Switch Theme:

Tzeentch and the Aegis  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

I left my BRB at home while I'm traveling out-of-state, but a question popped into my head while driving to the airport, and it's burning a hole in my brain.

Is there any reason to think that Daemon of Tzeentch + Aegis would result in a Ld9 for a LoC? Does the Tzeentch +3 add before the Aegis is subtracted: Ld 9+3=10-1=9. Or does Multiple Modifiers specify that addition and subtraction happen at the same time, resulting in a more algebraic method: 9+(3-1)=10.

I'm inclined to think it is the latter.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Multiply before addition, basic math.

   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
Multiply before addition, basic math.



There's no multiplication involved, so your answer doesn't help in the slightest.

But I agree, it would be the standard algebraic interpretation. Any other way would lead to the argument of which applies first. If you apply Aegis first the Daemon gets Ld10, if you apply the Tzeentch bonus first you'd end up with Ld9. That's an absurd situation, so the consistent standard Mathematical approach is the best.
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Sorry, I that's what I meant. Typed faster than I proofread.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

PEMDAS

Addition comes before subtraction.

So you would add 3, to a maximum of 10, and then subtract 1(or 4 if a Dreadnought is involved)

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

PEMDAS doesn't work exactly like that, though.
It should be spelled PE(M/D)(A/S). Addition and subtraction are the same thing, and happen at the same time, just in different directions. Positives and negatives effectively cancel out. Tzeentch adds 3 to Ld; Aegis adds -1. Same operation, just in opposite directions.

This question, too, is complex because in normal math problems, you don't have a capped value. In a normal problem it would be 9+3=12-1=11. But since characteristics are capped at 10, I was wondering whether the +3 bounced up against the cap. I don't think this is the case, and instead would propose a normal notation: 9+(3-1). This leads to 11, but we know Ld can't exceed 10, so 10 it is.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Grey Templar wrote:
PEMDAS

Addition comes before subtraction.

So you would add 3, to a maximum of 10, and then subtract 1(or 4 if a Dreadnought is involved)

Except we've been here before, and you cannot cap part way through the formula. This was the case with modifiers for vehcile damage in 5th as well - if you cap part way through you end up with odd results

(9+3-1) = 11, capped at 10. Capping part way through has no support in the rules
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Lord of change would be ld8 because of the aegis. You'd only check for a characteristic maxing out after all modifiers are applied. If your opponent doesn't like it, just claim it's your turn and you chose to apply the aegis first.
   
Made in us
Sinister Chaos Marine





Just for fun thought

If the cap is Ld10 for the final number/rolling etc., at what point does the rulebook say the number cant be higher while computing the usable number?

Example
Ld9+3 = 12, (still computing here now..) - 1Ld for the AG (now at 11), final tally is >10, so LD is taken to 10.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 loreweaver wrote:
Lord of change would be ld8 because of the aegis. You'd only check for a characteristic maxing out after all modifiers are applied. If your opponent doesn't like it, just claim it's your turn and you chose to apply the aegis first.

No, he would be Ld10, as (9+3-1) is 10 due to the cap.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

As has been described above, in math addition and subtraction are the same thing; it's just adding positive or negative numbers. So per the normal mathematical order of operations (which the rulebook tells us to use with multiple modifiers), the addition and subtraction happen at the same time. 9 + 3 -1 = 11, capped to 10.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 loreweaver wrote:
Lord of change would be ld8 because of the aegis. You'd only check for a characteristic maxing out after all modifiers are applied. If your opponent doesn't like it, just claim it's your turn and you chose to apply the aegis first.


Your turn?, the LoC would never be using a psyhic power in your turn.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: