| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/17 15:13:13
Subject: Split fire question
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
This might have been answered, but i have been out of the game for a while, and I did not find anything in the search.
Squad has split fire. Do you have to declare both targets at the time you decide to split fire/ From memory the only thing is the one model has to shoot at a different squad from the rest.
The reason I ask is can the heavy weapon shoot at a transport, and if it blows up the transport, can the rest of the squad shoot at any survivors? The rules implied that the first guy shot, and then everyone else shot so it would not be the same as the whole squad shooting at once. I'm sure I missed something that prevents this.
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/17 15:16:45
Subject: Split fire question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I dont know how its written in the Tau Codex, but the Space Wolves Split fire states, that you have to announce both targets before firing
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/17 15:17:45
Subject: Split fire question
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
I was going with the split fire rule in the main rule book.
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/17 15:24:50
Subject: Split fire question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
It's a tricky one, and I see the point you're making.
One model must make a complete shooting attack, which is out of sequence with the normal 'simultaneous' shooting.
But at the same time nothing removes the rule that all unit shooting must be at the same time. On that basis I'm tempted to say no with regards to transport/unit dhooting.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/17 17:33:12
Subject: Split fire question
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
No, you don't get to shoot the transport then the guys that were inside with the same unit.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/17 17:34:54
Subject: Split fire question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Given the only exception you have to th shooting rules is that you declare two targets, why do you think you get to break the rule stating that all shooting from the unit is simultaneous?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/17 18:56:04
Subject: Split fire question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The Split Fire USR allows you to target two different units with the same squad AND fire sequentially, so OP you can shoot a transport with the model using Split Fire and then fire at the troops inside (provided you crack the transport) with the remainder of the unit. The Split Fire shot is fully resolved then the remainder of the units shooting is resolved, making the troops a viable target
Pertinent section of the Split Fire USR: "...choose one model in the unit and immediately make a shooting attack with it. Once this shooting attack has been resolved, resolve the shooting attacks made by the rest of the unit, which must be at a different target." pg. 42 BRB
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/17 19:00:00
Subject: Split fire question
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
How can you declare the unit inside as a target of your split fire when they are still inside the transport? They don't become a valid target until they are forced out of their vehicle and by that point don't you have to have already declared both your targets?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/17 19:08:03
Subject: Split fire question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Beast wrote:How can you declare the unit inside as a target of your split fire when they are still inside the transport? They don't become a valid target until they are forced out of their vehicle and by that point don't you have to have already declared both your targets?
Nope, because you resolve the shooting attack by one model, then you resolve the shooting attack for the rest of the unit. There is no requirement for you to declare both targets at the same time and per Split Fire, the shots are in fact sequential.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/17 19:41:54
Subject: Split fire question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I think there is some confusion ITT between the Split Fire USR and Fire Control from the SW codex. Fire Control is simultaneous firing at two targets. Split Fire is sequential fire at two targets
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/24 14:16:08
Subject: Split fire question
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
The FAQ released a day or so ago answered this question. They added a blurb at the end saying you can not shout at units forced to disembark. So I was right that I could, but also right that is was not how it was intended.
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/24 14:31:18
Subject: Split fire question
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
jbunny wrote:The FAQ released a day or so ago answered this question. They added a blurb at the end saying you can not shout at units forced to disembark. So I was right that I could, but also right that is was not how it was intended.
I can shout at whoever I want, thankyou GW.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|