Switch Theme:

Sweeping & Challenge help  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




This weekend I played a game with my Orks versus my friends Tyranid army. Both of us are still fairly inexperienced with 6th and a combat came up which confused us a little.


A squad of Gargoyles (15) charged my Ork Boyz (18) & Warboss. I killed a couple with Overwatch and he made his charge distance.
He then charged what I think was a Ravager (spawns ripper swarms from fallen enemies) and made his charge distance.

His Ravager killed a couple of Boyz and the Gargoyles with their Hammer of Wrath & basic attacks laid waste to 10 or so Boyz. My Boyz struck next and several Gargoyles were removed. The Warboss was last and only managed to remove one Gargoyle.

I failed my Morale check and he swept me.


To sweep your opponent you just need to roll higher (models don't move)? I ask because if I should have fallen back the distance rolled he would have passed my Boyz but not the Warboss.

Am I correct in saying I could have challenged the Ravager with my Warboss and he would have been unable to refuse as he was by himself?


Thank you.

   
Made in nz
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine





Auckland, New Zealand

Sweeping Advance is an Initiative Check, to see if you can outwit the foe as you attempt to scramble away. If you win that roll, then I believe you roll again to see how far you get. If your opponent chases you then they must stop 1" away from you, even if they roll high enough to move further than you did.

But I am not checking the rulebook. This is just how I believe it works.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I don't know if the Ravager is a character and thus able to be challenged. If you can Challenge him then I would probably say he could hide behind the gargoyles, but the letter of the rules may not agree with me.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/02 09:00:59


 
   
Made in no
Raging Ravener




Norway

It's the Parasite of Mortrex you're referring to.

Evolve, overcome, consume.  
   
Made in gb
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster






Im still relatively new to 40k, but as I understand it, to sweep you need to roll a D6 and add you initiative. If the sweeper comes out higher, then the fleeing unit is destroyed, but ends up where the running unit would have fled to (their 2D6 fall back move). I think at least. Maybe the sweeper doesnt move. Im at work and dont have my rulebook to hand, sorry!

Also, that unit that spawns rippers was the Parasite of Mortrex, not a Ravener

I represent the Surrey Spartans gaming group. Check us out and feel free to come along for a game! https://www.facebook.com/groups/425689674233804/
Tzeentch Daemons 2000pts
Kabal of the Sundering Strike 2500pts
Eldar Corsairs 750pts
400pts Corregidor/Nomads
300pts Yu Jing
200pts+ each of Imperial and Rebel fleets for X-Wing
A Terran Alliance and Dindrenzi Fleet for Firestorm Armada
A Necromunda Goliath gang and Spyrer gang 
   
Made in nz
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine





Auckland, New Zealand

I think, if you beat the Iniative+D6 test as the winner, you get to consolidate instead of moving 2D6 in pursuit.
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

Unless the model has to challenge you can always refuse and that model just doesn't participate in the fight.

My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

It is very clear in the combat resolution section on page 27.
Roll and add to initiative, compare the results.
If the winner of combat rolled higher, that's all she wrote and the squad is SA'd wiithout moving. The winner consolidates.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

I'm trying to figure a Gardgoyle using a Hammer of Wrath attack against an ork boy ... or anything sturdy

Anyone else is picturing a fly on a windshield ?

 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

TanKoL wrote:
I'm trying to figure a Gardgoyle using a Hammer of Wrath attack against an ork boy ... or anything sturdy

Anyone else is picturing a fly on a windshield ?

It's like seaguls crashing into the nazi fighter plane in The Last Crusade, one isn't an issue but when the plane goes through a flock it becomes an iusse.
On another note, I'm going to watch that film now.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

If the winner of the combat rolls equal too or higher than the losers initiative the losers are swept and the winners get a d6 consolidation move.. There are other variables like Atsknf buts that's. irrelevant to this argument right now.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





Lungpickle wrote:
If the winner of the combat rolls equal too or higher than the losers initiative the losers are swept and the winners get a d6 consolidation move.. There are other variables like Atsknf buts that's. irrelevant to this argument right now.


Umm..no.

Both players roll 1d6 and add their own initiative to their own die roll. Those results are compared.

------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Lungpickle wrote:
If the winner of the combat rolls equal too or higher than the losers initiative the losers are swept and the winners get a d6 consolidation move.. There are other variables like Atsknf buts that's. irrelevant to this argument right now.

The bears no relationship to the rules for the last 3 editions now. Please review them before contradicting the people who got this right, as it saves spreading disinformation
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Anoka County, MN

Last note, very much unlike previous editions, you now use the highest Int instead of majority which is a major boon for Orks, not so much for other races. So the Warboss rolls D6 + int 4 even if (and he always does, right?) have a PK. That's on par with average SM and equivalents.

P.S. I hope your boss had a BP ...

Fighting crime in a future time! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: