Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/12 17:31:36
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Do the Quad Gun give up first blood?
Since it's a piece of terrain it doesn't give off the kill point nor first blood correct?
Did a search on Google and here and surprised no one has a firm ans of this.
|
40K:
5000+ points W/D/L: 10/0/6
4000+ points W/D/L: 7/0/4
1500+ points W/D/L: 16/1/4
Fantasy
4000+ points W/D/L: 1/1/2
2500+ points W/D/L: 0/0/3
Legends 2013 Doubles Tournament Champion |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/12 17:39:27
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
It's not a unit, but a piece of terrain as you poined out.
A unit is required for first blood.
Also if you consider the quad-gun to be 'neutral' then there is no opposing player to give the VP to.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/12 17:41:26
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Yeah, that's what I thought darn it could have made a difference for some of the games.
Thanks!
|
40K:
5000+ points W/D/L: 10/0/6
4000+ points W/D/L: 7/0/4
1500+ points W/D/L: 16/1/4
Fantasy
4000+ points W/D/L: 1/1/2
2500+ points W/D/L: 0/0/3
Legends 2013 Doubles Tournament Champion |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/13 01:47:49
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
grendel083's quite right.
The only thing I would add is that purchased fortifications are not neutral. For most intents and purposes they are, but p121 makes clear that fortifications you paid for are yours, and those bought by your opponent are enemy fortifications. Other than deploying, I don't think this distinction makes a blind bit of difference though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/13 04:15:39
Subject: Re:Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Smokin' Skorcha Driver
Canada
|
They may be a part of your list, but you need a squad near them to control them. So it isn't really one of your units, and doesn't give up vps
|
tgjensen wrote:labmouse42 wrote:Another problem is the abject masculinity of the game. Nearly every character I've read about has the emotional range of a turnip. Hate, Anger, Fear, Loyalty, and Worship. That's about it.
Christ, where do you buy your turnips? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/13 08:28:21
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Absolutely agree - they're not units. About the only place I know of where it matters is at deployment - you can't deploy in an enemy fortification. There might be others, but I don't remember them. It's not important though - just saying.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/13 08:40:34
Subject: Re:Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
One thing here, though. If you have a model firing the quad gun, that counts as the model using the gun as a weapon, and so it would be scoring.
|
There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/13 09:06:31
Subject: Re:Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
BetrayTheWorld wrote:One thing here, though. If you have a model firing the quad gun, that counts as the model using the gun as a weapon, and so it would be scoring.
You're claiiming the gun would now be scoring?
Citation required, as the gun has no unit type so is not a unit, and is never a member of the unit near it (as it has no rules allwing so) so is not a member of the scoring unit. So it isnt scoring.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 03:43:34
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Page 96 BRB, Manual Fire
This indicates both the model and the gun are considered to be firing in this case.
"All relevant special rules from the firing model and the weapon are used"
I believe this^ would include mission special rules regarding objectives.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 03:56:29
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Abandon wrote:Page 96 BRB, Manual Fire This indicates both the model and the gun are considered to be firing in this case. "All relevant special rules from the firing model and the weapon are used" I believe this^ would include mission special rules regarding objectives.
The only "relevant special rules from the firing model and the weapon" are only used for any shots fired from the gun. For example, if a model has rending on any shooting attacks, then it grants that ability to the attacks made from the Gun Emplacement. A troop unit is not a "relevant special rules from the firing model" as far as the firing of the gun is concerned. Context tells us that only "relevant special rules from the firing model" that have to do with shooting will apply. The Gun is not a troops unit, or even a unit at all (It is terrain) and as such will never be a scoring model.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/14 03:57:22
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 05:45:15
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
So you believe that when a model is firing the gun the model is not firing?
Edit: I'd be happy to see it your way as I never CAN use them at all but it just doesn't make any sense.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/14 05:48:06
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 06:29:30
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Abandon wrote:So you believe that when a model is firing the gun the model is not firing?
Edit: I'd be happy to see it your way as I never CAN use them at all but it just doesn't make any sense.
The model is firing the weapon instead of their own weapon. The model is scoring, therefore if the model hits a target while using any weapon, it would count for scoring purposes.
Emplaced weapons can also fire independently, in which case they fire at BS2(i believe). When this happens, I still suspect that it would count as scoring.
Rulebook wrote:
BRB, pg 121, FIRST BLOOD: The first unit, of any kind, to be removed as a casualty during the game is worth 1 point to the opposing player at the end of the game.
This doesn't say that a unit needs to kill it. Your unit can kill itself, and so long as it is removed as a casualty, I have fulfilled the terms of first blood.
It's the same with slay the warlord and purge the alien. It doesn't say that your opponent has to kill them, just that they died. So if your opponent's unit that counts for victory conditions dies, it counts no matter whether your unit killed them, your unmanned emplaced weapon killed them, or if they killed themselves from perils of the warp. It all counts as them dying.
Relevant page numbers in case anyone cares to look up the context of the information I've provided: BRB pg 121, then BRB pgs 126-131.
Rules may differ for missions not outlined in the BRB.
|
There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 09:50:07
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
BetrayTheWorld wrote: Abandon wrote:So you believe that when a model is firing the gun the model is not firing?
Edit: I'd be happy to see it your way as I never CAN use them at all but it just doesn't make any sense.
The model is firing the weapon instead of their own weapon. The model is scoring, therefore if the model hits a target while using any weapon, it would count for scoring purposes.
Emplaced weapons can also fire independently, in which case they fire at BS2(i believe). When this happens, I still suspect that it would count as scoring.
I think there is some confusion in this thread, here's my 2c:
The OP is talking about when your Quad gets killed, does it give up a VP? ( No, it's terrain, not a unit)
Betray is talking about using your Quad to kill an enemy unit, does it give up a VP? ( Yes, the firing unit counts it as one of their weapons, and even then - as Betray pointed out - doesn't matter who kills it, smply the first unit removed as a casuality).
One thing however, Emplaced Weapons can indeed auto-fire at BS-2, but only if the building they are part of is occupied. A Quad is not an Emplaced Weapon (page 96), it's a Gun Emplacement (page 105). (Nice work GW, giving the two things such similar names...)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 18:47:42
Subject: Re:Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Yeah, killing the quad gun doesn't give VPs. If that is what the OP was asking, then that's accurate and I was confused about their question. USING the quad gun to kill something, on the other hand, does grant VPs, as outlined in my previous post.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/14 18:48:50
There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 19:12:51
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Abandon wrote:So you believe that when a model is firing the gun the model is not firing?
I never said that, maybe re-read my post.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/14 22:25:08
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
I also believed the OP was asking about VPs for killing units with the quad gun and so replied to your response as such. It seems in this case we agree, the gun does not give first blood if it's destroyed.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 00:45:22
Subject: Quad Gun & First Blood
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Abandon wrote:
I also believed the OP was asking about VPs for killing units with the quad gun and so replied to your response as such. It seems in this case we agree, the gun does not give first blood if it's destroyed.
Yes we do, sorry about that, It was just a mixup.
Nothing to see here.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|