Switch Theme:

Bastions and battlements when hit by blast templates  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




Onuris Coreworld

If a large blast strikes directly on top of a Bastion, while firing at models on its roof(on its battlements), does the Bastion also have to take that hit as well as the models on the roof?

The exact scenario of what I am speaking is this. A Necron Doomsday Ark fires its Str 9 Ap 1 large blast at Chaos Havocs who are on a Bastions roof(its battlement). The hit is dead on. I know the Chaos Havos must take the hit, but since the Bastion is also under the blast, does it also take the hit?

"Most mortals will die from this procedure...and so will you!"  
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Yes it does. Everything that can take a hit, and is under the blast template, takes the hit.

The Bastion is a thing.
The Bastion can take a hit.
The Bastion is under the blast template.
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




Onuris Coreworld

More specifically, the reason I ask is because a Bastion with battlements is considered a multi-part building. Am I correct in assuming that if a blast hits multiple buildings that they still all take hits, just like multiple vehicles that are under the same blast marker all take hits?

"Most mortals will die from this procedure...and so will you!"  
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





I believe so, yes.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




In the FAQ the battlements are considered separate from the bastion. Its all really screwy
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Fragile wrote:In the FAQ the battlements are considered separate from the bastion. Its all really screwy

But that doesn't mean they don't take the hit -they're still both under the blast template.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Battlements automatically turn an otherwise single-part building into a mult-part building (p95). However, the Battlement is not itself a building and so cannot be attacked (FAQ is explicit on this).

When the blast hit the troops on the Battlement, the attack on the troops is resolved in the usual way, confering a cover save (with the possible exception of a Barrage weapon). The building also suffers the attack. For non-Barrage weapons, this is on the face from which the attack came.

For a Barrage weapon, resolve the attack against the face closest to the centre of the Blast.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: