Switch Theme:

Can someone please explain Tau Seeker Missiles?!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Storming Storm Guardian




Bellingham, WA

The seeker missile rules are very confusing to me.

First, can they be fired without using a markerlight counter?
"seeker missiles are one-shot weapons usually guided to their targets by markerlights, though they can be fired independently as well" (pg 66)
I ask this because the above quote is in italics in the "fluff" section and not in the normal place where the rules generally are. Is this fluff or actual rules?

Second, if the above is true, can a skyray fire all 6 seeker missiles at once?
I ask this because the markerlight rules hint that there is a limit but nowhere can I find a clear explanation.
"-Does count towards the limit of 2 missiles that a flyer can fire each turn." (pg 68)
I know the flyers have 2 missiles but isn't it redundant or worse, confusing, to say they can only fire two each turn when in fact they can only ever fire two period?

For such a huge change to seeker missiles they did a piss poor job explaining the new rules. Par for the course I suppose. Any thoughts from someone who's read the rules would be greatly appreciated.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/12 07:00:49


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




There is no rule saying you must use a marker light to fire a seeker any longer. Treat it as any other weapon in that regard, with the added "Markerlight mode" you can fire it in

A skyray is NOT a flyer, so the rule limiting flyers to 2 missiles a turn does not apply to it. It can, indeed, fire all 6 missiles in one turn
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




St. George, UT

Seekers in a nut shell.

1 - A model with a seeker missile may fire it using its normal BS. A seeker missile fired in this way counts against the normal number of weapons the model may fire in a single turn. Missiles fired in this way allow cover saves.

2 - During a units turn to fire, if the target unit has markerlight tokens available it may spend 1 or more to call in a seeker missile. The missile will hit at BS5 and ignores cover. However there is an additional situation.

2A - All seekers are fired from the models carring them and as such the model supplying the seeker must either not have fired yet this turn, or the model must have previously fired at the unit that the marker is being spent from.

This is because there is no allowance for the firing model to switch targets (unless it has a multi-tracker) which is no longer available to vehicles and the broadside would have to spend its only hardpoint to hold the seeker missile.

See pics of my Orks, Tau, Emperor's Children, Necrons, Space Wolves, and Dark Eldar here:


 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest



UK

 Jayden63 wrote:

2A - All seekers are fired from the models carring them and as such the model supplying the seeker must either not have fired yet this turn, or the model must have previously fired at the unit that the marker is being spent from.


This is a bit redundant as you choose to use the token for a seeker before the unit fires, so any model firing a seeker will not have fired in that shooting phase.
If the model has already fired at the unit then it's too late to shoot a seeker.

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






The rules are explained fine, it's just your pre-conceived notions that are confusing the matter.

They probably addressed the "two seeker missiles a turn" to cover potential future flyers and/or forgeworld stuff which can have more than 2 seeker missiles, for example, the Barracuda can take up to 4 and the Tigershark can take up to 6.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




St. George, UT

Loopstah wrote:
 Jayden63 wrote:

2A - All seekers are fired from the models carring them and as such the model supplying the seeker must either not have fired yet this turn, or the model must have previously fired at the unit that the marker is being spent from.


This is a bit redundant as you choose to use the token for a seeker before the unit fires, so any model firing a seeker will not have fired in that shooting phase.
If the model has already fired at the unit then it's too late to shoot a seeker.



Not really, take this situation. There are the following units.


<snip a bunch of stuff I wrote that is apparently very wrong>

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/12 22:35:16


See pics of my Orks, Tau, Emperor's Children, Necrons, Space Wolves, and Dark Eldar here:


 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest



UK

You can't call a seeker missile from another unit.

If you don't have your own you can't use a token to fire someone elses.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




St. George, UT

I guess your right. No where in the rules does it say doesn't count as your turn firing, I thought it did.

Wow. So unimpressive.

I guess you could spend the point for a "just in case" scenario for Pirahnas and maybe D-fish as their guns are pretty short range.. If they find themselves out of range from everything, I guess on their turn to fire they can expend a markerlight token somewhere on the table and fire off one seeker if they have one. Hammerheads, the two flyers, and broadsides all have good enough range to hit what they need to anyway.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/12 22:37:56


See pics of my Orks, Tau, Emperor's Children, Necrons, Space Wolves, and Dark Eldar here:


 
   
Made in us
Sergeant Major




Fort Worthless, TX

OK, I have a question about the Seeker Missile. In the codex under the Markerlight it says: Must be fired at the same target as the vehicle's other weapons.

If a Sky Ray fires at enemy unit A than it can't expend a marker that's on enemy unit B to shoot a seeker missile at unit B?

GW - If it ain't broke, fix it until it is. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Yes, that's exactly what the quoted rule means.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: