Switch Theme:

Hammer of Wrath, and other "base strength" abilities.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





I've seen this a few times, where it says something like, when X happens, unit Y may make a bonus attack at their base strength.

When this occurs, can said unit still apply the effects of their weapon to the hits?

Units examples of where this happens:

1. Jump infantry with hammer of wrath - The rules here are very specific, stating that the hit occurs at their base, unmodified strength with an AP of -.

In #1, I suspect it is specific enough to say that special weapons may not be used to resolve the attack, but I'd still like to hear thoughts. For instance, let's say you have a reaver jetbike with hammer of wrath, armed with a poisoned weapon (2+). Do they still wound on a 2+? They'd still be using their unmodified strength and AP-, since the weapon doesn't have a STR modifier, or an AP rating.

2. Drazhar, Master of Blades - He has an ability called riposte, which says "He may make a single bonus attack at his basic strength, directed at the unit that caused the wound, and made at the same initiative step."

#2 is far less specific. Knowing what a riposte is, it would make you think that he's striking back at the enemy using his weapon. If that's the case, since in this one it doesn't say his "unmodified" base strength, would he use the +1S from his weapon? If not, does he still use the AP of his weapon?

There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




1. Yes. The HoW restrictions is not on the wounding, so you would on 2+

2. No. Basic strength is referring to his unmodified strength. He would use his AP of his weapons as it is not restricted.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Fragile wrote:
1. Yes. The HoW restrictions is not on the wounding, so you would on 2+

But of a correction here, from the official FAQ:

Q: When a model makes a Vector Strike or Hammer of Wrath, do these attacks benefit from any special rules (such as Furious Charge, Poisoned or Rending), or any weapons or other wargear it is equipped with? (p37/43)
A: No.

So that's a definite No for poison attacks.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

1) You wouldn't use any special rules or wargear bonuses. You could benifit from Psychic powers that just flat increase your strength, like say Hammerhand.

2) you would only use his base strengh, but you could use the AP of his weapon.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

 Grey Templar wrote:
1) You wouldn't use any special rules or wargear bonuses. You could benifit from Psychic powers that just flat increase your strength, like say Hammerhand.

2) you would only use his base strengh, but you could use the AP of his weapon.


Can you use the increase of strength from Hammerhand, as that is modifying the strength? I've never come across the situation with Hammerhand, so don't know how people have been playing it, but I'd imagine it's the same as Iron Arm?

   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Seeing as how a power that gives you +1str(or any other number) isn't a special rule or a piece of wargear there is no reason it can't be used that I can see.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Grey Templar wrote:
Seeing as how a power that gives you +1str(or any other number) isn't a special rule or a piece of wargear there is no reason it can't be used that I can see.


Doesn't the rules for Hammer of Wrath call for "unmodified Strength with an AP of -"?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Hmmmm maybe, not sure actually. that would mean you couldn't benifit from powers at all.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/11 03:22:23


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

 Grey Templar wrote:
Hmmmm maybe, not sure actually. that would mean you couldn't benifit from powers at all.


Yeah that was always my thinking when it said unmodified strength, I've always played that as the strength on your profile. And I have also played it both ways, so my units with Iron Arm don't benefit from that, however any of my units that have been Enfeebled are also unaffected by the Strength modifier from that.

   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Unmodified is the key word. Just saying it happens at Base strength does allow for modification.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

 Grey Templar wrote:
Unmodified is the key word. Just saying it happens at Base strength does allow for modification.


Hammer of Wrath says 'unmodified'

   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Grey Templar wrote:
2) you would only use his base strengh, but you could use the AP of his weapon.

Hammer of Wrath explicity states unmodified strength and AP-
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

 azazel the cat wrote:
Grey Templar wrote:
2) you would only use his base strengh, but you could use the AP of his weapon.

Hammer of Wrath explicity states unmodified strength and AP-


That was talking about Drazhar's Riposte

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Grey Templar wrote:
 azazel the cat wrote:
Grey Templar wrote:
2) you would only use his base strengh, but you could use the AP of his weapon.

Hammer of Wrath explicity states unmodified strength and AP-


That was talking about Drazhar's Riposte

Doesn't make my statement less correct.



Heh, yeah, that's my bad, though.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: