Switch Theme:

Scrier's Gaze - No not that question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




From the BRB FAQ p. 8:
Q: Do modifiers that apply to such things as Reserve rolls, apply to
units from an allied detachment? (p124)
A: No.

So if I have an allied Psyker with Divination and get Scrier's Gaze, can I roll three dice for the Reserves of my primary detachment? In other words is it a modifier? Or is that a moot point as it doesn't specifically say the Psyker makes the Reserve roll?

From BRB p. 420
Scrier's Gaze is a blessing that targets the Psyker. Whilst the
power is in effect, you can roll three dice and choose the
result you want when rolling for Reserves, Outflank and
mysterious terrain.


I am Red/White
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both chaotic and orderly. I value my own principles, and am willing to go to extreme lengths to enforce them, often trampling on the very same principles in the process. At best, I'm heroic and principled; at worst, I'm hypocritical and disorderly.
 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

Doesn't the FAQ you quoted answer your question? If I understand you, it seems that it does... But maybe I just don't really understand your question?

Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





The FAQ says that modifiers from a primary don't impact an allied force. It doesn't seem to apply as it references modifiers.

Modifiers are things that will increase, decrease or set the target characteristic or roll. In this case, you aren't modifying the roll or target number needed; instead you just get to roll 3 dice and pick which one you like.

I'd say that RAW, you can do this.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/15 19:17:09


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





I would say it works, although I did manage to roll 2 1's and a 2 for it yesterday :(

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

Ah yeah, I didn't pick up on the 3 dice part... Yeah rolling a 3rd die is not a modifier so the FAQ doesn't apply...

Armies in my closet:  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: