to make base contact with the enemy unit
2) the 2 inches is only to a member in your own unit
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Charge move rules are on page 21. The reason it fails is because the 2" engagement only counts for models *from your own unit*. This goes for the combat as a whole as well, so it's possible (though highly unlikely) for models to have any engaging opponents killed in such a way that they can no longer pile-in and thus their part in the combat ends.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

"Move the initial charger into contact with the nearest enemy model in the unit being charged, using the shortest possible route" page 21

The initial charger in a unit must be moved into base contact with the enemy unit you are charging. If you cannot reach base contact...

"If the initial charger is found to be further than its charge range from the enemy, the charge fails and no models are moved" page 22

.. the charge has failed and the unit does not move. Note also:

"The initial charger is always the model nearest to the enemy (as measured by the shortest possible route, going around impassable terrain, friendly models and enemy models in other units)." page 21

The second unit charging must be able to make base contact with the enemy to participate in the combat.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: