Switch Theme:

ICs, Troops, and Dedicated transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





So, I know that if you take a dedicated transport for a unit, that unit has to be able to fit inside the transport, but they don't have to deploy inside it.

My question is, if you take a unit and a dedicated transport that just meets the capacity requirement, can you then deploy that unit outside of the transport with an IC, which would then make the unit too large to fit inside the transport?

There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




BetrayTheWorld wrote:
So, I know that if you take a dedicated transport for a unit, that unit has to be able to fit inside the transport, but they don't have to deploy inside it.
Note that the rule that a unit must fit in its dedicated transport is codex specific; it's not a general rule.

BetrayTheWorld wrote:
My question is, if you take a unit and a dedicated transport that just meets the capacity requirement, can you then deploy that unit outside of the transport with an IC, which would then make the unit too large to fit inside the transport?
Yeah, sure. At the time you bought the unit, it was legal to buy. At the time you deploy the unit, it's legal to deploy. There's no way for deployment to somehow retroactively make buying the unit illegal.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

BetrayTheWorld wrote:
So, I know that if you take a dedicated transport for a unit, that unit has to be able to fit inside the transport, but they don't have to deploy inside it.

My question is, if you take a unit and a dedicated transport that just meets the capacity requirement, can you then deploy that unit outside of the transport with an IC, which would then make the unit too large to fit inside the transport?


Deployment has nothing to do with list building. When you build your list, if the unit is able to take a dedicated transport (note certain armies have a restriction on squad size in order to purchase), then the transport is allowed, regardless of how many ICs join the squad in the game.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Thanks for clearing that up. Will help with the list I'm building now.

There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: